A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

High School Suitors – Part 3

High School Suitors

Image provided by
Ariadna Bruna @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/50732422@N06/

If this is your first time reading a post in this series, you might be interested in reading part 1 and part 2 as well.

This series only reflects the romance I took part in during my three years in high school.

Most high schools in the Denver area during the 1960s and 1970s taught from the sophomore year to the senior year. Freshmen were still part of the junior high school (middle school) crowd.

 

High School Suitors - Part 3

Image provided by
Adrian Price @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/ninefish/

After I refused Dave’s bracelet, there was a brief time when I wasn’t dating anyone. Because some of that time was during the Christmas season, it didn’t seem to affect me. I was busy helping Mom with the cookie baking, putting out the decorations throughout the house and practicing my flute piece for the Children’s Christmas Pageant at church.

A few boys called me for dates during the second semester of my sophomore year. Most were one-night stands. A couple I dated a few more times but the romance just wasn’t there for me. I was probably better off not dating very much because I was struggling to keep a B average in Biology. The subject was definitely not a favorite of mine. I actually did more studying to keep my averages as high as possible.

On Memorial Day weekend that year, the public swimming pool at Mamie G. Eisenhower Park opened. I walked the three miles to get there. I wasn’t shy about jumping into the cold chlorinated water. I had been waiting for the pool fun all school year. Many of the kids I had met the previous year were already in the pool splashing and dunking each other. This was what we did most of the summer.

There were usually about eight or nine in our group ranging from the age of ten up to nineteen. Most of them were my age though. This year, however, there was a new guy in our group, Brad. He was over 6 feet tall, large-boned and lean with muscle. Yes, he was good looking, no doubt about it.

I did what I always did around guys I liked. I did everything in my power to be his friend. And we did become friends. Nothing else happened between us that summer though. As with most things, it was probably for the best because in August I had a chance to go to New York City with a group of kids from around Denver who were the same denomination of religion as I was. Parents weren’t going. Instead, there was a chaperon from each church that was involved in the project. Our mission was to learn how religion still plays a part in our society.

When school started that fall and I was a junior, I was boy friendless except for the ones who were platonic friends. However, the last Tuesday of September, after I got home from school, I received a telephone call from Brad. (He wasn’t going to my school. He ended up in the next high school south of mine.) He asked me to go to a party with him. Some of the other kids from the pool would be there so I felt safe about saying yes.

I had a good time at the party. Because Brad was a gentleman and didn’t make any crude moves on me, I was very comfortable with him through the entire evening. We started going out every weekend after that, on either Friday night or Saturday night.

Sometime right before Christmas that year, we went to a Christmas party somewhere over in him neighborhood. At first, it was just the normal teenage party. Some were drinking beer but back then, anyone eighteen could drink it legally so it wasn’t a big deal. We were offered some but neither Brad nor I liked the taste of beer so we declined.

About 10pm, couples started heading for bedrooms. Of course, we knew what was going on behind those doors. I knew I wasn’t ready for something like that yet, and Brad wasn’t pushing me to be intimate yet. We decided to leave and go over to McDonald’s.

A guy that Brad knew (but wasn’t a friend really), Doug, was outside standing next to Brad’s car smoking a cigarette. Brad got me into the car, said hello to Doug and suggested he move away from the car so that there wasn’t any chance of Brad hurting him when driving off. Doug must have been drinking because he picked a fight with Brad. They were evenly matched and the fight lasted over ten minutes. Brad’s right eye was swollen, his jaw was bruised and he had a cut lip. He was a mess.

Yes, he took me straight home and then he went home.

The following day, my friend, Glenda and I walked over three miles to Brad’s home in the snow that had fallen during the night. I needed to make sure he was okay. I bought a get-well card and a Snickers bar on the way to give to him. That’s what girlfriends do, right?

His mom was nice and gracious, letting us in, and taking our coats and mittens. Brad came out to the living room. His face was so swollen. I gave him the card and the candy bar. He gave me a kiss even though his lower lip was hurting.

We dated until January. It turned out that he did want to get intimate and, as I said, I just wasn’t ready. He went on to someone else who was ready. There weren’t any tears. This was high school stuff. I knew I wasn’t ready to get involved seriously so there was nothing to be upset about as far as I could figure.

 

I guess I was lucky. I never felt that I had to give into the pressures of sex and intimacy that are so prevalent in high school.

6 comments on “High School Suitors – Part 3

  1. Pingback: School’s Out for Summer | Speculations Impressed

  2. As always, you threw me back to those awkward years of boys, the in crowd and trying to be cool. I seemed to have avoided all that intimacy stuff because my dad, good or bad, was a teacher at my high school. I had dates, but I think the boys were more afraid of my dad and never ever would have thought about sex with his daughter… LOL.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/03/19

      Somehow my mom instilled in me to think from as many angles as possible in situations whether they be good or bad. I knew I wasn’t ready for all that was involved in being intimate, and especially not with someone I didn’t love deeply. Sorry but Brad wasn’t it.

      Like

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/03/15

    This is interesting reading, Glynis. Oh to be young again. NOT. I haven’t thought about those times until reading here.
    Will we have more? 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/03/15

      I wouldn’t mind reliving my high school years. I think I’d even go back not knowing what I do now. My reason? That’s when I liked myself best. This isn’t to say I don’t like myself now, just that back then there so many more possibilities and I thought about a lot of them then.

      Yes, there will be 3 more to this series… maybe 4. 😀

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2014/03/15

        I remember rules and angst and embarrassment and shyness. Nope. Unless. Knowing what I know now would definitely be advantageous and make for a more interesting time.
        I look forward to reading more. Yay.

        Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/03/15 by in teenage years and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

