A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

What Role Do I Play?

What Role Do I Play?

Image provided by
daveynin @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/daveynin/

I’ve been think about this question for a while. Sometimes I almost get to an answer. It’s on the tip of my tongue. It’s going to be one of those things that my brain will register and bring forward at 2:34 in the morning.

Then it’s gone. The answer has escaped once again, and heaven only know where it vanishes.

There was a time when I did know what my role was. I felt so calm, and every day made sense. I even had a routine that was followed every day of the week with slight variations for the weekends. I can honestly say that overall I was a happy person.

Since the marriage to my second husband (who will be the one I’m with until death), everything (and I really do mean everything) is in disarray. Routine is lucky to last a full week. In the morning, I may be a wife, but by the afternoon, I’ve become someone detached from the household. By evening, sometimes all I am is a writer without any other responsibilities. Other times, those few hours after dinner and before bedtime are split into so many fragments I feel that I’m scraps of paper caught in a tornado on the plains of Oklahoma.

Yes, I know that for most people, there are several roles to be played, and some are played simultaneously during the course of a day. Are these people just more certain about the roles they have? I see people in my neighborhood being caregivers, mechanics, cooks, husbands, wives, etc. Some of these roles are engaged in at the same time. They do this so gracefully without missing a beat.

What is making it work for them?

It could be that their routines are in harmony, both the ones they have individually and the ones they share with others. There could be a blueprint that they follow depending on what has just occurred.

It could be that they take the directions of their lives more lightly than I do mine. I do calculate my time with precision. In many cases, this is more of a must than it is a preference. Most activities take more time to prepare for when one is living with a physical disability. There isn’t any way to get around this. What’s more, one must consider the convenience, or more accurately, the lack of convenience that the extra time needed can cause for others. This is where planning and calculating of individual minutes becomes important. I know; it’s micromanaging.

I roughly spend about 15 to 20 minutes preparing to do the laundry every week. I must use a laundry cart to gather up the clothes. Once I have the cart in the laundry room, I make sure that the whites aren’t mixed with the colors. No one likes pink or dingy when the item should be white. Next, I pretreat the clothes that have stains. It’s then that I can start the process of doing the laundry. Yes, if I didn’t have the mobility problems both in one of my legs and one of my arms/hands, all of the preparation would be a snap. (Do not read spousal abuse in this. There isn’t any.)

Could it be that my concentration is so keen for each role that I perform that I’m put in a position where I ‘can’t see the forest for the trees’? This is a persuasive possibility. Could I be putting too much effort on the details of life so I can’t let life be at it is? This is a convincing argument that I should explore.

Do you ever wonder about the roles you have in your life? Do you wonder how they affect your life as a whole?

 

2 comments on “What Role Do I Play?

  1. Aleta
    2013/10/03

    Right now, I’m a stay at home mom. A role I never thought I’d have. Even when I thought pregnancy was possible early on in life, I always pictured myself a working mom. And right now, SAHM is a role I wasn’t thinking possible… yet here I am… until August of next year. Then I go back into the workforce. It’s the agreement I have with my husband. Part of this upsets me. Logically I know it’s necessary. But I wish we didn’t need two incomes. I’m fortunate to have this time, but I feel… suspended…

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/10/03

      The period of time I talk about in this post when I had a routine that I was in beat with included a couple of years when I was a stay-at-home mom. I’ll be discussing more about that period of time in future posts. I hope you’ll be able to grasp the excitement and fulfillment of working when you go back to it. I can tell you that I did. In fact, being a working mom was pretty wonderful too. Although my routine changed some and I took on another role during those years, I was happy then too.

      Give Gregory a hug for me. 🙂

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/10/03 by in contemplation and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

