A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Disenchantment at Christmas

Disenchantment at Christmas

Image provided by
Janet Ramsden @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/ramsd/

I’m sure there are some, if not many who would consider me a secret Scrooge. And the funny thing is that I am willing to bet that there are more like me than are will to admit it.

You see, I like the holiday season just fine. From Thanksgiving Day that falls on the fourth Thursday of November in the US through the weeks of December before Christmas Day, I’m wearing a smile, enjoying the festivities and all the preparations that happen. I’m light hearted and I sleep well at night. No one would ever guess that eventually I become a Scrooge.

I think this feeling of dissatisfaction and disappoint started way back when I was a little girl. Like most children, I was impressionable. The stores selling toys knew this, of course, and made the most of it through the commercials I saw on TV all during the holiday season. To make matters worse, my best friend didn’t have siblings so she usually got exactly what she wanted. There seemed to never be second best at her house.

If I had been wiser (Can a child be wise?), I would have picked one of two girls who lived across the street from me to be my best friend. In both cases, there were two brothers and a sister who had to be considered. These girls were lucky if they got second best. They graciously received what was given to them, happy with the thought that they were remembered.

I’ve always known that I shouldn’t expect everything I want. I’ve always known that I should be grateful for what I receive. As a child, I tried my best to mask my disenchantment on Christmas morning, saying thank you with a big smile to my parents, my brother, and others who gave me gifts. I knew that if I wanted the day to be pleasant, I must appear happy.

Luckily, the disappointment of not getting what I wanted only lasted until I was old enough to really understand the lengths people went to when buying gifts for loved ones. That understanding came about when I was ten years old and was babysitting Courtney’s boys. It was that year that I finally had my own money to spend. I remember how much I enjoyed shopping with my mom that year, looking for just the right gifts for the boys. I didn’t have a lot to spend, but enough to get each of them one small toy.

Despite the fact that I finally understood the joy of giving, Christmas Day was still disenchanting for me. For years, I couldn’t figure out why I felt this way. In fact, I was clueless until my son’s third Christmas.

That Christmas morning my son ripped open the boxes of gifts that were under the tree. He looked at each gift very carefully and then went on to the next. After he examined the last gift, he looked at me and asked, “What should I do now?” That’s when it hit me. Opening up the presents was the end of all the fun and excitement. Everything from there on was anti-climax.

It wasn’t the gifts I was interested in at all. It was the fun and excitement of the festivities and preparing for the big day that I loved so much and still do.

This year Hubby and I won’t be doing any real celebrating on Christmas Day because he has to work. This has happened before, and, like before, I really don’t mind it at all. We’ll have chicken, rice, sweet potatoes and another vegetable for lunch before he leaves for work. I’ll spend the afternoon reflecting on the fun of the previous weeks and talk on the phone with family living in other states.

It’ll be a completely relaxing experience. I wish all of you a Merry Christmas. 🙂

 

10 comments on “Disenchantment at Christmas

  1. Pingback: The Blog of the Year 2013 Award | A Scripted Maze

  2. Pingback: The Blog of the Year 2013 Award | Speculations Impressed

  3. I can relate. I’m still dealing with my daughter’s disappointment for not getting an iPhone for Hanukkah. I guess the One Direction tickets weren’t enough . . . ~sigh~ Next week my family is helping out at a homeless shelter. I think it will be eye-opening.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/12/24

      I hope your Hanukkah festivities have been a blast. Although it isn’t the big celebration of the Jewish people, I do know that it can be a lot of fun.

      I’m sure your daughter will get over her disappointment. Just give her some time. 🙂

      Like

  4. skinnyuz2b
    2013/12/23

    Glynis, you’re right about the let down after the big build up. The anticipation and preparation are more than half the fun.
    Before our recession, we always went with the four children (young adults) to the Caribbean the first couple weeks of January. We haven’t been able to afford that for the past four years. They now each have significant others, so I guess it’s over with for good. Fun while it lasted, and it gave us something to look forward to after Christmas.
    Now my sweetie and I take a shorter vacation in February. Not close enough to continue the holiday hype.
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and all those close to you.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/12/24

      I wish I had a little more money. I’d take a vacation to Arizona in February. I just recently found a couple of old friends who live there. It would be such fun to see them. Alas, the money just isn’t going to appear so I’ll email instead.

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too. 🙂

      Like

  5. April
    2013/12/21

    The let down of the end of the excitement always bothers me. I finally figured that I had to make another plan for after Christmas to look forward to. Mostly, it is something simple, but still something to take away the edge of sadness I have around the holidays.

    Merry Christmas Glynis! Christmas may be a specific day, but we have 364 other days to spend with loved ones that can be just as magical.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2013/12/22

      Glad you mentioned after-Christmas plans. By Christmas afternoon, I’m planning what my days will be like after New Year’s Day. I think about all the house cleaning I’m going to do. Yep, I do my spring cleaning in January. Putting away all the stuff from the holidays, moving furniture and changing colors to brighter ones as much as I can without painting the wall makes me feel wonderful no matter what the weather is outside. I change out forest green and red for spring green and peach. I buy tea candles that have the scent of spring flowers. The weather doesn’t have to dictate how you feel.

      Like

  6. suzjones
    2013/12/21

    Merry Christmas to you also Glynis. May your day be filled with love. 🙂

    Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2013/12/21 by in childhood, early adult years and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

