A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Bozo the Clown

Bozo the Clown

Image provided by
nathanmac87 @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/nathanmac87/

Suzanne, the owner and author of the blog, It Go On, recently wrote a post about winning. She was talking about winning in the sense of raffles, contests and so on. Although I have never won anything worth much, there was a contest I won as a kid that turned out to be a memory I will always look back on with amusement.

 

Growing up in the 1960s was a phenomenal time. I was told that it was the first time in history when so much was going on all at the same time. The Vietnamese War was blazing and news people were scattering the destruction all over the newspaper, radio and TV. The biggest show on TV at that time was the 6 o’clock news. At least, that’s the way it appeared to me as a nine-year-old. And heaven forbid that I’d even try to stop my dad for watching it.

Luckily, the shows I wanted to watch were on before my dad came home. There was the one half-hour cartoon show that came on at 4 o’clock and then right after that was Bozo the Clown, a half-hour show with real kids in the audience, jokes and guest stars as well as a couple of cartoons.

The Bozo the Clown TV show had an art contest every week. I had played with the idea of drawing something and sending it in just to see what would happen. Each week the contest theme was different. There wasn’t any way that I would send in a drawing for themes like outer space or the Wild West. Forget it. Although I wasn’t a prissy little girl, I wasn’t a rough and tumble one either.

Finally, one week the theme was something I could handle, a scene in a park. This was something I had all sorts of ideas for.

I got out a sheet of flimsy white construction paper and my box of 64 crayons I had gotten for Christmas. The floor in my bedroom was hardwood, which made it a perfect place for drawing. I set my rear end down on the rug close to my bed and laid out my supplies in front of me. I drew rolling hills of grass, light blue sky with two fluffy clouds, tall trees full of leaf covered branches and small flowerbeds with bright-colored flowers in them. I, then, drew my one character in my park, a beagle looking up into one of the trees. I imagined the he had seen a squirrel up there.

I sent it off to the local TV station in a large envelope that Mom had provided. As I walked down the street towards home after shoving the envelope into the mailbox at the corner, my thoughts quickly switched to the game of Spud going on just across the street from my house. All thoughts about the contest vanished.

A week went by without any word from the TV station or the show itself. I was oblivious to it. My mind was on school, piano lessons, and riding my bike.

On the eleventh day after mailing the drawing, there was a telephone call right after the show began. It was Phil, who lived across the street. He really wasn’t a friend of mine in the real sense of the word but he was the older brother of my brother’s best friend, Billy. “Glynis, you won the contest this week on Bozo the Clown! Is your mom going to take you to the TV station to be on TV?”

“Did I really, Phil? Or are you playing a joke on me?

“Really! You won!”

“I have to go. I have to tell my mom. Bye” And I hung up without waiting for a ‘bye’ from him.

The ‘official’ letter came the next day asking if I could be at the station the following Monday to receive my prize on the air. Of course, I went. Mom picked me up from school that day instead of letting me walk home and we went straight to the TV station.

On local TV that day, Bozo himself asked me how I got my idea for my drawing. I told him that I knew I could draw a beagle because I had done it so many times at school. I explained that the grass, sky, trees, and flowers were things that a kindergartener could draw. I felt so grown up talking to him for some strange reason. I received my prize and Bozo shook my hand. That was all there was to it. I sat with the other kids and watched the rest of the show.

The prize was just a small puzzle-like toy but I kept that little thing until I was in high school. What was remarkable was that I played with that puzzle until I was fourteen years old.

10 comments on “Bozo the Clown

  1. Travelling Macs
    2014/01/09

    Once I pushed past the picture of the clown(ughhh) I enjoyed the story you related. How proud u must have been .

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/09

      I do understand. I debated whether to use this photo but because of the name of the show, I went with it. I, personally, don’t have any problems with clowns but I do know that some people do. I’m sorry for upsetting you.

      Like

  2. mewhoami
    2014/01/09

    That is so neat! What a fun experience to have and I’m sure it made you thrilled to have your art become the winning piece that week. That would be such a compliment. I second April’s question. Did you continue with art?

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/09

      I have continued to dabble in the arts. Even writing is an art and, obviously I’ve continued to pursue it although I’m rather clumsy at it. 🙂

      Like

  3. suzjones
    2014/01/09

    Glynis, what a wonderful story. Thank you so much for sharing it. I love it 🙂

    Like

  4. April
    2014/01/09

    What a wonderful win! Did you ever continue to pursue art/drawing?

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/09

      Hi April

      When I look back at that time, I always smile. Yes, it was wonderful. I’ve dabbled in the arts off and on throughout my life — so has my mom. I have one of her paintings displayed here in the computer room. I’ve even branched out into crafts such as needlepoint and Native American art crafts. Susan (http://www.findingourwaynow.com/) asked if I still have that drawing. Although I don’t, the picture is still vivid in my mind and I’ve thought about re-establishing it.

      Like

  5. What a heart warming story. Do you still have the drawing you did? I so remember shows TV shows and have some very fond memories surrounding them. Those were such innocent times weren’t they?

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/09

      Susan, when I think back, I do believe my life was extremely innocent. It seemed that what I saw was just as it was although I’m sure the wool was pulled over my eyes many times. No, I don’t have the drawing any more. A catastrophe happened when I was in junior high school (that I plan to make a post of eventually) that destroyed it. With that said however, the picture is still clear in my mind. I wonder, I could redraw it? Hubby has some sketch paper around here somewhere.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/01/09 by in childhood and tagged , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

