A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Good Changes May Not Be Easy

Good Changes May Not Be Easy

Image provided by
Olivier Ortelpa @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/copivolta/

It started this last Thursday.

Hubby’s job hours and group homes were switched around. He’s a Direct Personal Assistant (DPA), which is a politically correct term for ‘Care Giver’ these days. He had been working on the second shift in a group home where the residences were severely challenged (disabled). Now he works in a group home where the residents can do a number of things for themselves and his hours are from 8am to 8pm.

I was a little apprehensive about how Hubby would react to these changes but the life in his eyes and the uplift in his voice when he came home that first night told me that this move was a good one.

The changes this new schedule has brought home has been good for the most part. I don’t feel that what I do as far as housework goes is going to be undone within four hours. The living room is going to stay relatively clean for a while. The dishes I wash won’t be replace immediately by dirty ones that need to be washed. Yes, as wonderful as Hubby is, he is also a slob most of the time. Yet, with these twelve-hour shifts for three days in a row, his one flaw is easier to tolerate.

Still, there is one aspect to this new schedule that has left me completely confounded. My ability to sit myself down and start writing has diminished. The sitting down part still is there, although I find that I have to force it more often. Trying to write has become almost impossible. I find myself looking at a blank page wondering how I should start out, or wondering if I have anything to start out with. Other times, I know what I want to writing… but after the first sentence is down, everything I had been thinking about vanished. I’m utterly lost.

Why should having more ‘quiet time’ to write have such a negative effect? I was expecting the opposite to happen.

As I contemplate on this dilemma, I try to figure out what the real problem is. Am I disturbed by the longer absence of my husband? Do I work better under some sort of pressure? Or could it be that I’m just taking some time to get use to all of this?

I doubt that I’m uncomfortable with Hubby’s longer hours at work. He’s worked twelve-hour shifts before and they never bothered me. I’m one of those people who rather prefer solitude. There are times when I will retreat to the bedroom to get that time by myself. The longer hours of Hubby’s work give me more room to be alone.

There is a possibility that I do work better under pressure. However, I really don’t think it’s the type of pressure that comes from outside myself. I’m a person who will show up a little early to avoid the stress of having to hurry for someone else. I guess I would rather create my own parameters of pressure. With this said, this could mean that I need to set up a more ridged schedule for the time when I write. I know that writers do this sort of thing all the time.

There is also the possibility that I need some time to adjust to Hubby’s new schedule. Although he has done it before, it’s been years since it’s been commonplace in our lives. And let’s face it, I’m older and more set in my ways now.

Thanks for letting me use you as a sounding board. Sometimes just expressing it and thinking that someone is paying some attention to it, if only for a moment, can do a world of good.

  • Bonding (familycompleted2013.wordpress.com)
3 comments on “Good Changes May Not Be Easy

  1. Pingback: Good Changes Gone with the Wind | Speculations Impressed

  2. Debra Yearwood
    2013/09/11

    You know, I took a couple of weeks off this summer and I expected to get all kinds of writing done. You know how much I got done? None, absolutely zip. It was as if by opening up the schedule, I closed down the creative. I’m sure if the time had been more extended then I would have gotten my rhythm back, but it doesn’t surprise me that you need to adjust to the change. We are funny creatures of habit. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/12

      Hi Debra

      Sorry to hear that you’re having problems with your motivation too. It could be as you said, that we’re creators of habit – summertime means having fun in the sun, while in the fall we’re more likely to thinks that it’s time to get back to work. It makes a good excuse anyway. 😉

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/09/09 by in whatnot about writing and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

