A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

#SoCS – Excuse

This post is in response to the writing prompt at LINDAGHILL called Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Linda is taking a break from her blog right now but she has been given help in keeping her posts on schedule. This week’s writing prompt is being hosted by Leigh Michaels.

This week’s prompt is the word, excuse.

“Excuses are a dime a dozen.” Have you ever heard that phrase? I was made acutely aware of it when I was a kid. When I’d get in trouble, as most kids do occasionally, I would try my best to explain myself. More often than not, the reply to my explanation was, “No excuse.”

Because of how I was brought up, I associate the word, excuse, with something bad, and associate the word, reason, with something good. Trying to figure out what to say that will be received as a reason instead of an excuse is tricky, and, in some cases, impossible despite how much you may believe that your explanation is a reason. This is especially true if you’re a kid trying your best to grow up.

Now with Christmas just days away, children are trying even harder to get those excuses accepted so that Santa won’t purposely fly over their homes and just go to the ones with the children who didn’t need excuses. What excuses will Santa accept? If he’s anything like my parents were, anything less than saving a person’s life is questionable.

Maybe that’s why my loyalty to the idea of Santa didn’t last to long for me. By the time I was in first grade, I knew exactly who Santa, the Easter Bunny and the tooth fairy was. I played along with the charade for a few years because of my little brother, but as soon as he found out about the scams, both of us were spreading the news all over the neighborhood.

Some people think I’m odd because I rarely give out an excuse, even if it’s something trivial. Instead, I do what they call fessing up. If I’m late to work because I let myself oversleep, that’s what I tell the boss. If I get a traffic violation ticket, I tell the cop that I wasn’t focusing on driving the way I should have. I believe the excuses are belittling to myself. I have too much respect for myself to let myself get into the habit of having excuses. I have found that by treating myself this way, there are times, more often than not, when fessing up has actually kept me from losing a job, getting a ticket or whatever else bad that sometimes just misses happens to me. Strange how it works out.

I’m sure there are those who are incredible people who use excuses. If you are one of these terrific beings, are you relieved when your excuse is accepted? Or are you feeling guilty and embarrassed? There isn’t any judgment here. I’m just curious.

From Me to You

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

 

15 comments on “#SoCS – Excuse

  1. authorleighmichaels
    2014/12/21

    Like you, I prefer to “fess up” when I make a mistake. Excuses don’t sit well with me, and I feel much better when I just admit to my error and move on. Thanks for participating and for the mention!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/22

      I enjoy these prompts. Luckily, I’m not required to write anything of length, which is a plus. This one was good for the season. It tended to make me think about what’s important.

      Happy Holidays! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mewhoami
    2014/12/21

    I completely agree with you. Like you, I feel as though excuses are belittling. Why try to come up with an excuse that we’ll feel guilty over? It’s so much easier and feels much better to just be straight forward. Great post for SoCS!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jacqui Murray
    2014/12/20

    Maybe it was ‘excuze’ (excuse pronounced with a Z). I feel a bit warm and fuzzy toward than one.

    Like

  4. Pavowski
    2014/12/20

    When I find myself making an excuse, I simply stop and apologize for whatever f-up I was trying to squirm out of. It makes me feel better and, I dunno, maybe I’m imagining it, but I feel like the person I stopped making excuses to appreciates it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/21

      There have been some times when I’ve been on the receiving end of the truth being told. Yes, I feel that the person who screwed up has some respect for me.

      Like

  5. summerstommy2
    2014/12/20

    I think the excuse is given to save ones skin. That’s how i see it. To escape the wrath of one hoping for that moment when your excuse fires up their vitriol is very good reason for creating a believable excuse.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/20

      I’m assuming that what you mean by skin is reputation. The only thing is, is that it usually backfires somewhere along the way.

      Wishing you Holiday Cheer! 😀

      Like

  6. SomeKernelsOfTruth
    2014/12/20

    What an interesting, thought-provoking post and use of the SoCS prompt! I like your approach with fessing up versus using an excuse. I do something similar a lot and agree it can actually help more than using an excuse would. For instance, many times I’ve told my supervisor if I’ll need more time on a project, and honestly why, or just admitting if I don’t know something but promising to look into it — yet I see so many fudge answers or hide the fact they may be struggling with a task. Why? Those approaches are actually more stressful, only delay the inevitable, and/or are often easy to see through anyway. Great post! 🙂

    Like

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2014/12/20

    Great post and informative reading.

    In high school someone called me on the carpet and said my ‘excuses’ were blah blah blah. I was so embarrassed, I never gave a ‘reason’ again. I don’t recall the exact scenario, but the mortification I felt is as fresh today as then.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/20

      I tried my last excuse when I was 12 years old trying to explain away why I got a D in Earth Science. My mom saw through it. My teacher saw through it. I ended up having to stay after school with the teacher to get up to snuff. I’ve avoided hard science ever since. Funny thing is, is that I got an A in Psychology in college. What a difference there must be between hard science and soft science. What’s the difference between the two? Hard science only has one answer. Soft science has either multiple answers or there are theories.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/12/20 by in Stream of Consciousness Saturday, writing prompt and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

