A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Me and Dolls?

Me and Dolls?

Image provided by
brenlynwin @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/the6wins/

You would have thought with the way I loved drawing, reading, and ice-skating, I would also like dolls. After all, isn’t that what every little girl wants, even today? Just look at the booming business Barbie is doing. My stepdaughter had much more than her share of Barbie dolls when I met her. Hubby was either feeling guilt often or he didn’t know what else to buy her. Maybe it was both.

Mom and all of my female adult relatives have bought me dolls when I was a kid. I’m sure most of them, if not all of them thought I was going to be thrilled with such a gift. Except for Mom, I could assimulate a delighted little girl for a few hours – no problem. I’d carry the doll around the house, sit her next to me when I’d sit down, and even pretend as if I was talking to the thing. The minute the relatives were gone, I would grab the doll by the hand or foot, march into my bedroom and throw it in the toy crib with all the other dolls that had been given to me.

Mom even bought me a Midge doll. She was supposed to be Barbie’s best friend. She didn’t have the sexy eyes, the oval face or the ponytail. Instead, she had a round face (or maybe it was square), freckles, and her hair was in a flip with bangs. The rest of her was like the Barbie doll back then, with breasts three times the size of her hips and her legs as long as the polls at a goal line of a football field. As you might have guessed already, I wasn’t impressed. Poor Mom tried so hard too. She even made clothes for my Midge doll. Although amazed by her skills in sewing and I let her know it too, I just wasn’t interested in the doll – end of story.

However, one doll had me fascinated. I think it was on my eighth birthday when I got this unique little creature. The only thing wrong was that it didn’t have any clothes. Yes, it was the famous Troll doll. It was the ugliest doll on the market, probably still is.

I conned some scraps of fabric and snaps from Mom so that my little doll wouldn’t have to be naked. All the clothes I made looked similar to the robes a Buddhist monk would wear. At least the poor little thing was covered. Sometimes I’d try to braid the wild orange hair it had. Yes, it made the doll look even sillier, but it was fun.

That doll went everywhere with me. I was an avid bike rider and rode my Schwinn to the very limits of the boundaries my parents had for me. The doll went with me stuffed into my front pocket. I’m sure I must have looked ridiculous with that giant bulge on my left hip.

There were only two places I wasn’t allowed to have the doll with me. One place was at the church, not even for Bible School in the summer. My buddy had to stay home standing on the chest of drawers in my room. The other place was at the table at mealtime. This meant any meal, which I didn’t think was fair. Nonetheless, those were the house rules. My brother couldn’t bring anything to the table either so I didn’t whine too much or for very long.

It wasn’t until I was older that I started wondering why I didn’t like the conventional dolls. Although I preferred to ride my bike, play outdoor games like Spud and make pretend fires out of leaves, I really wasn’t a ‘Tomboy’. I hated getting dirty and I liked wearing dresses. I finally decided that my problem was that I was too much of a realist, even as a kid. Although there were those leaves I played campfire with, most of my playtime was within the realm of what was real.

Did you have a favorite toy that went everywhere with you?

 

6 comments on “Me and Dolls?

  1. mewhoami
    2014/01/13

    Troll dolls were cute. I used to have one at work on top of my computer, facing backwards, so everyone who came to my desk would be welcomed by it’s little butt. I have an odd sense of humor at times.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/13

      How delightful and funny. Why didn’t I think of doing something like that? (You don’t sound odd to me. 🙂 )

      Like

  2. I was a Barbie girl either. I remember those dolls and thought they were cute. My favorite toy (or tool) was my drawing tools and tablet. They went everywhere and I had a blast trying to create a vision of what I saw, or things that would spring into my imagination. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/13

      Although I did like drawing and writing as a kid, Susan, as far as something to do while sitting down, I was usually a bookworm. Whenever my mom was going to the library, I was right with her.

      Like

  3. suzjones
    2014/01/12

    I’m not really sure that I had a toy that went everywhere with me. I had a doll called Lisa who I gave a haircut to one day 🙂 I still have poor, semi-bald Lisa packed away in a box.
    My Tween has her ‘Rabbie’. He still travels with us when we go away. She’s had him since she was only a few months old.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/13

      Suzanne, you sound like my stepdaughter. She not only cut the hair of her Barbie dolls, she’d color the hair, eyes, mouth, whatever with Magic Marker.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/01/12 by in childhood and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

