A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

It Was My Black Cloud – Part 3

It Was My Black Cloud - Part 3

Image provided by
Offical U.S. Navy @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/usnavy/

When I blacked out, Robin freaked out, the poor guy. Back when he was 19, he got caught with marijuana and had to spend 2 months in jail. I know, there were a lot of differences in the laws back then as compared to now, even with a couple of states allowing marijuana these days. Of course, back then, most weed wasn’t laced with anything else so the effect was different. Still, it was illegal then but the penalty wasn’t a stiff. Nevertheless, Robin didn’t want to experience jail again. There he was dating a minor and that minor became unconscious while on one of those dates. No wonder he freaked out.

I don’t know what happened during that time in between when I blacked out and I got home. Even then, all recollection is very fuzzy. I was told that Robin didn’t get me home until the next day. Even if this is so, I’m quite sure it was part of the freak out effect. I do remember being put in the backseat of the family car with my head resting on my mom’s lap. I felt the car roll down the driveway into the street.

At that moment when the first two tires hit the street, either I started to dream or I was on my way to death. I was moving down a dark corridor, more like a dark tunnel. Along the way I saw the outline of faces on the wall on either side of me. I hear voices that I didn’t recognize calling out to me.
I was taken to the city hospital and went through a series of tests for the next 24 hours. It was determined that I had a stroke. However, the tests could not tell what caused it. I didn’t have any alcohol or drugs in my system. My blood presser was low. I was a mystery patient. I still am.

I’m told that I was in and out of consciousness for 2 weeks. Apparently, people could wake me up but I’d go back under again. The prognosis that was given to my parents was that the stroke had effected the entire right side of my body and I would be more or less a vegetable for the rest of my life because of the brain damage done.

After those 2 first weeks, I was more aware of what was going on when I was awake. I had stopped going into the state of being semi-conscious. I was in a semi-private room for a month at a private hospital. My “roommate”, Linda Garcia was an inpatient because of headaches from the depths of hell. Yet, she insisted that the TV be on for me during parts of each day because she thought seeing and hearing the activity on TV would help me become more alert. She was right too. I find it astounding that a 19-year-old girl in such awful pain could figure out what would help me and yet, the doctors couldn’t.

After my stay at the private hospital, I was moved to a rehabilitation center, Craig Rehabilitation Hospital in Englewood, Colorado. I took physical and occupational therapy non-stop for a month. When I was first admitted there, I couldn’t even push my own wheelchair. Thinking about the future was completely foreign to me. Yet, at the end of that one month, I was up walking with a half-leg brace and cane. I became interested in what the rest of my life would be. I talked to a social worker there about taking a couple of college courses and that person had followed through and had me all set up for registration day after the first of the new year at a community college in the area. I guess the idea of me being a vegetable was bogus.

I’ve never seen Robin again. I tried to find him a few times, but after a while I decided that he was probably much better off just forgetting about me completely as an episode in his life. True, he didn’t do the right thing at all, but I can’t blame him for what happened to me. Even the doctors can’t figure out why it happened.

 

Read part 1 here. | Read part 2 here.

12 comments on “It Was My Black Cloud – Part 3

  1. Jacqui Murray
    2014/05/08

    Just an amazing story. I can’t imagine the fear that your parents felt–and you. I’m subscribing so I get Part III. I know you turned out fine, just want to see how. If there is a Part III.

    BTW, I got totally distracted by the hospital bed picture, from the US Navy. Couldn’t make sense of that. Well, I can, but why would they post a hospital bed in their photostream? Hmm…

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/09

      Sorry about the hospital bed as an image. I couldn’t find one of someone being unconscious or one of someone in physical therapy. If I find one that fits the story better, I’ll switch out. 🙂

      I’ll be continuing my story of my past. I haven’t quite decided how I’m going to precede yet though. Thank you for subscribing, Jacqui. Please take a look at previous posts about my life. All of them are in the categories childhood and teenage years.

      Like

  2. I admire anyone who can write a personal story so well. Everyone should give it a go at least once. You might like the essays of Nancy Mairs.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/07

      Thank you for the compliment. It’s unexpected, that’s for sure. I’ll look into what Nancy Mairs has written. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Like

  3. April
    2014/05/05

    I like your guts, and for not giving up. You are a strong and courageous woman, indeed.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/05

      April, I have found, over the years, that most women are strong and gutsy. Sure, I’ve also met some real wimps but they’re in the minority.

      Like

  4. fingerprintwriting
    2014/05/05

    Glynis, thank you for sharing these very personal stories. What an ordeal for you and your family. I am sure the questions I have in my head have been brought up over and over again. You are truly a strong woman! Have a great week.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/05

      I’m so glad that you have liked what I’ve written. Yes, some of my posts are extremely personal but when your friends live in other countries, this is the only way to go. Don’t be afraid to ask me anything. I will answer you, if not with a comment, then with an email. 🙂

      Like

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/05/05

    My goodness, Glynis. You sound so matter-of-fact about this. You are an amazing woman. ~(*_*)~~

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/05

      Tess, this happened to me 42 years ago. True, I’ve never written about it before, but the subject has been talked about to death. I know what questions are going to be asked. I know exactly what my answers are too. I wouldn’t have written about it but it does have some influence on things that happened to me later. Seeing that the one of the goals for this blog is stories about my past, I thought I better include this episode so that other stories make sense.

      BTW — thanks for the compliment. It’s a little overboard but very nice. 🙂

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/05/05 by in teenage years and tagged , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

