A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Living with Hope

Writing Memories Email Course image provided by tippi t @ image provided by tippi t

Writing Memories Email Course
image provided by tippi t @ image provided by tippi t

This is the second assignment in my series about the Writing Memoirs Email Course I’m currently taking. You can read about my first assignment, Living Authentically, here. If you’re interested in classes like this (both free and ones with a fee), stop by Writing Bliss and look at Shery’s list of courses.

Living with Hope

Image provided by
Gabriel Amadeus @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/gabrielamadeus/

The Second Assignment

* What do you hope for in the future? Is your hope vague? Do you feel that your dreams have much substance? Why, or why not?

I’ve wanted to be a published writer since I was about nine years old. I received a lot of encouragement from my mom, but no one else has ever cared very much about this as a plausible way for me to make a living. If it wasn’t for the praise, support, and assistance my mom provided through the years I was in school, I think I would have given up on this dream long ago.

Here I am, almost on the threshold of being a ‘senior citizen’, and I still haven’t had anything but two short articles published; and that was many years ago. Still, I’m not ready to give up yet.

 

* What is your most important dream? What makes it so important to you?

Again, my dream is to be a published writer. Sure, because of those two articles published in the newsletters handed out by The March of Dimes, I can call myself published, but my dream is more substantial than that. I want to be one of the regular writers at a magazine. Which one, you ask? Writing for Red Book or Family Circle would be nice, although I also wouldn’t mind a magazine that is more in the world of literature either.

It’s important to me because I truly believe the things my mom said to me when I was young. She praised me on my creativity and my quirky style. With her being exceptionally good in English when she was in school, she was pleased about how I took to the rules of grammar and spelling. She told me that I was a natural and all I needed was to keep on writing. Seeing that I believe all of this, how can it not be important?

 

* What needs to happen to bring your dream about? What will you need to do to help you along the way? For instance, you might dream of owning your home outright in twenty years. What will need to happen in ten years? How about five years, or fifteen years?

All I need to make my dream come alive is to write some short stories and articles worth publishing in a major magazine. The one thing that I think would help me achieve this is some help in finding some magazines that are more willing to publish works by ‘new writers’. Also, I think finding a mentor who is willing to keep in contact with me would help me tremendously with self-motivation and self-esteem.

 

I’m not so sure the word, hope, is the best to describe what I think is needed to follow through on goals and/or dreams. I’m thinking that the word, reliance would be better, or maybe the word, credence. What are your thoughts on this lesson?

 

7 comments on “Living with Hope

  1. Pingback: Am I Genuine? Am I Honest? | Speculations Impressed

  2. Pingback: Am I Tolerant of Others? | Speculations Impressed

  3. Pingback: Living Patiently | Speculations Impressed

  4. suzjones
    2013/12/07

    Go for it. You can do it 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/12/09

      Believe it or not, Suzanne, I am going for it. I found some places online where I can submit work other than Helium, Y! Contributers and Blog Farm. A couple of them even pay real money. The others don’t but do give the writer a copy of the issue where his or her work is.

      Like

  5. mewhoami
    2013/12/06

    One thing I’ve always believed, is that for as long as you have breath, you can make your dreams come true. There’s a lady here who has just recently become a published writer and she’s in her 50’s. Success is always right around the corner.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/12/06

      I had heard several years back about a woman who didn’t start her career until she was close to 70 years old. I can’t remember her name or where I heard it now, but I do remember her career was in the field of medicine. I figure if she can do something that takes that type of education and that much time in school at her age, I certainly have a chance at what I want to do.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/12/05 by in WRITING MEMORIES and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

