A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 1

Music Fascination Exonerated

Image provided by
ACE Foundation @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/acefoundation/

Although I had enjoyed playing the piano, when I found out that a band was being launched at school, I wanted so much to be a part of it. It was obvious to me that the piano wasn’t going to do the trick for this undertaking. I mean, who ever heard of a piano being in a regular band?

True, jazz bands, rock and roll bands, and the like often have a piano player. Look at Jerry Lee Lewis for instance. However, conventional bands only rarely have a piano player. There just isn’t an easy way to carry a piano while marching. Furthermore, with the school teaching children ranging from five years old to twelve years old, the piano was definitely out of place. With that said however, there was a piano in the music room, but it was only used for the days when there was a music class or a presentation in the auditorium.I had never played that one and knew I never would.

The band teacher, a man who had to spread himself out between four schools, came into my class the day after the announcement. After his short speech about the program, he asking if anyone wanted to be in the band. I, of course, immediately raised my hand. When I was asked what instrument I wanted to play, I told him I wanted to play the flute.

That’s when he told me that I would need permission from one of my parents to stay after school two afternoons each week and would need to rent or buy a flute. It was the latter that made me hesitate slightly. My family was far from rich. The piano I had been playing for two years was a secondhand one. I had visions of how the conversation would go when I would approach them about another instrument. It wouldn’t be lasting too long and the verdict would be “no”, plain and simple.

Despite my reluctance to face my parents and get the rejection, I took the information and permission slip home to them.

The walk home was almost exactly three blocks. It was a time to unwind from the day and, one of my favorite pastimes, daydream. However, the walk home that day seemed more like a gallop and, instead of the daydreams, I was having the equivalent of night terrors only in daylight hours with my eyes wide open.

No, I wasn’t afraid of my parents or what they may possibly do to me. I just didn’t want to hear the word, no, and I didn’t want anyone upset, especially myself. At the age of ten years old, the consequences for what one does, starts to enter into the big picture of life.

This is the end of part one of Music Fascination Exonerated. I will be continuing this story in the near future.

 

9 comments on “Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 2 | A Scripted Maze

  2. Pingback: Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 3 | Speculations Impressed

  3. Pingback: Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 2 | Speculations Impressed

  4. I played the drums and the bells in school for a little while. Although I taught myself a few songs on a spinner piano and guitar. After school I never really play any instrument, but I enjoy listening to a wide variety of music. When things slow down a little I would like to try to learn the electric keyboard.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/03

      Hi Robert

      Thank you for stopping by, and I appreciate your contribution to the discussion.

      From what my own experience has been and what I’ve heard from others, many people try music in school. Like painting/drawing, photography,and enormous times of writing, music is an art form and isn’t suitable for everyone. I hope you have the time and opportunity to try the keyboard. It’s a lot like the piano as far as learning it of course, but the entire sound of it is so different.

      Like

  5. parrillaturi
    2013/08/29

    I also played the piano as a child, but this instrument was never my favorite. I always loved the sounds emitting from the drums. I also experienced a similar problem with respect to the band in school. It was suggested that I take up the sax. We could not afford said instrument, but thank God, a neighbor came to the rescue. Years later, I became a professional musician, drums, and sax. Looking forward to your next post. Blessings.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/08/30

      Hi Johnny

      Thanks for stopping by. And I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

      Like you, although playing the piano is fun, it isn’t my favorite either. I’m impressed with you being a professional musician. Do you ever play in Las Vegas? The reason I ask is that I know, or at least used to know a musician who played drums and the guitar in some of the lounges and smaller clubs there, Mark Swagart (sp?). I used to know his whole family from the church I went to as a kid.

      Like

  6. aletao
    2013/08/29

    I love playing the piano. I hope your parents found a way to help you reach your dream.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/08/29

      Hi Aleta

      This story isn’t over yet. I’ll be writing part 2 soon. Then you can see how things progressed. 😉

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/08/29 by in music in my life and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

