A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

#SoCS — sense/scents/cents

This week’s prompt is to use one or more of these words: sense, scents and cents. Linda also gave out a bonus word — sent. At first, this prompt stumped me. I had to dig deep within the cobwebs of my brain to come up with something. The answer was right there in front of me and yet, I couldn’t see it at first.

#SoCS -- sence/scents/cents

Image provided by
Dani Jace @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/85329395@N04/

The Scents of the Holiday Season

I wonder how many others doing this prompt are centering their post around the holidays. It certainly fits. The scents floating through the air during this time of years is one of the very few things I still like about the season. It use to be a time of love and giving of self. Anymore, all I see is buying, and much of it isn’t even for presents to share with someone else.

When I was in my twenties, I tried selling Avon to make some extra money. It didn’t turn out that way though. Even so, I didn’t lose money either. I came out even. I did learn some things about scents though and how to make the best of a few of them during the holiday season.

Oranges and Cloves

Christmas trees and pets may not get along so well, especial if you’re talking about dogs and cats. The dog wants to lay under the tree, making the skirt smell like dog and maybe ruining a few presents in the process. The cat wants to climb the thing.

If you take an orange, cover it with a design using whole cloves stuck into the peel and either hanging it on the tree or just put it inside the tree, close to the trunk and down near the bottom, the pets are likely to stay away from your beautiful tree. In addition, the cloved orange is going to give the whole room a wonderful spicy aroma.

Blue Spruce Boughs

My mom used to use Douglas Fir boughs to create the holiday atmosphere in the home. Living in Colorado where Douglas Firs can be found all over in the mountain, it was thought to be the way to go. But then a Blue Spruce tree was planted in our yard. It took a few years before the branches were touching the house. When that finally happened, my mom and I would go out there and remove some of those back branches so the siding of the house would be alright.

What a difference in the smell that traveled through our home. The aroma made it instantly Christmas in the house. We just put some boughs over the pictures that hung on the walls. A few years after we started gathering the spruce branches, we decided to go a little bit further. We tie a candy cane to each bough using colorful ribbon.

French Vanilla

After I got a divorce from my first husband, my son and I were renting one half of a duplex. I was still visiting the folks at home and was able to collect some of the spruce boughs. I was still making my clove-scented orange for the tree despite the fact that we didn’t have a pet at the time. But I felt that there was still something missing that would give my son even a better experience of the holiday season.

That’s when I discovered votive candles. I tried the cinnamon but it wasn’t quite right. I tried the peppermint. That definitely wasn’t what I was looking for. Then I tried the French vanilla. That was the one. It gave our humble abode a cozy feeling and the anticipation of something yummy baking.

Some Other Holiday Scents

Here’s some other scents that fill the air during this time of year.

  • Spearmint
  • Ginger
  • Myrrh
  • Frankincense

I think it’s remarkable how scents can effect one’s mood. We are rarely aware of how our mood changes. We just know that we’re smelling something, whether it be good or bad.

 

Resource: ACHS Health and Wellness Blog

20 comments on “#SoCS — sense/scents/cents

  1. April
    2014/12/03

    Nice job Glynis. Do the oranges and cloves really work for scaring the cats away? every year they fight over the tree skirt and it ends up a mess. Tell me this could solve my problem…

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/05

      Yes, it worked great with the cats I’ve had in the past. Right now though, one of the 3 cats we have is a real tree climber. We haven’t had a tree since we’ve had this cat so I’m not sure if he’d stay away or not. Not have a tree has nothing to do with this cat though. My husband has had to work most Christmas in the last 6 years and with it just being the two of us, we didn’t see any reason to put up a tree. However, I do put out some Christmas trinkets for the season.

      Be sure to stick enough cloves into the orange and place it near the bottom of the tree. The aroma is what keeps the little darlings away.

      Liked by 1 person

      • April
        2014/12/05

        It’s certainly worth a try. Thanks!

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2014/12/05

          Let me know if it works with your cat(s). Even though we don’t have a tree anymore, I have 2 clove-oranges out where that silly climbing cat, Marble likes to get to. So far, he hasn’t been up on that table or shelf. It could be, however, that he’s just older now. 😛

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqui Murray
    2014/12/01

    Well done. You might add a note at the beginning–Post best read with a scented candle (use common sense in burning candles). Cost: Cents.

    Like

  3. peakperspective
    2014/11/30

    I’m a massive fan of anything that emits an aroma that evokes warm memories and emotions. I’m all about cultivating the nose. I train everyday. I’m just slightly neurotic that way, but my sense of smell is probably the one sense I would not want to live without.
    A terrific book recommendation for you if you’re at all inspired: Season To Taste by Molly Birnbaum. Top notch read.
    And thanks for the interesting tip about animals and clove studded oranges. Didn’t know this, and now I’m keen to try it.
    Cheers!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/30

      Thanks for the recommendation. I put it on my wish list. It’s peculiar; the hardcover is cheaper than the paperback. :/

      Like

  4. Kate Loveton
    2014/11/29

    When I smell spruce, I am quickly transported back to the Christmases of my childhood. How magical they were! Nothing was nicer than waking up to the smell of Christmas tree wafting through the house.

    You’ve inspired me! It’s been awhile since I’ve pierced oranges with cloves. I think it is time again!

    Sweet smells of baking cookies, vanilla candles, cinnamon and spruce. How lovely is the Christmas season! I shall wrap Christmas presents tonight and remember the scents of Christmases past.

    Thanks for the memories… 🙂

    Like

  5. jetgirlcos
    2014/11/29

    mmmmm! I love this post! In fact, I think I shall go downstairs right now and start making some candied oranges for the spice bread that I will make tomorrow, all those scents are my favorites. ❤ winter!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/30

      I love the quick breads. They’re all so good, I can never make up my mind as to which one I like the best.

      Like

  6. SomeKernelsOfTruth
    2014/11/29

    Lovely overview and tips on holiday scents, as well as a great use of the SoCS prompt! I agree with you on French vanilla; I’ve loved that scent in everything from candles, as you wrote about, to air fresheners and even perfume…

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/30

      Thank you for the compliment. One of the many odd things about me is despite my love of the French vanilla fragrance, I don’t like it as a creamer for my coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

      • SomeKernelsOfTruth
        2014/11/30

        I can see that; I love the smell of the roasted nuts the street vendors sell in Manhattan, but don’t like actually eating them! So I get what you mean. 🙂

        Like

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/11/29

    I love the scents of Christmastime. Maybe that’s why everyone’s in a neighborly and festive mood in December and grow less approachable and reserved in the New Year when they’re gone. After you mentioned the orange and cloves, I scooped one out of the fridge and dragged out the cloves, pushed a few into the fruit and became all smiles. Now my hands smell Christmasy. Must call the grandkids later to see if they’d like to try a new activity. I have made these, but many, many years ago. Thanks for the reminder. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/11/29

      We don’t put up a tree anymore because I can’t do it at all, and it isn’t worth it for my husband to have pain in his back just to put something up that’s going to come down on New Year’s Day. Nevertheless, I’m thinking about buying a few oranges even though they’re a little expensive now. I could put them in different places around the house out of reach of the cats.

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2014/11/29

        MY orange from this morning and my thumb have a story to tell.After many years, I have a spiced orange and a sore thumb and my older granddaughter is enthralled. I believe we may end up with a few more before Christmas. My house–or is it me–smell awesome or should I say Christmasy?

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2014/11/30

          Awesome? Somehow I just can’t get into the slang term. For that matter, I don’t use the term, ‘cool’ very often. I’m always trying to describe something or how I feel with precision. (It’s that perfectionist in me.) 😦

          BTW, I answered your email.

          Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/11/29 by in Stream of Consciousness Saturday and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

