A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

On Second Thought…

On Second Thought...

Image provided by
Mike Licht @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/notionscapital/

I was pleasantly surprised by the feedback I got about my writing prompt, As It was Foretold. Reading the comments spurred inspiration to continue with the scene, making it a full-blown story.

The intention was for me to make it a short story to submit to a magazine. I went as far as responding to the comments by telling these kind readers of my plans. They had wanted me to continue the story in my blog, but, as to be expected, I got full of myself. I can assure you this doesn’t happen often, but when it does, I go all the way. Luckily, it doesn’t last very long.

I started writing about the other couple, who I named Carl and Beth. Mistakenly, because I wasn’t paying any attention to my limits, I expected the words to just come to me as I wrote. I know, extremely foolish. I had a whole other page written before I went back to read it.

I discovered that I had taken the story in circles, not getting anyplace. Of course, this brought me back down to earth, which I’m sure all of you are feel grateful for. I know I am. I realized that I couldn’t submit this story to a magazine, no matter what the rest of the story would be. I could make it shine like a beacon light and it still wouldn’t be accepted.

Why?

The story wasn’t original anymore. It was on my blog for the entire world to read.

Now I’m torn between leaving the scene as it is and trying to continue the story on future posts. If the best I can do is what I’ve already done, going around in circles, there’s just no point in giving it a shot. After rereading my small scene, I can envision how I could work with it but it would mean editing what I already have.

Now then… do I want to do this? I’m undecided. Maybe I’ll feel differently once I hit the 10,000-word mark on my writing project.

 

10 comments on “On Second Thought…

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/02/28

    Glynis, by the time your complete the story, you may end up changing the beginning, the middle and who knows what, because it will take you in an unexpected direction. Don’t edit until you have it all written. Put it aside for a while, then go back to it and read it with new eyes.
    Just because you started gung-ho and then slowed down doesn’t mean this story doesn’t have merit. Have faith in yourself.
    Hemingway said, “I write one page of masterpiece to ninety-one pages of shit. I try to put the shit in the wastebasket.” 😀

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/28

      LOL! Did Hemingway really say that? Love it, Tess. I’m going to reread it this weekend, probably not until Sunday. I do think there’s a story in it. Instead of it being on the tip on my tongue though, I think it’s at the back of my brain somewhere. Hopefully it’ll come out of hiding in a couple of days. 😉

      Thank you for the terrific moral support. 😀

      Like

  2. suzjones
    2014/02/25

    I have read (and heard) that all good writers, write and then re-write.
    Re-write and change it to the way in which you want it to go Glynis. Have faith and do it 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/25

      Thank you for the encouragement, Suzanne. Chances are I will do a rewrite changing much of it and adding too. Then, if I think it might be good enough, I’ll submit it to a magazine. 😀

      Like

  3. Amanda
    2014/02/25

    No matter what you do, don’t give up on your story. You never know you might be able to stretch it into a short story or novella form and make your own anthology of shorter stories and self publish 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/25

      You know, Amanda, you may have something there. I haven’t actually given up on it. I’m just having a struggle decided what exactly is the best thing to do. Thanks for the encouragement. Always appreciated. 🙂

      Like

  4. mewhoami
    2014/02/25

    What a dilemma. I’ve heard of this happening too. Someone posts something with a ton of potential and later finds out that they by posting it they’ve ruined their chances of getting it published. But, maybe you can change it around just a little to make it different enough to bypass that whole issue.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/02/25

      I’m hoping so. Like I told Suzanne, I probably will be rewriting it, making multiple changes and adding a lot as well. If I think it reads well enough, I’ll submit it. 😀
      Thank you for the vote of confidence.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/02/25 by in writing prompt and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

