A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Turning Twelve

Turning Twelve

Image provided by
Will Clayton @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/spool32/

Most of my birthdays come and go without me remembering anything about them. Most of this is due to the lack of want or need I have. Then again, it could be because most of what I want or need is satisfied almost spontaneously these days. For instance, if I say I need a new sweater to go with a pair of pants I have, the next time Hubby and I go to the store, he’s guiding me toward the sweaters and asking me what color I want.

Still, during the years I was growing up, there wasn’t much left over after the monthly bills were paid. I remember playing just outside the kitchen in the living room while Mom was at the kitchen table writing out the monthly checks. My dad would come in through the back door and Mom would tell him that there was twelve dollars left over. Still, I didn’t worry about going without what I needed, and I was under the impression that wants were extras and wasn’t surprised they were scarcely met, even on birthdays or Christmas. It never dawned on me that there were people who lived with more than what we had. I was content with life the way it was.

Birthdays were celebrated within the family back then. What it boiled down to was the parents in the neighborhood, including my own, didn’t want to burden others with the expense of a gift. Incomes were more or less the same no matter which house you visited. At my house, each person would receive three gifts, one from each of the others in the family. (It worked pretty much the same way for Christmas although there were usually an extra few gifts from the grandparents, aunts and uncles.)

Most gifts were practical in nature, ranging from socks/tights to pants/dresses. For a few years, I was giving my brother a Matchbox car or a small box of Lego. My brother gave me color books or books to read.

There was one birthday that sticks out in my mind though. It was the one and only year I received all the things I wanted but didn’t need. I was beside myself with joy as I opened each of the three presents I received for my twelfth birthday

To this day, I still remember what those gifts were: a long blue quilted robe, a transistor radio that had FM as well as AM and a record album of The Beatles, Revolver. I wasn’t just pleased with my gifts. I was ecstatic with happiness.

Although I’m quite sure that it wasn’t quite true, I felt that I must be the luckiest girl in the neighborhood. Even with this feeling bubbling within me, I didn’t make a show of my birthday to my friends. After all, they didn’t parade their gifts in front of me.

Sometimes now, I wonder if I lived in a fantasy world back then. I actually see kids today showing off what they have and even to the point of purposely making other kids feel awful. I see and hear kids whining because they didn’t get what they wanted and refuse to understand that money is often a rare thing in families. Were the kids in that neighborhood from long ago different? Or was it, maybe, the times that were different?

 

10 comments on “Turning Twelve

  1. Pingback: The Drumstick | Speculations Impressed

  2. Pingback: Fads of Junior School | Speculations Impressed

  3. mewhoami
    2014/01/27

    I think it was a different time back then. So many things have changed with how kids are raised and what they’re taught. Honestly, I don’t care for these changes one bit. I wish we could go back to the good ol’ days.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/28

      I know that I don’t like most of the changes either. Yet, when I say such things, I remember hearing those very words coming from my grandparents when I was a kid. OMG!

      Like

      • mewhoami
        2014/01/28

        You are absolutely right. Can you imagine what our grandparents would think now days?

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2014/01/28

          I’m sure my grandparents are rolling over in their graves… several times. 😉

          Like

  4. April
    2014/01/27

    So many changes have happened. I feel like there is no longer a sense of community any longer.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/28

      So true, April. I knew almost everyone who lived on my street within the block I lived on. (I hope this sentence makes sense.) I even knew the first names of the parents of the kids I played with so often. Everyone seems to be in their own private worlds now.

      Like

  5. I think we all have those special birthdays or holidays that stand out in our memories. I have a few of my own, they are treasured memories to me.

    I agree with you about the way kids today see their birthday gifts and use them to taunt others. We have lost the wonder and innocent of the way it was. That so saddens me. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/28

      What is strange, Susan, is I think it’s been this way for every generation.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/01/27 by in childhood and tagged , , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

