A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 3

Music Fascination Exonerated - Part 3

Image provided by
hans thijs @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/hansthijs/

Have you read the first and second part of this series?

Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 1 | Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 2

Mr. Avery’s after-school music class didn’t last long. If I remember right, it didn’t even last a month. There just weren’t enough students interested to make it worthwhile. I wasn’t all that unhappy about it though. My mom had found me a private teacher who didn’t cost an arm and a leg.

His instrument of choice, the violin, suited him. His frame was wiry; the lenses in his glasses looked like the bottom of soda bottles; and his chin was strong almost to the point of being muscular. His voice was that of a tenor, and he rarely spoke much above a whisper. In spite of the softness of his voice, I usually didn’t have any problems hearing him.

My first year of lessons with him was at my house. Can you believe it? How often do you hear of any sort of teacher going to the student’s home? He did this because Nancy, who lived next door, was taking clarinet lessons from him and her mom didn’t drive. Nancy had her lessons on Tuesday at 4pm. My flute lessons were at 5pm. All Mr. Garry had to do was scoot across the Schneiders’ front lawn to my front door.

First lessons always seem to be a fiasco. Even when I had my first piano lesson with Mrs. K, there were those preliminaries of how to sit correctly and how to hold your hands and fingers. The procedure was a little different with Mr. Gary though.

He asked for two straight-back chairs, which is perfectly normal for musicians who sit to play their instruments. He set them side by side in the middle of the living room — still very normal. (This is where it gets interesting.) He sat on one of the chairs, pulled his shoed feet up, and sat Indian-style. This man was at least seventy years old. I tried his stunt after he left, and, although I was just ten years old, I found it a little scary to sit this way on a chair.

During that first lesson, a lot of time was spent with me holding just the first joint of the flute where the mouthpiece is. Mr. Gary was a stickler for good tone. I must have blown over that mouthpiece over thirty times before I succeeded in getting a clear tone of a B flat. The last thirty minutes of the session included learning the C and B flat scales and playing my one music piece for the next week.

After that first year with Mr. Gary, my lessons moved to his house. He lived about seven miles away from us in the suburb of Englewood on Pearl Street. His house was a tiny little bungalow probably built during the 1920s. Both his wife and he taught music, both privately and in the surrounding schools as substitutes. (This was the way they made their Social Security dollars stretch.)

There were only two chairs with a music stand in the dining area of the small front room. He was always a gentleman, helping me take off my coat and hanging it neatly in the skinny hall closet on the other side of the room. He’d offer me the chair on the right and then sit in the other one with his legs folded under him.

Most lessons consisted of scales and music by the great classical artists like Schubert, Debussy, Hayden and Beethoven. I think my favorite was Debussy. His music felt light and free when I played it.

I kept Mr. Gary as my private music teacher until I was thirteen years old. At that point, I had actually outgrown what he had to offer me as a flute student.

In my next post in this series, I’ll be showing you the activities I was in while under Mr. Gary’s instruction. I hope you’ll come back to read about all of it.

7 comments on “Music Fascination Exonerated – Part 3

  1. Pingback: Personal Dystopia | Speculations Impressed

  2. Pingback: All City Band | Speculations Impressed

  3. Pingback: The Shindig | Speculations Impressed

  4. I remember how patient my band teacher was when it came to getting me to make a noise come from my flute. She ended up keeping me and another girl after class one day to help us out. That one act led to many more positive influences in my life because she believed in me and didn’t give up on me. I still even play my flute from time to time.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/11/25

      It’s wonderful that you still play the flute. I wish I could play mine. Unfortunately, my disability that I’ve had for over 40 years won’t let me. My poor flute has always traveled with me, even when I moved to Greece for 2 years. Right now it is in its case sitting on a shelf in the coat closet. Yes, I probably should get rid of it. I’ve tried to sell it in the past but my conditions for a sale aren’t well received. You see, the price isn’t as important as what is going to happen to the flute once it is sold. I don’t want it sitting some place like it is with me. I want to sell it to someone who will play it.

      Like

  5. Debra Yearwood
    2013/11/20

    I never took music lessons, but when I attended my son’s piano lessons I was fascinated by the exchange. How much time they spent going over positions or trying to achieve a particular sound. From where I was sitting it was all like some strange and foreign language, but foreign like an alternate universe because I would follow some of what they said, but could not hear what they heard.

    I have to say, whenever I land on your blog I always find myself staring at the image in the banner. Is it the same one? Is that cellular structure or ice covered berries? You certainly get me speculating. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/11/22

      I’ve never thought of music as a foreign language but I guess it may seems like it when watching the process and not have gone through it yourself. So much of music is in HOW you play the piece, not WHAT piece you play.

      As for the header picture — All I can say is that I’m fickle when it comes to visual design. I seem to gravitate to red although I’m told that I look so good in blue. The picture I was using before was more of a summer picture where this one is clearly for winter. It is ice covered berries that I manipulated the visual effect with PaintShop Pro. I’m hoping I can force myself to leave it alone until after the new year starts.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/11/18 by in music in my life and tagged , , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

stripSearchLA

Stories about Los Angeles and its people.

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

