A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Risks and Chewing Gum – part 2

Risk and Chewing Gum

Image provided by
Paul Sableman @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/pasa/

Read part 1 of this childhood adventure

Once we reached the busy street, Linda made a dash for the other side. Like the fool I was, I did the same.

Now that we were on that other side of the street, we walked and skipped along to the neighborhood that started two blocks away. The neighborhood didn’t have any stores, just houses with green lawns. When I asked Linda where we were going, her answer was that we were going to Big Top for our gum.

Big Top was a convenience store close to the shopping center (now days called a strip mall). The shopping center was approximately four miles away from the street where Linda and I lived. Neither one of us would get home in time for dinner because of the route we were on to get there. We should have walked down that busy street until we got past the highway. I was suckered and I knew it.

At this point I just stood there on the sidewalk. I knew better than to go along with whatever Linda wanted to do. I had been warned several times about the trouble I would get into because of situations like this one. I turned around and started to walk home.

Of course, Linda stopped me saying, “We’ll get home on time. We’re going across the highway. It’s a shortcut.”

I peeked through the bushes. The highway looked so wide, almost as wide as my street was long. Maybe we could do it without getting hit by a car, or maybe we couldn’t. There wasn’t a soul on the highway at that particular moment. I looked to my right, and then to my left. One car was speeding towards downtown.

Either I do it or I don’t do it. Linda was already at the edge of the roadway. Would she do it without me?

After that one car had passed she was sprinting across the highway. Loyalty kicked in, or maybe it was more stupidity. I went dashing after her. By the time I got to the other side, I realized that the highway wasn’t as wide as it looked. Both of us were panting and giggling. (Just so you know… back then, the median of a highway usually didn’t have the short cement wall, and, instead, had grass and bushes.)

The Big Top was only three blocks away now. We ran, skipped and just plain walked to the humongous doors of the convenience store. We quickly got our spearmint gum, paid for it, and started back home.

As we walked along the street where the canes, rental equipment, and plumbing stores were, Linda decided to tell me that we had just done something illegal. What?! My feet started dragging. What if my mom asked where I have been? What if, somehow, my mom just knows I had done something wrong? At the age of nine, this is always possible.

As we rounded the corner to our street, I heard my mom calling for me. I spat the gum out of my mouth, put the other four pieces in the small pocket of my peddle-pushers, and yelled, “I’m coming!” I ran home and went straight to the bathroom.

When I came out, my mom asked, “Did you wash your hands? Dinner is almost ready.”

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/06/07 by in childhood and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

stripSearchLA

Stories about Los Angeles and its people.

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

