A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Bent On Seeing It Through

It’s so close to Christmas that there is a softness in the silence, that is, when you have the time to notice. I thought for a while about writing something Christmassy, but I couldn’t think of what to write. It was driving me bonkers until I relented to the fact that my brain was not going to cooperate.

I wish every one of you good cheer and tidings for the season.

Bent On Seeing It Through

Image provided by
McKay Savage @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/mckaysavage/

I wrote about the free writing course I’m currently taking a few of weeks ago, The Ugly Baby Challenge. (I still chuckle when I see this title.) The first three weeks, Holly devoted to a free online class she offers, How to Write Flash Fiction that Doesn’t Suck.

I’m still working on my five flash fiction pieces. It’s more difficult than I thought it would be. Being a pantser is what the problem is. Holly wants me to plan and plot these stories out. Although I always have a storyline of some type in mind when I start, how I get from the beginning to the end is decided as I write. I did come across a blog post though that may help me out. It showed how to write a story using seven steps. Yeah, I hear you, BIG DEAL! It looks like it’ll really work  if I opt to give it a try because I’d start out with the end, go to the beginning and then, fill in. Anyway, it’s an interesting concept to me.

In the last newsletter Holly sent, she asks one question, going into a little detail, of course.

Somewhere inside you, you WANT, you DESIRE, you YEARN— you have a huge, compelling, driving NEED to do this thing that is NOT an easy, simple, or straightforward thing. You have this mountain you must climb. And you need to know WHY. So ask yourself:
“What do I hope to get out of my writing?”

At first, all I could think of was just the pleasure of being involved in the craft. Howbeit, my thoughts drifted to the question, what if my abilities in writing flourished enough that I actually had a book published? Would my itch to write change?

Yes. I want to make my mark in this world. It would be great to be as famous as… say… Dan Brown. But I’d be happy with a few books published and a following of readers.

I like the way I feel when I’m writing. I have so many thoughts that I dearly want to express. Yet, when I open my mouth, what comes out isn’t usually really what I’m thinking. Is that a lack of self-confidence, a low self-esteem, having an introverted personality, or is it some or all of what I just mentioned? Whatever the answer is, writing takes care of the issue(s).

Now, let’s see if I can put all this into one sentence, you know, be concise. I think that’s what Holly wants for the course.

I am hoping to acquire a feeling of worth, both within myself and in my daily life from what I write and how it is received.

What do you hope to achieve through what you do to satisfy your dreams?

 

10 comments on “Bent On Seeing It Through

  1. suzjones
    2014/12/29

    I was only thinking last night that I’m not sure how I would go writing a fiction novel. There is so much to keep track of and the whole dialogue/conversation thing would drive me insane. I think I’ll stick to putting together my non-fiction work. 🙂
    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas Glynis and that your New Year is looking bright.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/29

      Thank you, Suzanne. After reading your last post, I know your Christmas was good.. and a little hectic. I wish you joy, happiness and excitement for this new year. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Travelling Macs
    2014/12/27

    I’d say you are definitely in the road to achieving your goal. I enjoy reading your material ( so it’s being received positively). I like that you write things that make me reflect on my own thought and ideals. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/27

      Wow! Thank you for the terrific compliment. It’s something totally unexpected. 😀

      Like

  3. Yes, it is hard to be that concise. My goal is very similar to yours…to have a feeling of satisfaction in sharing my life lessons I have learned through my childhood stories and of course the happiness I get in sharing my food and recipes. 🙂

    Like

  4. Mabel Kwong
    2014/12/24

    Good luck with the writing. Writing fiction is always challenging – apart from poetry that’s the kind of writing I find most difficult but very much enjoyable. I usually find creating characters and giving them a personality fairly easy. When it comes to actually describing the storyline AND infusing emotion into it, now I find that really hard. But sometimes, all of a sudden, as I’m rambling on everything clicks. Sort of like the powers that be are guiding me 🙂

    Have an enjoyable holiday season!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/24

      I hope your holiday season is wonderful, Mabel.

      Yes, I’m like you. I haven’t all that much problem with the first chapters because I’m forming characters. Then I hit the middle and the terrible struggle begins.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jacqui Murray
    2014/12/23

    Cheers! What a tremendous goal. I will have to think quite a while to put my goals in one sentence. My goal is Clancy; my talent is Thermagin.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2014/12/23

      Actually, I thought this was something most people want, although maybe not in writing.

      Happy Holidays to you and yours! ❤

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2014/12/23 by in contemplation, Ugly Baby Writing Challenge and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

