A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Growing Up is Hard

Growing Up is Hard

Image provided by
“PictureYouth” @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/45688888@N08/

Junior high school (now called middle school) is an awkward time for about 98% of the general population. Feelings of sexual arousal are coming into play. The body is changing in ways that are anything but graceful. Nothing is small potatoes; everything is a big deal.

I was a chubby child. Despite the fact that I couldn’t even get a whole hamburger down, I had a layer of fat that just wouldn’t go away. Because of this, I, of course, was a chubby preteen and teen. In my eyes, it was much worse. I was fat. There wasn’t any doubt about it as far as I was concerned.

The way I saw it, my only redeeming quality was that I had nice eyes. They were those soulful brown Bambie eyes. (I guess they still are if you go by what Hubby says.) How did I know this? I actually got compliments from both boys and girls about how great my eyes looked.

As a young girl in junior high school, the art of flirting was being learned. I used my eyes every chance I could get. Mind you, I didn’t bat them, looking silly. Instead, I was always looking at everyone head on, looking him or her straight in the eye. I didn’t see any definite signs that it was working until I was in the eighth grade though.

At the beginning of that school year, I noticed a change in how I was being treated by the other kids. They were asking me what I thought on the serious subjects of being a teenager. ‘How do you like the design I made on the cover for my math book?’ ‘Do I look okay in this dress?’ ‘Do you think he’s cute?’ ‘Do you think she’ll talk to me?’

Yes, I guess you could say I had become somewhat popular despite the fat I carried around on my short body.

I wasn’t popular the way some of the girls were who already had boyfriends. However, I really didn’t want that yet anyway. I was weird. I liked the age that I was and I didn’t want to rush anything. I loved having friends of both genders. Having just girlfriends sounded incredibly boring to me. Even on the street where I lived, I was hanging out with both girls and boys close to my age, playing games like touch football and dodge ball.

The number of kids who were limiting their social life by gender, except for the one boyfriend or girlfriend, mystified me. Boys would just hang out with boys and the same thing was happening with the girls. These same kids were so eager to grow up so fast. They couldn’t wait until they could drive. They were itching to be old enough to be out on their own. Yet, their circles of friends clearly indicated that they weren’t ready to embrace the world as a whole. This didn’t make any sense to me. It doesn’t to this day either.

My early days of becoming a teenager were filled with unexpected happiness, drenched with sadness, and a variety of self-exploration. I was delighted in actually knowing what I wanted for my birthday instead of assuming I must wanted whatever anyone else was saying them wanted. I found myself crying for others who expressed horrors of abuse in their homes. Learning how to understand what I could and could not do for both others and myself were often difficult and bewildering.

I’ve heard different people say that their teenage years were their worst years. In many ways, I can appreciate their perceptions. However, as grueling and perplexing as those years were, I would go through them again if I had the change.

4 comments on “Growing Up is Hard

  1. I wouldn’t change any of my middle school years either, even though my mother was severely bipolar. All of the experiences we have shape us into the person we later become. To change those experiences would be to become a different person.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/17

      I agree with you completely, Jeri.

      I had moderately progressive parents. They didn’t have objections to the music, hair, dress, or politics of my generation. All they required of me was be honest, courteous, and make the most out of myself. Yes, I was lucky.

      I’m glad you found time to visit my blog and put in a comment. From the posts I’ve read at your blog, I can only assumed that your days are filled with writing and multiple reviews.

      Like

  2. Aleta
    2013/09/12

    I was more of the quiet shy type in school. I didn’t date. In fact, I pointedly said that I wouldn’t date until I got into college, because I saw too many of my girlfriends “fall in love” with someone new each week and it seemed pointless to me. That meant I didn’t learn a lot of the flirting techniques. I’m more of a direct person, when I get past the shy aspect 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/12

      Hi Aleta

      I never understood that ‘falling in love’ either. Even in junior high school, this was a common phenomenon. When I got into high school I dated but I refused to ‘go steady’, another idiotic notion. I do, however, think I truly loved the last boy I dated in high school, although I never said anything about it until many years later. I loved my years of being a teenager. I found them exciting and fun.

      Thank you for finding the time to stop by and give me your thoughts on this post. I know that Gregory takes up a good part of your time.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/09/12 by in teenage years and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

