A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Meeting the Crazy Gardener

This is an added post. My regular post will be published tomorrow or the next day.

I didn’t mean to wait so long to read the comments I got for my last post but now I’m glad I did. I would have been writing the same thing over and over again.

Hubby and I made the trip from our yard to hers to met her and introduce ourselves. Her name is Sharon. Yes, her husband is a truck driver who comes home for three days each month. With her kids grown, she does get lonely sometimes. She raised her kids in that house, which gives you an idea of how long she has lived there. During those years she has only known 3 other neighbors, the family across the street, the couple who live on the other side of Hubby’s and my house and the people on the other side of her. Now she knows us too. I told her that I’m a semi-recluse so if she ever wants some company to come on over and I’ll serve coffee or ice tea.

15 comments on “Meeting the Crazy Gardener

  1. April
    2014/05/24

    Yay! Hmm….maybe I should get to know more than one of my neighbors. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/25

      I found out Sharon’s husband’s name. It’s Rick. He’s a nice person too. He wishes he could spend more time with his grandchild. However, his job just won’t allow it.

      Yes, April. If you can find a comfortable way to know more of your neighbors or just find the courage, by all means go say hello. 🙂

      Like

  2. sf
    2014/05/20

    How sweet of you. Wish you were my neighbor too.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/21

      To tell the truth, I don’t feel like I’ve done anything to warrant being sweet. This is something I should have done five years ago. It doesn’t take a lot to smile and say hello.

      Like

  3. Jacqui Murray
    2014/05/16

    I know few neighbors also. I have no patience anymore for personal agendas and judgmental opinions. It sure shuts me out of some great people, but seems to work.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/16

      Hi Jacqui

      As much as I laugh at her quirkiness about her yard and garden, I don’t really find fault with it. It’s just unusual to me. Although I like our property looking nice, it isn’t THE MOST important thing in my life. With Sharon, I think this might be the case. It’s one of the things I want to learn about her.

      I don’t have many friends. In fact, I have very little contact with the ones I have off the Internet. It’s my own fault, and now I find that I like the double dose of solitude my life has. I often wonder if this has anything to do with the advancement of technology. Some say it does.

      Like

  4. suzjones
    2014/05/16

    Awesome Glynis! I hope you two find much to talk about over tea or coffee.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/16

      Chances are we will. Although I’m not sure, I’d say we’re close in age and both of us have a son and daughter (mine being a stepdaughter but raised her for nine years).

      Like

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/05/16

    I applaud your initiative. This has worked out as a win / win situation. Sounds like you’ll have some interesting teas together. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mewhoami
    2014/05/16

    That was very sweet of you two to formally introduce yourselves to her, and the thought of having you there to have tea with, is probably very soothing for her.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/05/16

      I’m hoping it’s a comfort to her. With me being so limited on where I can go, I did it for me too. Anyone halfway normal as a friend is a good thing. 😀

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/05/16 by in pure nonsense and tagged , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

