A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Trading Negative for Positive

About three weeks ago, I started thinking about all the ‘bad’ in my life. It started as an occasional fleeting thought that I would dismiss and then continue my day with whatever I was doing. As the days passed, these pondering became more frequent and took up more of my time. I decided that maybe I should get rid of some of this negative charge in me by writing about it. That’s how I came up with the idea for my last post, The Sixth Grade Villain. The idea was to let go of some of the ‘bad’ that had obviously built up in me.

I had gotten this idea from what I had read at several blogs written by spiritual life coaches. It made good sense to me. After all, how many times have I been told to ‘let it out’? I’ve also been told, “Let’s clear the air on this.” Even as a kid, when my brother and I would have a fight, my mom wanted us to talk about it – get the problem solved so that we could get on with life. She’d say, “Holding something in is just going to create headaches and anxiety that no one needs.”

I still believe in this logic although now I am wondering if I let myself dwell on the problems too long. Maybe I would be better off giving these thoughts some time to sort themselves out a little before getting into the task of resolution. (This, of course has to do with current problems. If you read my post, The Sixth Grade Villain, you’ll see how that problem was solved.)

This sounds like a wonderful idea except I’ve been having a terrible time getting out of the habit of leaving these problems alone for a while. My mind is still tuning in on them way too often.

Then three days ago, I read a post, Can’t Stay Happy? Fix It Fast with A Pledge to Stop Complaining, at the blog of Farnoosh, Prolific Living. As I read her words, I reflected on how often I’m complaining about one thing or another. As with most complaints, they seem to either multiply into more or fester into negative thoughts that are larger and nastier. In a nutshell, complaints start out as mole holes and magically turn into mountains of grief.

In this particular post, Farnoosh challenges her readers to give up the complaining for the month of November and, instead, let the positive be the main focus of their lives. By the time I had finished reading her post, I decided that this is probably just what I need to learn how to let problems take a rest from the center of my life and get back to concentrating on more of the ‘good’ things that are in such abundance, or at least should be.

Yes, I will still have to deal with these problems. There isn’t any doubt about that. However, by letting them take this month of rest, they are bound to get deflated down to the realistic size they should be and stop reproducing at will.

 

6 comments on “Trading Negative for Positive

  1. Pingback: Negativity | How NOT to be an asshole | Vegan Mama

  2. I practically have to force myself to think positively, but it’s definitely a skills that can be learned. Over the past few months, I’ve also realized I have a pretty hard time learning how to let things go. Here’s to working on those issues one at a time and knowing that there’s always solace to be found in reading the similar experiences of others.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/11/08

      Hi Jeri

      Usually I’m trying to find the positive. You know the routine, something happened so that something else would or would not happen that made things be in my favor. I’m puzzled by the thoughts I’ve had over this last month. Negative is usually not my thing. Anyway, yes, here’s to working on these issues.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Think Positive | 2tasks

  4. Aleta
    2013/11/04

    I like this idea so much! Ok, I’ll take on the challenge with you, to focus on the positive and not allow any negative thoughts. (It’s actually one of the reasons I’ve done “Thankful” posts for November in the past and I’m doing it again this year too.)

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/11/05

      I do remember you doing the ‘Thankful’ thing last year. If I remember right, you were blogging every day then. That was a big undertaking. To tell the truth, I’m not feeling very thankful these days. This is why Farnoosh’s challenge appealed to me. It’s a step in the direction of maybe feeling thankful.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/11/04 by in contemplation and tagged , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

