A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Reading Habits

Winter Bayne did a post with questions on reading habits. I usually don’t like memes but I decided this one wasn’t too bad.. Here are my answers concerning reading habits.

Question #1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Yes. I like reading on my bed using the headboard and pillows to support my back. Every once in a while I’ll read at the kitchen table too. When I usually read is late at night. Reading is relaxing for me so that falling asleep comes a little quicker.

 

Question #2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

Actually neither. I have a slue of post-it squares in all sorts of colors. I pick my color of the moment, fold the square in half and stick it in the book.

 

Question #3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?

I can stop almost any place as long as it’s at the beginning of a paragraph. Still, I prefer to read by scene or chapter.

 

Question #4: Do you eat or drink while reading?

I’m notorious for snacking on cereal (Cheerios) or grapes while I read.

 

Question #6: One book at a time, or several at once?

One book at a time. I just know I’d get too confused otherwise.

 

Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?

Typical I just read at home, although if I go with Hubby to the VA hospital for one of his many appointments, I won’t forget to take a book with me.

 

Question #8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?

It’s all in my head. I have read out loud to my son when he was small but every time I did, I’d get the yawns.

 

Question #9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I will skip over long narratives that have very little if anything to do with the plot of the story.

 

Question #10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I’m one of those terrible people who break the binding. I wish I could keep my books looking new but if I want to read them, the binding must be broken because of my disability. I can’t hold a book with two hands. Only one hand works.

 

Question #11: Do you write in books?

I have in text books in college but that’s it. Even with my Kindle, I like to keep the pages clean and new-looking as much as possible.

What are your reading habits?

10 comments on “Reading Habits

  1. Such a fun post for us bookish types 🙂 Now that colder weather is setting in, I know I will start to read more. I’ve been making due with one audio book a month, but need to get back on the reading bandwagon. When I get busy with projects, I’ll still try to read essay and short story anthologies though. With e-books, I no longer have to worry about stopping on odd-numbered pages, but I will still never stop reading on Chapter 13. So silly, I know… I love to write in books and also will highlight and makes notes on my Kindle quite often.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/10/27

      I keep my books clean. I guess it’s from all those years as a kid going to the library instead of buying books. The only time of year I walk away from books is in the spring. I don’t know why this is because I’ve never really been a fan of spring.

      Like

  2. suzjones
    2014/10/26

    I read in bed but I also read propped up on the couch. I don’t generally snack but if I do it is a biscuit (cookie) as I can hold it in one hand and the book in the other. However, I do read several books at a time.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/10/27

      I used to have four mini cookies when I would read. I also sat in a chair in the living room. That was over 20 years ago though. Yep, I changed. When it comes to reading for pleasure, I will not (probably more of can not) read more than one book at a time. I was doing some beta reading for a friend just last week. At the same time, I was in the middle of a great book along the same lines as the one I was betaing(sp?). I kept on getting characters and locations mixed up.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jacqui Murray
    2014/10/24

    Fun interview. I read more on my Kindle than paperbacks anymore. In fact, I’m spending far too much on Kindle books than I ever spent on paper. It’s way too easy.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/10/26

      I still like the physical connection with paper I guess. 🙂

      Like

      • Jacqui Murray
        2014/10/27

        I do too. And (I’m whispering now) I write in my books. I love referring back to them. It’s doable in ebooks, but not as welcoming.

        Like

  4. mewhoami
    2014/10/24

    It’s interesting to hear about other’s reading habits. I too read in bed, but one thing I can’t do is snack and read. The sound and motion of chewing distracts me too much. 🙂 Binding in a book, broken or not, means that a real paper book is being read. There is nothing better than a real book between your hands.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/10/26

      Yes, the feel of the cover and the hundreds of papers in the hand. There’s nothing quite like it, is there? I have a Kindle but the connection to the story somehow disappears when I use it. :/

      Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/10/24 by in pure nonsense and tagged , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

