A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Rewriting and Winking

Rewriting and Winking

Image provided by
mpclemens @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/mpclemens/

I’m thoroughly disgusted with myself. I thought I could do what was so clearly impossible for me to accomplish, at least at this point and probably forever. Authors, who like complexity and are proficient at what they do, can combine two stories, the main one and a minor one, into one book. Of course, the minor story plays a major role in how the main story turns out, but it is a story by itself nonetheless.

Who was I to think I could pull off something similar as a novice? Obviously, I was way beyond being full of myself, and was headed straight for thinking I was sitting on the left side of God while Christ sits on the right side.

This weekend I finally came to my senses, or maybe it was the spirit of the universe that hit me in the head, saying, “Stop being so asinine.” In this process of coming back down to earth, I have cut approximately 2000 words out of my writing project.

Let me tell you, this wasn’t an easy thing to do. I kept want to try to rearrange instead. However, I knew, in my heart, that cutting Lacy’s tribulations out was the best thing to do for the story and my peace of mind.

Last night I did sleep better after taking a migraine formula Tylenol and a P.M. Tylenol. (The combination is for Restless Leg Syndrome.) I slept nine hours. It was wonderful, of course. I woke up refreshed and was quickly into doing my weekly laundry chore.

 

One of the blogs I read, Finally Writing, has weekly prompts. Finally, I decided to use one here in my blog. The title of the exercise is called Description, and involves describing a physical object in detail.

Winking

I try to keep my computer desk as neat as possible. I don’t want anything disturbing my concentration. Yet, that doesn’t mean that my desk is completely bare.

One trinket I have on my desk is a small statue of a heart. Hubby gave it to me four years ago for Valentine’s Day. It’s the sort of object you’d expect to find at Worthworth’s (when it was still around, that is).

It’s lightweight but doesn’t feel like plastic. I can only guess that it’s made out of Plaster of Paris. Because the base is as wide as the heart and round, it’s steady on any flat surface and doesn’t tip over easy.

The main color of the entire surface of it is tomato red making it standout on the light wood with black and white of details on the front of it. Unfortunately, this means that it needs to be dusted frequently. Because of the sentiment attached to it, I have a box of tissues on my desk as well that I use to wipe my little heart first thing when I sit down at my computer in the morning.

The front face of my little heart is what makes each and every one of my days. There’s a smiley face on it that is winking at me. The Plaster of Paris is molded in such a way that there’s a curved groove above the eye that is closed and the cheeks are puffed out to assist the smiling expression. The eye that is opened is looking inward and down giving me the idea that if the other eye was opened, my little heart would be cross-eyed.

My little heart from Hubby brings me joy and Hubby’s love. I love my little winking heart.

 

11 comments on “Rewriting and Winking

  1. skinnyuz2b
    2014/03/06

    Yes, Glynis, a gift from the heart does not have to be expensive to be treasured.
    And I agree that cutting words that have been labored over is absolutely not easy.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/03/07

      You know Mary, even though I definitely think I ‘labored’ over the parts that I cut, I’m so much happier with how my story is going now. As I was cutting I didn’t even save to a text file. I thought I might be sorry about that, and in one place while I was filling in one of the gaps, I did wonder for a moment why I didn’t save those pieces. It turned out to be the right move though because I was more or less forced to use my creativity again. It’s peculiar how things work out sometimes.

      Like

  2. At one point, I cut 25,000 words from my novel. It’s all part and parcel of getting the writing done. Not giving up is what counts the most and makes us real writers.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/03/05

      Today I went over what I still have of my first draft. Now it doesn’t read so choppy. As I’ve read it, I’ve done the editing thing of course. I just couldn’t help myself. I think writing it is going to be a little easier now that I’ve gotten so of the garbage out. Yes, I feel that I am a writer. 😉

      Like

  3. Debra Yearwood
    2014/03/04

    Beautiful. My husband gave me a little fridge magnet that says, “Boring women have immaculate houses.” If you knew what a goof I can turn into trying to make the house perfect…something well beyond my natural inclination, you could understand the love that was being expressed in that magnet. 🙂

    This post made me laugh at myself. Many years ago, when I had delusions of grandeur, I thought I could write a “How to do Government Relations” book that had a story of a family being faced with a bureaucratic challenge. As I described GR from an academic stance I thought I could illustrate what I meant by having the family jump the government relations hurdles in a grassroots campaign…hahahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahhahahhha…I don’t know what I was drinking/thinking, but it was way beyond me. I decided to write a blog instead.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/03/05

      A story about Government Relations? I would think it would either have to be a very serious drama or an hilarious comedy. Describing it from an academic point of view though doesn’t really sound like story material.

      I understand what your husband was saying by giving you the magnet. However, because I love an immaculate house and used to have one before I got married for the second time, does this mean that I am a bore? Or could it mean that my husband keeps me from being a bore? Whatever. Your husband surely is a dear. 🙂

      Like

  4. Aw, love this story. It reminded me of a little plaque that my husband gave me many years ago when we were first married. It’s wood with a cute cartoon character with arms outstretch that said “I wuv you this much”. This piece brought that memory back to me and when and got it set on my desk. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/03/05

      It’s these little unexpected gifts that make us love our spouses so much. For me, they say so much more than a diamond necklace could.

      Like

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/03/04

    This is a charming and appealing piece, Glynis. I feel the special place this heart you hold it. Your emotion shows. 😀

    Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/03/04 by in whatnot about writing, writing prompt and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

