A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

The Bubble Gum Wire

The Bubble Gum Wire

Image from my own album

Most of my teenage summers were spent at Eisenhower Park hanging around the small public pool adjacent to the parking lot. During my junior high school years, you could always find me in the pool having a water fight with someone. However, that changed rather quickly once I was in high school.

It was 1970. Although it was a brand new decade, young adults and teenagers were still in the hippy mode, wearing the flared jeans that were fringed at the bottom of each leg, girls wearing halter tops, boys in leather jackets or tie-die t-shirts, all with long hair, and listening Rock and Roll. The crowd I ran around with weren’t hippies per se. I guess I’d call us rebels. There were certain causes we were passionate about and we would stand up to be heard on those issues. Anything else, we’d lay low and just be regular teenagers.

The water fights still happened but not as frequently. Any time spent out of the pool was also spent out of the fenced area for the pool. An old elm tree stood just kittycorner from the pool area. My friends and I would sit in its shade and talk about the things that most teenagers end up discussing — parents, siblings, music, etc.

I started smoking cigarettes under that tree. Back then, a teenager just wasn’t cool unless he or she smoked. It was also under that tree where I felt — for the first time — that I rightly belonged, that I was liked for who I really was. All of us who hung out there felt a little out of place everywhere else. Each of us came from a blue-collar household. In one way or another, alcohol was making out homes dysfunctional to some degree or another.

With this going on in our own separate lives, a person could assume we were prime candidates for ending at Haite and Asberry in San Francisco but there wasn’t one of us who was willing to leave home for something we all knew would be worse. Instead, we band together and leaned on each other during the bad times. What I found odd about all of it is that for the first two years of all of us being together, we didn’t have any idea of what each was going through at home. We just knew we were comfortable in the group.

The Bubble Gum Wire

Image from my own album

At the end of those summers so long ago, a ritual was formed, the bubble gum wire. Approximately one mile from the park was an ice cream shop, Swanson’s Ice Cream. The owner had chocolate covered frozen bananas, several different flavors of ice cream you could see made right there and candy. The bubble gum came in wax paper bags of 10 balls each. We would walk the short distance (back then eight blocks wasn’t all that far) and each would buy a bag, usually with a chocolate covered banana.

Once we got back to the park, we would start chewing the gum, always adding more in our mouths. I could only manage five balls before feeling like I was going to gag. A few of the guys could get all ten balls in their mouths.

After the gum was chewed adequately, we would each take our turn wrapping our wad of gum around a wire that helped hold the telephone pole in place, which was close to the parking lot. It was just a way to say we were there.

A few years after I graduated from high school, the telephone pole was taken out and, of course, the wire went with it. Change is inevitable but it was fun while it lasted.

 

12 comments on “The Bubble Gum Wire

  1. Pingback: New Beginnings – Part One | Speculations Impressed

  2. Debra Yearwood
    2014/06/06

    Nice to think about those lazy days of summer. Imagine spending hours under a tree with nothing to do but chew on some gum today.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/06/08

      Haha I don’t even chew gum anymore. I have too much dental work in my mouth now. Gum gets stuck on crowns, bridges, etc. 😛 It would be nice to sit under that tree again though.

      Like

  3. Jacqui Murray
    2014/06/04

    The crazy things we used to do. My mom gave me no free time so I missed all that. Sigh.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/06/06

      I’m so sorry that you missed those times of goofing off. It was because of those times that I have such terrific memories. My heart goes out to you, Jacqui. ❤

      Like

  4. aletao
    2014/06/03

    I could picture a group of kids doing that with bubble gum. I like that it was a tradition and a good memory.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/06/03

      Remember the saying, ‘Kilmore was here’? It was something like that for us. 😀

      Like

  5. April
    2014/06/03

    Nasty cigarettes. I found them in the mid-70’s. What wonderful memories you have, and not a one of them was centered around Facebook, or a smartphone.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/06/03

      Although I do have a Facebook account, it’s been a long time since I’ve been to those pages, April. I find the entire site to be a bore. And even though I have a cell phone, I’m one of those strange people who loathe the phone all together. I wouldn’t even want a landline except for the fact that I need it for the DSL that puts my PC online. 😛

      I quite smoking eight years ago. The price for a carton was the deciding factor.

      Like

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/06/03

    Wonderful memories. Kids were kids back then: outside, talking real words to EACH other, swimming, getting exercise. Life was still complicated because a teenager couldn’t control his or her world, but it was safer and healthier in a lot of ways too. 😮

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/06/03

      Yes, I think everyone got more exercise and conversed more back then. I’m not so sure that it was all that healthy or safe though. The laws for smoking are to the point where, even if you want to do it, the laws have a better chance of stopping you nowadays. Remember, this happened before airbags and over-the-shoulder safety belts in cars. But… I miss the freedom of being able to make all of my own decisions without the government’s influence or input. Freedom doesn’t exist anymore. 😦

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/06/03 by in teenage years and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell Author, speaker, coach

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

