A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

Image provided by
Robert Banh @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/robertbanh/

Again, I have missed writing a post during the weekend. Admittedly, some of the reason is due to my reluctance to write the rest of It Was My Black Cloud. Still, there is another reason; I’m at a place in my writing that isn’t an easy road anymore. It’s sticky and gooey. It’s similar to walking through a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

My writing project is trying to stall on me, but I’m not at any point where I’m willing to let that happen. I’m just at that place in the story where the main character is beginning to upward spiral to the plot.

I find myself forgetting little details that I’ve already written, and having to go back to find them to refresh my memory, things like what town is that building is in, the name of the daughter of the best friend and if it’s one day or two days after what happened last. I do have an outline, although it isn’t the typical kind. I’m outlining as I write just because I have short-term memory loss. It’s making it easier to find those specifics I’ve spaced out on.

The format I’ve chosen for my first draft is bugging me. I know this is ridiculous. What difference should it make? It’s my first draft and there will be many more after it. I know I should be concentration on just getting my story down. Somehow I need to let go of this notion that absolutely everything has to be perfect. There will be a time when this line of thinking is appropriate but that’s far down the road from where I am now.

Because my story is a fiction about real life, I’ve been trying my best to keep it believable. This includes the number of characters. Usually there is more than three people in a person’s life, right? At least, this is what I thinks. So far I have thirteen characters, and I’ve labeled nine of them as being major ones. Any of them that have a direct link to the plot, no matter how small, are ones I’ve marked as important. Is this the way it’s done? I haven’t a clue.

One of my reasons for not posting isn’t something I consider my fault. In order for me to feel comfortable writing, I need to be alone and it must be quiet. This last week has been one big noisemaker. Hubby’s been home at hours when I’d be writing because he’d be at work. He is not a quiet man, and he’s one of those who needs someone to listen to him. The poor man has issues with self-esteem. Even when he hasn’t been home, the phone has been ringing more often driving me loony. I know, turn off the ringer and let the answering machine pick it up. Sorry, but I start feeling too guilty or start worrying about if it’s an emergency I’m missing.

I’ve become a beta reader for an author friend. This has taken some time away from writing. I’ve taken it on because I’m learning as I read her stories. Her stories, as they come to me through email, have numerous spelling and grammar errors, but that isn’t the point of my job as a reader for her. I read to examine the flow, the subject and the interest in her stories. I’m learning how the word sentences differently, different ways to introduce characters that I hadn’t thought of doing, plus other little tricks that may make my own story more enjoyable to read. I consider this an acceptable reason to postpone writing, at least in small doses.

 

Because of this syrupy situation I’m currently in, I’ll be limiting my posts to one a week. Once I get out of the muck, I’ll be back to twice each week.

11 comments on “Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

  1. peakperspective
    2014/04/27

    Massive challenge–writing. Loveliest way to make the massive challenge easier? Read, read, read.
    It’s all part of the process, and the process gets easier with effort-full practice.
    Keep pluggin’ away, Glynis. You can do this. Just remember, if you’re going to eat an elephant, take it one bite at a time.
    🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/04/28

      Shelley, I seemed to be hooked on writing. No matter how many other things I have to do during the course of a day, I need my fix of putting words on paper or on a screen. The only way I can get a decent night’s sleep is to read for an hour or more before closing my eyes. I do believe I’m an addict. 😀

      Thanks for the pep talk. 😉

      Like

  2. skinnyuz2b
    2014/04/26

    Glynis, totally understandable. I can’t write well with distractions around me either. And we all need a breather now and then.
    I have your same memory problem with little details about earlier writing. Thanks for letting me know I’m not alone.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/04/28

      I’m finding out that there are a number of people who have problems with memory. For so long, I’ve been around people who have memories like elephants so I felt a little inferior. I’m beginning to feel like one of the crowd. 😀

      Like

  3. fingerprintwriting
    2014/04/22

    Glynis, sometimes we are too hard on ourselves. Taking a break can be beneficial. It’s good that you are learning from your author friend as you read her stories.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/04/24

      I took my small break last weekend. It was fitting seeing that it was a holiday weekend anyway. I’m back to my schedule of writing from 6pm to 8pm. 😀

      Like

  4. Glynnis I sympathise with your problems writing. I’m struggling a little at the moment also. Too many characters in a book annoy me as I struggle to remember whos who. There is a saying that if a character doesn’t further the plot they should be axed and I tend to agree with that. Don’t feel guilty reading. It’s an essential to writing and as you say you are learning. I always find reading out loud or having someone read it out loud really lets you know if it works. Cheers Irene

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/04/24

      Well said, Irene. Right now I have one character who I may destroy. Although relevant to the sub plot to a small extent, I’m seriously thinking about getting rid of that too so I wouldn’t even need the character.

      I figure I’ll always be learning because, although I may like what I’ve written, it can always be improved.

      Like

      • You are right Glynis but although a writer could always find something to improve on sometimes its time to say this is it I’m finished and move on to the next one. Happy writing.

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2014/04/26

          I know there’s a possibility that I’ll have to let this story go. My nature is usually to be impatient, yet I find myself still trying again and again with this story. I think I have figured out that I shouldn’t have flashbacks for this one. This means a little rewriting but mostly just moving scenes to different locations in the story. With this said however, if this doesn’t work either, I’m shelfing it and moving on. 🙂

          Like

          • Then come back to it with fresh eyes. You hear of lots of writers that have had their manuscript in the bottom drawer for a long time and then they go back to it and rework it and it does really well. 🙂

            Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/04/22 by in whatnot about writing and tagged , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

