A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Joining a Caravan

Joining a Caravan

Image provided by
Daniela Hartmann @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/29487767@N02/

Learning to look at oneself with as much objectivity as humanly possible is rather burdensome on my poor little brain. I prefer my world to be black and white. It makes it easy to know where I stand on any issue and where I think I should be standing on any of those issues. Nevertheless, I am quite aware of the fact that life isn’t divided so neatly. This in itself puts me on edge a little.

I’ve just begun the last third of my life, yet I have not stopped to take a good look at myself and genuinely know what I’m about. A blogging friend of mine, April, has shown me, through her own efforts, that knowing myself may be the answer I’ve been looking for all these years. Now to give credit where credit is due, April joined a caravan that Suzanne, another blogging friend, has started. In Suzanne’s post, she explained how finding all there is to oneself and improving on that can be done starting with a 52 week venture. She calls it “52 weekly exercises to improve your life”.

I have decided to follow suit in an attempt to find that contentment within myself that I want so badly.

We are not talking about narcissistic self love here but rather a healthy appreciation of self. An integral part of this is reflecting on the things you have done ‘right’ in the past year.

Have you strengthened your character?
Have you improved your communication skills?
Are you more honest with yourself?Do you volunteer your time and talents?
Have you helped out someone when they needed you?
Have you created special memories with your family?
Did you organise an event or gathering that brought people closer together?
Have you achieved something important in your working life?

– Suzanne Jones

First week’s assignment is to list 25 things about myself that I had accomplished in the past year.

1. I have started writing a novel. I’ve had to stop and start over a few times but I haven’t let up on it. I write at least 5 days a week.
2. I have learned to accept the fact that I can’t do anything to make people like me. Either they like me or they don’t.
3. I’ve bonded closer with my mother. Because we are so much alike, this has always been difficult to do.
4. I’ve learned how to let other people have their way with their opinions even though mine is the complete opposite.
5. I’ve learned to accept more of my physical limitations. Letting others do for me has always been a challenge but I’m slowly accepting this in my life.
6. I’ve stopped worrying so much about my appearance. This doesn’t mean I’ve become a slob or anything else disgusting but I’m now opting for health instead of appearance.
7. I’ve stopped trying to “fix” all of my husband’s problems and concerns. I’ve realized that I’m just not capable of doing this.
8. I’ve started looking at each day as an opportunity to see good instead of bad. The negative was a terrible habit I got into and I think I’ve licked it.
9. I’m enjoying “fun” reading again. This is something I put aside for a number of years and I’m still not sure why.

I don’t even have half this list yet but I’ll be working on it.

Would you like to join in this undertaking?

 

17 comments on “Joining a Caravan

  1. Pingback: 52 Weekly Exercises: Week 2 | Speculations Impressed

  2. suzjones
    2014/11/23

    I think that writing 5 days a week is inspirational. Learning that we can’t change others is life changing in itself.
    I love your list Glynis.
    I wish I could take credit for this program though. It is from a book by Cheryl Richardson and I found it amongst the many books I have in my ‘to read’ pile. Since it looks like it could be worthwhile, I decided to give it a go. I like having others along with me for the journey. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/23

      You may not have written the book but you are the one sharing its lessons. Having a lesson once a week is no hardship for me and I’m enjoying the challenge. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. fingerprintwriting
    2014/11/18

    This is a thought provoking post, Glynis. It is making me reflect on my life. I like your list! Regarding number 8, I have also decided to look for the positive as I go about my daily life. Best wishes with your book.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/18

      What got me changing my general attitude to the positive was the fact that thinking of the negative was so draining. It wore me out.

      Like

  4. This is a great idea and one I should consider undertaking. I haven’t written in my journal much since moving and starting to write everyday for work. Journaling can do so much to help a person clear their mind and connect with who they really are.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/18

      This project is a once-a-week affair so you may be able to swing it.

      Like

  5. mewhoami
    2014/11/18

    This is a great list of accomplishments. The more I see these posts about the 52 week challenge, the more interested I’m becoming in doing it myself. It’s always good to improve, and to see ourselves in a positive light, which is what that list is all about.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/18

      I like that Suzanne is making it a once-a-week project. This is something I shouldn’t have any problem handling.

      Like

      • mewhoami
        2014/11/19

        Once a week is much easier than everyday! Now I’m even more interested.

        Like

  6. April
    2014/11/18

    Great list Glynis. Happy to see you’re following along!

    Like

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/11/18

    I admire anyone taking on these self- challenges. I’ve never stuck with any I’ve tried. No, I’m not saying I’ve done it all, or know it all by any means, I’m simply content. When friends started conversations with ‘I want to find myself’, I never understood what they were looking for. I’ve always known (it seems) what I wanted to do and / or accomplish. Sure life took a few turns but life felt simple enough to me. Boring, I guess but I support you and am always interested in what challenges anyone takes one. Maybe one will grab me. ❤

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/18

      I’m not doing this to find myself. I figure if you’re trying to find yourself, you’re lost enough to spend some time in a loony bin. Where I think I’m falling short is being motivated to do something about the things I don’t like about myself. Banding together with others who are having similar thoughts helps me to feel that I’m not alone, and that there is support out there for me to grab onto. Besides I love inner journeys. They’re interesting and sometimes mind-blowing.

      Thank you for your support, Tess. Hopefully this venture will improve my abilities as a writer too. ❤ ❤

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2014/11/18

        I didn’t take this as you ‘finding yourself’. Not at all. I remember when we were in our 20s and others didn’t know what they wanted to do in life and wanted to find themselves. I never understood that because I always knew.
        I understand what your post was about. I’m not saying I don’t need improvement or correction. I’ve accepted some things I cannot change. Those I can, I will when I need to.
        I had considered doing the Camino hoping to do some inner evaluation but after research I find the weight you need to carry and my poor feet are against me.

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2014/11/18

          There are some things that I’ll probably never improve on. They are those idiosyncrasies that are just a part of who I am. 😛

          Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/11/18 by in project and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

