A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

The Smell of Coffee in the Early Morning

This is a writing prompt from Writing.Com.

The Smell of Coffee in the Early Morning

Image provided by
Moyan Brenn @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/aigle_dore/

Most nights when I’m getting ready for bed, preparing the coffee maker to start in the morning is part of the ritual. I love the smell of coffee in the early morning. For some unexplainable reason, it erases all the bad of the day before that had been interrupting my dreams. It inspires me to get busy on the things that matter today.

At least that’s what it usually does for me. This morning was different. The aroma slipped under the door of the bedroom, filling the air with the smell of brewed coffee beans. As I awoke to this otherwise intoxicating fragrance, I was filled with despair. I rolled over and closed my eyes again, trying to get back to that safe place called sleep. However, it was too late. My eyes would not stay closed and the small of my back was beginning to ache. As much as I wanted to deny it, it was time to wake up.

It was just a few days ago that I had been telling a friend that I liked my life and I thought the solitude and isolation were good for me. Little did I realize how much I was enjoying her company and how refreshing the conversation was. By the next day, I was questioning this so-called ideal life I have and started thinking about how I could change it. Yesterday, late in the afternoon, I realized that the possibility of changing anything in my life was next to nil. The path I had chosen over twenty years ago put me in a canyon that is giving me only one path to follow.

Was there any way I could beat the odds and climb out of this ravine?

I had read somewhere that if a person does the little things one at a time to get out of his or her rut, the chances for lasting success increases. My one concern was that it may not work for a rut that’s been constantly dug deeper and narrower for so many years.

There’s only one way to find out. Right? Put it to the test.

I went to the grocery store and, instead of buying the coffee I had been using in my coffee maker; I bought one of the coffees that is a special blend. Yes, it costs more but it has to be one of the cheapest ways to help myself get out of this canyon of utter despair. Besides, there is nothing like an excellent mug of coffee in the early morning.

 

8 comments on “The Smell of Coffee in the Early Morning

  1. I took a huge leap to get out of the teaching rut I was in, but it backfired and led me down some pretty dark roads as I struggled to re-situate myself in acclimatizing to the so-called perfect situation of having nothing but hours every day to write and find my way back to a literary life path. I like your idea of finding little things to aide in getting out of a rut. You simply can’t go wrong with special blend coffee to perk things up a bit 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/23

      Someone once said (heaven knows who it was) that a person should never look back, that what has happened is done and a person should always look forward. I, for one, believe that line of thinking is foolish. All of us make mistakes in life. When it’s possible, we should correct them. In order to do this, we must look back so that we can figure out what crazy thought led to the mistake.

      I’m a coffee freak, through and through. When I was younger, I drank it morning, noon, and night without it bothering my sleep. I can’t do that anymore. I must stop the flow of coffee by 3pm if I’m going to get any sleep at all that night.

      I got 2 flavors of the special blend. One was caramel and the other was chocolate. Warm caramel in the morning is wonderful. The chocolate wasn’t as good as I thought it would be, although, when my mug of coffee got cold and I took a sip, yum. It makes an excellent ice coffee. Who would have thought?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. skinnyuz2b
    2013/09/21

    It’s always good to wake up to a promising smell, whether it’s coffee or bacon.
    And you’re right, any big undertaking is manageable with baby steps. That’s how I’m repainting all the trim in my home. The baseboards, doors, windows. I go in spurts of one area at a time. Little by little my house is looking brighter and fresher. But to do the whole thing at once? I’d put it off forever.
    Hey, this sounds like my approach to my bloggy stories … one story at a time.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/21

      We seem to be on similar paths with our blogs, online ongoing memories. 🙂

      Like

  3. Debra Yearwood
    2013/09/18

    I’m not sure how to say this diplomatically, so I’m not even going to try. Your writing kicks butt when you’re sad. That was brilliant. So fluid, so clear and poignant. Imagine what it would be like when you’re flying high. There’s only one way to find out right? Put it to the test.

    I know emotions aren’t that simple and sometimes it can take everything in you to even fake a smile never mind have a real one, but even at your lowest points you shine.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/19

      Debra, with a compliment like that, forget the diplomacy. Thank you so much. I’ve been working on the fluid part for some time now. It’s nice to know that the work has paid off. It could be that I just write better when I’m down and out. Now I’m wondering if I should try writing stories that are dark.

      Like

  4. personalpower4me
    2013/09/18

    I enjoy my coffee as well … stirs the thought processes … and gets you moving.
    Be good to yourself
    David

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/19

      Hi David

      Glad you had time to stop by.
      Although I love coffee anytime, I think the best time is in the early morning just as dawn starts. 🙂

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/09/18 by in writing prompt and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

