A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Simmering For Wholeness

Image provided by Wonderlane @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/wonderlane/

Image provided by
Wonderlane @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/wonderlane/

I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get a new post published here. I’ve been under the weather, still am a little. Faithfully I’ve been reading the posts of others but when done, I’ve been wiped out and have had to stop for the day. The next day I’d try again but the same thing has been happening. Today I’m doing a little better. I do believe I’m on the upside finally.

Week before last, I introduced the new email course I’m taking, Inner Journey, provided free by Writing Bliss. To read about my first lesson, go to Meaning At Any Given Moment. The second assignment, My Heart At Work, is here.

Simmering For Wholeness

Image provided by
Evan Cooper @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/methticalman/

This week’s assignment is called Simmering For Wholeness. It looked at how much time a person really gives to circumstances that are important to him/her. It also addressed issues such as how long one takes to make a decision and questioned if that person is jumping too quick into situations he/she should have pondered a little more.

“I like food that is flavorful. Simmering food slowly, for a long time, helps the juices penetrate the whole. Hardly anyone simmers anything anymore. Everything is zapped in the microwave or cooked as quickly as possible. I think this reflects our spiritual life as well. Wisdom and wholeness deepen in us when we reflectively allow ideas and feelings to sit inside us for a while.”
– – Joyce Rupp, Author of Dear Heart, Come Home

As it was with the first lesson, I had the option of choosing one of five questions to answer.

Which past situation do you think you should have held yourself back to reflect first before you reacted?

The situation happened 13 years ago. At the time, both Hubby and I were letting our emotion dictate our decisions and actions, without giving a thought to the reality that was there in front of us.

It started with us going to Crete, the largest Greek island in the Mediterranean Sea. Hubby was active duty Air Force then and that was his new assignment base. If the Air Force had known that I was disabled, they probably wouldn’t have let me go there. No, we weren’t hiding that fact about me. On the contrary, I had been seeing a couple of doctors associated with the US military for over a year. However it happened, the right people were oblivious to my health issues and I got to experience the working man’s Riviera.

Because of Hubby’s status at the Air Force base there (lots of bias going on), we had to find living accommodations off base. We were able to do that with a little persistence (a whole other story I’ll share at another time). Life was good for about five months.

It was then that Hubby required some medical attention that wasn’t available on Crete and he would have to go to Turkey for the ‘medical procedure’. (I really detest that term.) Hubby didn’t think I should stay on Crete without him. We talked it over for the longest time trying to find a solution.

What we neglected to do was talk to our landlord and landlady. We didn’t know they well yet, but not explaining our situation to they was foolhardy nonetheless. If we had confided in them, things would have been so much better.

I ended up going back to the US. The plan was that I was going to stay there until Hubby’s assignment on Crete was over. The Air Force would not pay for me to return to Crete.

I was miserable without Hubby. I wasn’t sleeping at all and my daily diet included one cup-o-soup and a handful of Doritos. I was a total mess.

Hubby got his ‘procedure’ done, and as soon as he was on his feet, he found a phone to use (no phones in the rooms of a military hospital overseas). He had to call me collect, of course. This I didn’t mind at all. I was so happy to hear his voice. I asked, actually begged to spend the money to go back to Crete to be with him.

I was on a flight to Crete via Rome, Italy the next week. It cost us $1800 for me to get there. Once there, we had to tighten our money belt a little because the Air Force wouldn’t pay for me to even be there with my husband.

Now, don’t think badly of the Air Force. If I had done what I should have in the first place, they would have allotted money for my presence on Crete through Hubby’s entire assignment time. If we had talked this all out with our landlord and landlady, I would have stayed in our apartment on Crete. Either my landlord or landlady would have made sure that I had all that I needed. Yes, they were, and I’m sure still are wonderful caring people.

Hindsight is 20/20, as I’m sure all of us know. Why Hubby and I didn’t step back just one lousy step to re-evaluate was just plain stupid. We got caught in the emotions of the situation so that everything else was covered in fog. My advice to us: Don’t jump forward quite so fast.

12 comments on “Simmering For Wholeness

  1. Pingback: A State Of Unknowing | A Scripted Maze

  2. Pingback: An Hour Of Unplugging | A Scripted Maze

  3. Pingback: Ending The Endless Worry | A Scripted Maze

  4. Pingback: Ending The Endless Worry | Speculations Impressed

  5. Pingback: An Hour Of Unplugging | Speculations Impressed

  6. Pingback: A State Of Unknowing | Speculations Impressed

  7. Aleta
    2014/01/17

    I can understand the jump reaction though. You aren’t in the States and even if you did talk with the landlord/lady, how would you know that they could keep their word and assist you in your times of need. Even after talking with them, you might have still gone back to the States during “the procedure”…. Sometimes it’s difficult to see all of the avenues available.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/17

      You do make a valid point, Aleta. However, by the time we had moved into the apartment completely (took about a week), we were so impressed with our landlord and landlady, AND our neighbors. Although not all of them spoke English, all of the children did. I guess what I’m trying to say here is I should have gone with my gut feeling instead of getting caught up in the drama of the situation.

      Like

  8. Carol Balawyder
    2014/01/17

    Slowing down is one of my new years resolutions. I have essential tremors and in the past this used to bother me a great deal, but now whenever I see that my hands begin to shake I take it as a reminder to slow down, to breath and to be mindful of what I am doing. It helps tremendously. More than medication. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/17

      Essential tremors is a hard condition to live with. And with you being a writer, I would think it makes it more difficult. Obviously you’re the persistent type. 😉 I should learn to slow down more. I have restless leg syndrome. I’m sure it would help if I’d learn to calm down before thinking about going to bed at night.

      Like

  9. We, my husband and I, have done something similar. Sometimes emotion are so powerful that they override any practical or common sense thoughts. The results aren’t pretty, sometimes expensive, but we do learn don’t we. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/17

      The lesson I learned with this was an expensive one but I did learn it well. I doubt that I’ll forget to step back and re-evaluate again. 😉

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/01/16 by in Inner Journey and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

