A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

It Was My Black Cloud – Part 2

It Was My Black Cloud - Part 2

Image provided by
Bradley Gordon @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/icanchangethisright/

Robin picked me up a little before 7:30 that evening. As it usually was with him, I had no idea of where we were going. My head was still a little tender from the headache I had during the morning and part of the afternoon. Once I was in his car he asked if I was okay. I told him about the headache but said that it was gone now, which, technically it was. He gave me a quick peck on the lips and off we went.

We pulled into the line going into the North Star Drive-In. He had driven to a northern suburb of a suburb of the city. Even though this was out of the norm for Robin, I thought the idea would be perfect for what I wanted to tell him. There were people around but they were in their own cars, which made things private for us. A good place to have a serious conversation.

The movie playing that night was Downhill Racer starring Robert Redford. It wasn’t one of Robert Redford’s better movies but it wasn’t a flop either. Before the movie started, Robin went to the concession stand and bought us some orange pop. To this day, I can’t figure out why is was the orange and not Coke or 7Up. My preference was Coke and he knew that.

There was still a lot of time before the movie would start. How did I know? The cartoon hadn’t shown up on the screen yet. I decided it was time to spill my guts to him. I told him about Tim. We went over our own relationship. We agreed that our relationship had been casual and honest, at least for the most part, and that both of us had enjoyed the times we had spent together. I was expecting at least a sad face from him but, instead, he looked relieved. It turned out that he had made plans to move to Las Vegas. Whew! All guilt drained away from my thoughts. Our little talk ended on such a good note that I think it surprised both of us.

The movie had just started minutes before we were done talking. We got comfortable in our respective bucket seats of his Challenger and started watching the movie sipping on our orange pop.

About one-third of the way through the movie, I started feeling strange. I felt so incredibly dizzy. Despite this feeling of the entire world spinning out of control, I didn’t feel sick to my stomach. As a person who suffers from motion sickness, this was definitely weird. I remember leaning my head back against the headrest and then nothing. I was unconscious.

 

Yes, I’m making this a cliff hanger. The reason is that a lot that went on for about the next year is fuzzy for me. If I’m going to tell you about this part of my life, I want to tell you right, not wrong, which can happen so easy when you’re not sure of the facts. There’s a few people I need to talk to before I can go any further with this.

Read part 1 here. | Read part 3 here.

 

5 comments on “It Was My Black Cloud – Part 2

  1. You are building suspense nicely, which matters so much since you are still here. Rendering the truth in nonfiction is definitely a form of art unto itself.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/04/30

      This part of my life has been weaving in, out, through and around my life for a long time. As I tell more about my past as an adult, you’ll see this quite often.

      A form of art? I didn’t know that that was what I was doing. Now you have my mind thinking of other stories. 🙂

      Like

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/04/28

    That’s some cliff-hanger.

    Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/04/28 by in teenage years and tagged , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

