A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

52 Weekly Exercises: Week 2

Last Tuesday I posted the beginning of a year-long venture into the attempt of improving myself. You are most welcome to join in the caravan. You can read last week’s post here. If you’d like to read the original post written by Suzanne, you’ll find it here.

This week’s exercise involves creating change within myself. When I first read this, I thought, “Where do I begin? There’s only about a thousand things I want to change.” Come to find out, this is what these 52 weeks are all about. I won’t be changing everything, of course. I’ll be concentrating on inner changes, one at a time. To tell you the truth, I think my exercises are going to last a bit longer that 52 weeks. Such is life.

52 Weekly Exercises: Week 2

Image provided by
Jason Eppink @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/jasoneppink/

This Week’s Exercise —  Being patient

I think I’m pretty patient with others. I’m not one who yells at someone when they do something wrong or something that I wish they wouldn’t do. I quietly state what I believe is wrong or what I don’t like. Then I leave it alone, not even asking for any reply from the person. I figure s/he doesn’t need for it to be spelled out and as an individual, s/he can decide what he or she is going to do or not do. I’ll let this happen three times before I decide it’s time for me to be assertive. Even then, there isn’t any yelling. It just has never done anything good for me.

Nonetheless, I’ve been told that I have a problem with being patient with myself. Okay, yes, I do expect myself to be better 24/7. I do not understand how I can have so many brain farts. I’m sure no one else has as many as I do. Others say I’m too hard on myself, that I’m a perfectionist expecting myself to know all things at all times. I, personally, don’t think I’m that bad, although I may ride myself a little hard. Anyway, I figured it was time for me to lighten up a little.

For this week’s goal, I have 3 steps to complete:

  1. Write a positive affirmation that starts out with “I am…”. — “I am patient with myself as well as with others“
  2. Write the affirmation out on cards or print it out several times on your computer and place them somewhere you will see them each day. — I put a recipe card above my PC, one on the cupboard above where the coffee maker is and one on the refrigerator door.
  3. List three steps that you are going to take in the next week to begin working on developing this quality.

+ I will stop swearing when I make a mistake.

+ I will smile and take a breath before correcting a mistake whether it be mine or someone else’s.

+ I will find the lighter side of my life every day.

Even though I’m publishing this post on Tuesday, I wrote it on Sunday night after writing out the cards. Hubby thinks I’m off my rocker but that’s okay. He thinks this quite often anyway.

I’ll be visiting some of the others’ blogs who are taking this journey so get the coffee brewing.

 

14 comments on “52 Weekly Exercises: Week 2

  1. suzjones
    2014/11/25

    The striving for perfection is something that many of us do and we are our own worst enemies. I like your goal Glynis and I hope you get there.

    Like

  2. April
    2014/11/25

    Glynis, you swear? :open_mouth: hee hee

    Like

    • April
      2014/11/25

      Well my code didn’t work, so let’s try this. 😀

      Like

      • Glynis Jolly
        2014/11/25

        I tried three different ways to get that smiley face. None of them worked. We need the guru of smileys I think. 😀

        Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/25

      Me swear? Afraid so. There are times when I’m a real sailor. It’s better than bashing someone’s head in. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jacqui Murray
    2014/11/25

    I’m going to do this through you, Glynis. This is a cool idea. It’s a bit like the Insecure Writers Support Group I participate in monthly, but more proactive. On IWSG, I mostly complain. Here, you’re trying to solve it!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/25

      I’m doing the Writer’s Support Group too. I sure am glad it’s just once a month. It will be good to get the cobwebs out of my head by venting though.

      I post my progress on Tuesdays even though Suzanne is giving the post on Sunday. I’ll be happy to have you as a buddy in this whether you rethink following Suzanne or trucking along side me. 🙂

      Like

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/11/25

    You are a delight, Glynis. This particular exercise is something I need to put into practice. XD

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/25

      A delight, huh? I know of several deserts that have that name in the title. 😛

      You don’t seem to have a problem with patience. I think of you as being easy going.

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2014/11/25

        How nice of you to say that, Glynis.

        I am patient. Some even consider I’m a dishrag, but I am a Scorpio and when push comes to shove, I rise to the occasion and watch out! I try peace first.

        Like

  5. mewhoami
    2014/11/25

    These are great steps to reaching your goal. I too struggle with having patience with myself. Being patient with others is easy, usually. But, when it comes to the person in the mirror, there’s no excuse for her behavior. Wonder why we do that to ourselves.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/25

      Maybe it’s because we like what you see out there and don’t spend any time even looking at what’s in here, in us. We do beat up on ourselves, don’t we?

      Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/11/25 by in project and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

