A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Clearing the Decks

Clearing the Decks

Image provided by
Offical [sic] U.S. Navy @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/usnavy/

My mother-in-law declutters her house quite often, old editions of magazines get tossed, any small items left out from mending or sewing get put away, plastic gets put into garbage bags to be taken to the recycling place in town. She has a marvelous saying for when she does this, ‘clearing the decks’. I’m sure I heard this before I ever married her youngest son but for the life of me, I can’t remember when or who it was that I heard it from. (And someone other than the navy too.) Nevertheless, I love the phrase and am glad that she brought it to my attention.

I’m clearing my decks of obligations this weekend. I’m not talking about the ones I have concerning my family. Rather, I’m talking about the ones I’ve put on myself that are distracting me from what I want to accomplish in the near future – the near future being a span of three years and the accomplishment being a finished writing project.

I keep on telling people I feel comfortable with that I’ve started a writing project that I truly want to see through to the end. Since the first time I’ve made this statement, I’ve missed 3 days of working on this endeavor. Although this isn’t a bad start, I don’t want to miss any more days of working on it. Therefore, I must make room within the course of my daily activities. Thus, cleaning the decks is necessary.

This has become a complicated achievement. I’ve had to reevaluate my time online. What do I take out and what do I leave in?

Social media sites have become bland for the most part. With this said though, I have found a new one that I’m contemplating joining because it may be an excellent place for moral support while I’m working in this project. I do need to get myself unsubscribed from a few others just the same. They are not serving any good purpose for me and the emails from them have become nonsense.

I’m letting go of some of my blog subscriptions. This one is hard for me to do. I’ve made so many acquaintances through reading blogs who I’d love to turn into friends, but if I’m going to be serious about writing this story I’m working on, I have to find time for it somehow. I’m hoping once I have the first draft completed, I can start adding in some of these subscriptions again. Yes, I know that I could just change the subscriptions so that I only see them if I’m at the Reader, but I know me too well. I’d find myself giving excuses to go online to read them.

Did I hear someone suggest that I take a leave of absence from my blog? I thought about it but decided that because I just love to write and need, at least, a little interaction from others, I’ll keep writing posts. However, I am seriously considering slowing down this writing to one or two times each week.

I must put more structure into my days to make this challenge plausible to succeed at, so another thing I’m doing is having designated housecleaning days. Until now, I’ve been doing the cleaning as I see it needing to be done. This means a little cleaning here and there every day. I doubt that this is a good strategy when I know I should probably get in three to four days of just writing all day long in hopes that I get my ideas flowing for longer periods of time.

 

To those of you who have writing projects: What do you think? Are these ideas of mine realistic? Do you do any of these things when you want more time for your projects? Is there anything else I should do to help myself?

 

22 comments on “Clearing the Decks

  1. Please excuse me for having a lot of thoughts, or at least, a lot of words to describe my thoughts. Jonathan Franzen claims to plug the modem cable into his laptop with superglue. Then, he cuts the cable as close to the connection as possible.

    If extremes work, then they are a justifiable expression of our nature and our true temperament. In the Healing Garden, we strive for the middle. Each day is a new day. Anything is possible.

    Cognitive executive function and the friendly collaboration of our frontal lobes help us make compartments. These are handy places to put things. Compartmentalize. Moderation is okay, too. Try not to get boxed into your own compartments.

    A writer who does not write is just a human being, not a writer. Some self honesty is necessary, too. I say, “here is the space I write, or paint, or read. Here is my work set out before me. My job is to come back to my task as many times as it takes until I have met my contract with myself.” Self discipline is a self initiated task.

    With consistent and systematic activity, a routine, it becomes evident to myself this is my preferred activity. When the days go by, and I cannot bring myself to write, I make the task accessible. One sentence. A paragraph. 15 minutes staring at the paper (okay, that’s punishment!). If my writing is important to me, then I am bringing to myself the metaphors of my creative self as I work.

    Mindfulness of what I view as my obstruction transforms my obstructions into object lessons for being a better writer. This is the healing circle. In the Healing Garden, we can view our obstructions as a method of preparing to overcome our obstructions. This is the creative process inside the healing circle. It’s okay. It is the metaphor of the artist. Each word is practice. Each distraction is practice. Until it becomes a healing routine. — The Healing Garden gardener

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/26

      I, too, believe in most things being done close to the middle instead of either going to much one way or the other. With this said however, when first starting anything that is deemed good but is difficult, diligence and dedication must be established. This means that sometimes you must go to the edge, either on one side or the other.

      Like

  2. Elizabeth Potter, c.p.c.
    2014/02/21

    Yes, remove all the clutter, both physical and emotional as this paves the way to creating something wonderful with pen and paper. Those whom I hold close in my writing endeavors tell me that once a week or once every two weeks is sufficient for posting, as this gives one time to develop something of larger worth. Not to say every day posts are bad, but they tend to clutter an already clutter filled internet. So, my dear, do what you must, focus on your project and know if you get stuck and need an ear I am here to listen. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/23

      You may have something there about the posting. I’m having a hard time letting go of my writing time for my blog, but I truly want to work on my writing project when I feel the urge as well as when I have the scheduled time. In order to do this, something has to give.

      Like

  3. kdub155
    2014/02/21

    I definitely relate to the struggle of blogs as indirect distraction. But cutting back is a good move I think. Structure is the key to happiness, or something.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/23

      Another commenter said pretty much the same thing, adding the suggestion of cutting back more, that once a week with a post would be okay. I’ve got myself down to 2 times a week. I’ll have to push myself for once per week.

      Like

  4. Boy can I relate to you on this Glynis. I think we all could benefit from determining what and where we should spend our time. I am finding that I need to consider clearing the deck with my blogging activities as I did my my garage. 🙂

    Like

  5. I would be well-served to follow your lead. I try to save my blog commenting for specific points in the day, like once or twice at 30-60 minutes a pop. Even then, it can be really time-consuming. I need to focus on my book, but smaller writing and editing projects distract me to no end. The good days are the ones where I work on the novel first thing. It’s been a hard habit to adopt, but I am getting better at it. It’s good to hear you’ve found a project you want to stick with.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/18

      If my husband worked 1st shift or regular hours, I would be writing in the morning. As it is, I writing after he goes into work.

      Like

  6. skinnyuz2b
    2014/02/17

    Good luck, success, and tons of inspiration on your endeavor. I’m sure you’ll succeed, especially since you have a plan.
    My best time for writing is in the morning. Sometimes when I don’t feel inspired, I trick myself (getting easier to do all the time) by saying that I only have to write for fifteen minutes. Of course, as soon as I get started I keep at it. But giving myself that initial short deadline takes any pressure off.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/17

      I’ll keep the 15 minute idea in mind. So far I’m ready to work on the project anytime. I just have to wait until Hubby is at work, watching TV, or sleeping so that I have the computer room to myself and have it quiet. But I know that there will be a time when my motivation is going to be down. That’s the time when I’ll be using your idea. 😉

      Like

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/02/16

    Do it, Glynis. Maybe I’ll catch the vibe. I have the urge but cannot unplug long enough to give the majority of my day to the internet and not my writing.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/16

      All I’m doing is organizing my time, putting away what I can live with out for a while and tossing what isn’t necessary in my life. I feel bad about the blogs I’ve had to unsubscribe from (yours isn’t one of them) but this story is something I truly want to do and time has to be available for me to work on it.

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2014/02/17

        I’m like you. I need to clear the clutter in my life to concentrate properly. I haven’t watched TV for the past few years but am now doing so on weekends just to veg and clear my head because I’m overwhelmed every day.

        Like

  8. peakperspective
    2014/02/16

    Boy, is this a practice you only get better at with … practice.
    So much of it is simply priorities and turning a blind eye to the millions of other things that at the moment seem equally as important. You’ve got to practice selfishness. It gets easier when you’ve really ingrained a ritual and hold it sacred.
    I promise. It does.
    Keep it up!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/16

      I fully intend to keep on practicing the ritual. I’ve even gone as far as to warn my husband that there will be times when I’ll be pushing him out of our ‘computer room’.

      Like

  9. April
    2014/02/16

    Good for you for identifying what occupies your time instead of what you really want to do with it. Sometimes we have to make hard choices to reach our goals.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/16

      I feel so inspired to write this story. It’s something I’ve never felt before. I felt an urgency to get rid of the clutter in my days and in my mind. Still, there are some blogs I’m hooked on, that are good for the breaks I know I need to take. Yours is one of these.

      Like

      • April
        2014/02/16

        Aw, thanks. I think it’s great that you find passion for writing.

        Like

  10. Unsubscribe, declutter, power wash, do whatever it takes to give birth to your project, that’s what we’re all waiting for. Pregnancy requires love, protection, and I guess this analogy works for writing too. The world doesn’t need more FB thumbs ups but clear, inspiring messages.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/16

      That’s an excellent analogy. Thinking of my writing project as a child needing to be born is a great way to think of the process. Thank you, Gael. 😀

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/02/16 by in whatnot about writing and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

