A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

An Hour Of Unplugging

Image provided by Wonderlane @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/wonderlane/

Image provided by
Wonderlane @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/wonderlane/

So far, I have completed four assignments in the email course, Inner Journey: Meaning At Any Given Moment, My Heart At Work, Simmering For Wholeness and A State Of The Unknowing. If you’re feeling like you’re under pressure to find topics for your personal blog, I recommend the free email courses at Writing Bliss. Not only do these courses give you fuel for your blog, but you may end up learning more about yourself and expanding your personal knowledge.

 

An Hour Of Unplugging

Image provided by
Sebastien Wiertz @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/wiertz/

This Week’s Assignment: An Hour Of Unplugging

In this lesson, unwanted noise, noise pollution is addressed. This annoyance can’t always be avoided but I know that for me there have been times when I have let it into my space and then wonder why I feel agitated or even enraged for what seems to be no apparent reason. Actually, there is a reason; one that I’m not facing — noise.

“Perhaps it would be a good idea, fantastic as it sounds, to muffle every telephone and halt all activity for an hour some day [sic] to give people a chance to ponder for a few moments on what it is all about, why they are living, and what they really want.”
– – James Truslow Adams, Author of The Founding of New England (1922 Pulitzer Prize in History)

In weeks past, I’ve chosen either the fourth or the fifth question to answer. This time I have picked question number one.

 

What is the noise level in your house (or workplace) and how does it make you feel?

My home can have a low noise level or a high one depending on what day of the week it is and what time it is. Moreover, depending on my general attitude, even the minimum of noise can bother me to no end or I’m turning on the radio or TV for ‘white noise’.

I do seems to be more sensitive to noise/sounds than Hubby is. Once Hubby leaves for work, I’m turning off the TV and bathing gracefully in the silence that fills the house. There are those rare occasions when I want to watch TV after he has left, but I can tell you that I’m turning the sound down several notched.

It isn’t that Hubby has a problem hearing. In fact, there are times when he hears things that I am not because I’ve psychologically tuned them out. He just happens to want more sound in his daily life than I do.

We have double-paned windows in our house but they are the originals from when the house was built in the 1970s. I can hear the noise of cars on our residential street loud and clear. I’m hoping that we can update this soon so that our home is quieter. (It’ll help the heating and cooling bill too.)

Because of my sensitivity to noise and sound, Hubby and I are usually sleeping in separate rooms. He has sleep apnea, which makes him snore. There are times when it will even wake him up. In addition, he has a hard time falling asleep and is convinced that having the TV on in the bedroom helps. He does usually put the timer on, but I still don’t understand his logic on this line of thinking. Any doctor will say that in order to be assured of a good night’s sleep, you need to be where there is as little noise or sound and as little light as possible. Having the TV on doesn’t, in any way, fit that criteria.

The quietest time of the day at my house is usually between 7:30pm and 9:00pm. I spend some of this time for ‘reflection’. I don’t call is meditation because I don’t go into a trance and my thoughts are deliberate. This is my time for sorting out my thoughts, which works well to keep the monster of General Anxiety Disorder (GAD) at bay. Feeling overwhelmed just because I haven’t taken time to prioritize and keep things in order is something I’d rather not go through.

As for when I want that ‘white noise’, I’m more likely to turn on the TV to a channel that has a ‘How-to-do’ program on. For instance, HGTV has shows about revamping old homes and Food Net has shows explaining shortcuts in cooking. These make great ‘white noise’ for me while I’m cleaning or working on a project.

 

Do you have noise issues at your home?

 

12 comments on “An Hour Of Unplugging

  1. Pingback: Ending The Endless Worry | A Scripted Maze

  2. Pingback: Ending The Endless Worry | Speculations Impressed

  3. Jeri Walker-Bickett
    2014/02/03

    My house and neighborhood are fairly quiet, which is really important for me to be able to work from home. I don’t like to work with much background noise. More and more, I make pointed efforts to unplug.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/04

      It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who needs a quiet environment to work in. My neighborhood is relatively quiet except for when people are going or coming from work. Even then, it’s only the vehicles that need better maintenance that really get loud. My unplug time is usually at about 9 or 10 at night.

      Like

  4. fingerprintwriting
    2014/01/30

    I don’t have noise issues at home. I have birds that make “noise” at times, but I don’t mind at all. We are teaching them to talk and that’s a whole lot of fun.
    Thanks for the writing bliss link.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/31

      I hope you enjoy the email courses at Writing Bliss as much as I have.

      Can I assume that you have cockatoos and or parrots? Both kinds have such beautiful feathers.

      Like

  5. skinnyuz2b
    2014/01/30

    Yes, Glynis, I also use shows that I don’t need to pay attention to for white noise. When I’m driving, I drive in silence with my thoughts. On the rare occasion when one of my adult children rides with me, they can’t stand the quiet and beg to crank the radio on.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/31

      My adult children are the same way. In fact, so is my husband. I like music in the car myself but I don’t like it blasting like they do. And my taste in music is different from theirs. I like contemporary jazz and I like just so I can hear it but can still hear the traffic noise. That way I know that I won’t be in the way of an ambulance.

      Like

  6. mewhoami
    2014/01/30

    I love a quiet home. No music, no tv, nothing. The only time I play music is when I need the extra motivation to do a chore I dislike. My husband on the other hand, blasts the music when he’s home. Drives me nuts, but he likes it. He gets his loud time and I get my peace. It works.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/31

      My home is the same way. Right now, Hubby is at work so there is utter quiet here except for the occasional car going down the street and my fingers hitting the keyboard. 😉

      Like

  7. Carol Balawyder
    2014/01/29

    I really like the sound of silence but because I don’t live alone I have to make concessions. Thanks for the link to writing bliss.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/01/31

      Carol, I think most of us have to do the give and take routine when it comes to noise. If we didn’t we’d be awfully lonely.

      Your very welcome for the link. I hope you enjoy what Sheri has like I have.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/01/29 by in Inner Journey and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

