A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Momentum Adrift

Momentum Adrift

Image provided by
blackbass @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/blackbass/

I’ve lost my ambition. My inclination is to put the entire blame on the circumstances of the routine I’ve been forced into during this last month. What’s more, I think some would agree with me. The routine, though, is just a part of the trouble.

As you can see by my blog here, I’m slowly accomplishing what I have set out to do, taking the craft of writing more seriously. Additionally, if you looked at my other two blogs (called journals at their respective sites); you would find that I’ve successfully moved my desires to ramble to these places online. (There is a reason for having two instead of one, but that discussion is in these two journals. Explaining here is redundant. The one completely open to all is at LiveJournal.)

The obscurity of my motivation is with my writing off-line, with my fictional story/book. The shadows of the plot that I have had from the beginning are still there. Little clips of what changes I’m sure of for my second draft are firm in my thoughts. Yet the push to move forward is hiding somewhere within the nooks and crannies of my mind.

Writing by scene has gotten me this far, eight scenes all together now. (How I’ll arrange them into chapters is something I haven’t thought too much about.) Yet I feel that so little has been revealed within all these pages. I’m left feeling that I’m not getting anywhere.

When I allow the rational part of my brain to come forward, I realize that with a writing project this big and still in the early stages, I shouldn’t be expecting great leaps and bounds. I tell myself, “Many writers take a few years to write a story. There is nothing saying that I can’t do the same thing.”

Then my natural tendencies to be a right-brained thinker pop in, shoving all rationality away. “There are also plenty of authors who are writing stories within a few months. Why can’t I do the same? Where has my drive gone?” The answer is where I want to place all fault. I tell myself it’s because of my current circumstances.

Although part of the blame is with the calamity in my home, more of my demise is due to lack of sureness. It was just yesterday that I decided to give up, not for good but long enough to get some bearings on where I am going and at what speed. During this small but important quest, I hope to find productive ways to display my other pieces and improve on what I’ve already done for my story.

Certainty eluding, I feel that this is a plausible supplementary exertion.

 

 

5 comments on “Momentum Adrift

  1. Lorraine Marie Reguly
    2013/09/11

    You can’t compare yourself to others. Well, you can but you shouldn’t. Everyone is unique, and has different habits. Plus, adding pressure to yourself is just not worth it. There will always be someone out there who you think is better than you. There is always someone out there who is worse. Accept yourself for who you are; you will be more satisfied with yourself and your writing abilities that way.

    Like

  2. Rebecca Mealey
    2013/09/04

    You sound you are on a journey like me…I am starting my first novel and have written several scenes. I do them in Google docs and list them as glimpse #1, etc. And I keep putting off devoting my full time because of…yup, circumstances.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/04

      Circumstances seems to do an ugly number on those of us who need ‘quiet time’ to complete what we want to do. Starting tomorrow and for 3 days, I’ll have some of that needed time. Am I motivated? I am, actually.

      Thank you so much for visiting and for giving me some feedback. I do appreciated it. I hope you’ll return to read future posts.

      Like

  3. Aleta
    2013/08/26

    My cousin writes. She’s in her 40’s and completed… two books, I think? She takes editing as an art. I think the editing part of it kills the motivation though.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/08/26

      Hi Aleta

      Do you think editing kills motivation? Writing is like any other art. The artist (in this case the author) wants perfection so that’s what he works towards. Of course, because he is a artist, he’s never satisfied. Yet, he loves the process no matter how difficult it gets.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/08/26 by in whatnot about writing and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

