A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Lesson Learned in Blog Writing

Lesson Learned in Blog Writing

Image provided by
Mike Licht @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/notionscapital/

Earlier this past month (September, not August), I decided to follow two blogs that eventually opened my eyes to how limited the subjects were in my own blog.

Renard Moreau pointed out in the last post I read at his blog that he likes it when readers browse through his pages. Of course, I think anyone would like that. Right? The reason readers do this with his blog is that it’s variable in topics. This is something my blog is not. Although I’m truly not pushing too hard to have more traffic at my blog, since I changed it from private to public, I don’t want it to go unread. This one post by Renard convinced me that I should consider changing some things.

At the blog, HarsH ReaLiTy, the owner (going by Opinionated Man) has been writing about his opinion on anything that catches his eye. This blog made me realize that I probably haven’t been bold enough about my own opinions when writing posts. My blog is somewhat of a snoozer.

Way back in May, when I started this blog to replace the prior one, my intention was to keep it limited to my personal writing and trying to improve my skills in this undertaking. This was a good way to start anew. However, now I feel that I must expand my scope if I am to improve more in my abilities as a writer. Being versatile can only help.

I will be adding categories that I have been shying away from in the past. Nonetheless, I will be doing my best to not overwhelm you with too many categories. I’ve seen this happen with other blogs, and this can get confusing when trying to look up other posts generally similar in topic. After all, isn’t it the tags that are used for details?

I know that many bloggers have new posts on their blogs quite often, and have scheduled the days for the posts. I used to do this myself. In spite of this current trend though, I’ll be continuing to ‘post at will’. In other words, I will still be posting when I come up with topics I want to write about, and without the severe force of ‘getting it done’ like I used to do.

Do I hear one or more of you saying I should be more disciplined? That may happen at a later date. Until about a week and a half ago, my energy level was in the minuses. It had been that way for a long time. Many of the activities that are a part of almost everyone’s life could not be a part of mine. Just keeping up with the housework was exhausting. When I started to get some energy back, I started participating in a few of these activities. I still have a long way to travel before I can consider scheduling my writing pursuits.

Start watching for the new categories. I’ll still want your feedback. 😉

8 comments on “Lesson Learned in Blog Writing

  1. Susan Ekins
    2013/10/16

    Good post, and I love the picture you selected. I post at will also, even though it goes against blogging wisdom, I don’t have something new and significant to say every day. One of my readers said she prefers blogs that don’t have daily posts.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/10/17

      Like you, Susan, I don’t always have something worthy to write a post about. Besides, this blog is a personal one. I’m not trying to sell anything, nor am I trying to be famous. I created the blog to improve my writing skills through practice.

      I am now following your blog, Women Making Strides @ http://womenmakingstrides.com/. I enjoyed your post, Leading Our Lives.
      Thanking you for visiting. I hope you will be able to come back again in the near future to read more of my posts.

      Like

  2. Opinionated Man
    2013/09/30

    I post at will as well myself. This Project O is the first time I have really scheduled posts. I think posting at will shows a stronger connection to the “real” author of the blog, personally. 🙂 Thanks for the mention! -OM

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/10/01

      You’re welcome, OM.

      You may have really hit on something there about how to know the author. I think this is especially true with blogs like ours that aren’t designed to be strict ‘money makers’ and have the intention of exploring more than one topic (the personal blog).

      Like

  3. parrillaturi
    2013/09/28

    Very informative post. I blog on whatever catches my fancy, whether it be of a very controversial nature or not. I hope my blog does not become a snoozer. :)) My prayers are that you will be yourself again. Blessings.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/29

      Johnny, I rather doubt that your blog will ever become a snoozer. You involve other people into your posts, which puts a spark into all of them.

      Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to come read this post. I hope to see you here again in the future.

      Like

  4. Aleta
    2013/09/28

    I will post ahead, but only because sometimes I think of two or three things to post about and figure, “eh, why not space them out” 🙂 especially for days when my thoughts run dry.

    For me, I have multiple blogs, but I do this for selfish reasons. I have a blog for recipes, because I don’t want to hunt through 5 years plus of blogging stuff unrelated to recipes 🙂 Etc.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/09/29

      Aleta, I’ll tell you a little secret — I have multiple blogs too. Two of them aren’t written in anymore; I just don’t have enough to say. The two others I write in actually serve as one because it’s easy to crosspost between them. At least that’s what is suppose to happen. Often things get screwed up up somewhere a long the way, so I, then, will write two different posts in each one. For both of these blog (actually called journals), you need to sign up with the two sites in order to comment. Why I picked these two sites is a complete mystery to me.

      I fulling understand scheduling posts when you have more than one topic to write about. And like you said, when you thoughts are focused on your son, your blog is still saying something new.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/09/28 by in whatnot about writing and tagged , , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

