A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Good Changes Gone with the Wind

Good Changes Gone with the Wind

Image provided by
Grzegorz @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/gregloby/

When I wrote the post about my husband’s work hours changing, I have to admit that I thought the change would be ideal for both of us. I think the same today. I was delighted with the schedule. I wasn’t hearing any complaints from Hubby so I can only assume he was happy with the arrangements too.

To tell the truth, I don’t think Hubby was all that concerned about what shift he was on as long as it wasn’t the graveyard shift. The twelve-hour shift during the day was pleasurable according to Hubby. The client he’s responsible for doesn’t need a lot of extra care. As a DPA (Direct Personal Assistant – also known as a caregiver), having a client like Davy (The name has been changed to assure the privacy of the client.) is a snap. Hubby was working three of these long shifts and then pinch-hitting for other staff members when they had to take off from work for various reasons. He was usually getting over forty hours in per week.

I was beginning to get the hang of the twelve-hour alone time at home. I was getting more of the chores done within one day. I was finding those times to write when I was actually feeling inspired. I was reading more and watching movies that Hubby had no interest in. Life was getting good.

Last weekend, Hubby got a call from his supervisor telling him that his hours would have to be changed because Davy’s roommate was being moved to a town a little ways down from the plateau where our town is. At first, we didn’t know what his hours would be. The anxiety was building up in me to the point where I couldn’t sit still for even five minutes. I was acting as if I had run out of my meds for GAD (General Anxiety Disorder).

GAD is just one of the bonuses of having a stroke. Not everyone who is a stroke survivor has GAD. Although most have some sort of mental disorder, there is a large variety. The effects of a stroke are different for everyone who is unfortunate to be challenged by it.

Early Sunday afternoon, Hubby’s supervisor called back. Now the work schedule for Hubby is the second shift again, Monday through Friday. He’ll be getting home a little after eleven o’clock at night. We’ve run our lives on this schedule before and have made it work. Still, I know that it’s going to be a little hard on me because I’m a morning person. I do much better having the bulk of my chores early in the day.

Did I ‘hear’ someone say that Hubby can help with the chores? He will do that, but not on a regular basis. The most that the poor man can handle on a regular basis is going to work and coming home from work at the same times every day. I could go into this further but it’s really a whole other story to tell.

I’ll do what chores I can in the morning without him following behind me undoing whatever I’ve done. Chores like vacuuming, dusting, and cleaning the bathroom will have to wait until he’s at work so that the floor, surfaces, and the entire bathroom stays clean for more than an hour.

Yes, all of us have our crosses to bear. This one is mine. Do you carry this cross? Or do you have another one? I hope you’ll share with me. After all, misery loves company. 😉

One comment on “Good Changes Gone with the Wind

  1. Pingback: My 6 ½ years Tussle | Speculations Impressed

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/10/10 by in contemplation, whatnot about writing and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

