A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Beyond Perplexity

Beyond Perplexity

Image provided by
Damein Gabrielson @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/gabrielsond/

Twenty years ago, the computer wasn’t in every home yet. I knew how to use one, even had one at my desk at work, but the thought of spending that sort of money for something I would probably never use at home was unthinkable.

Back then I had a small leather notebook, and I do mean small like in one you can put in your pocket. I would go the McDonald’s four blocks away, buy a Coke (or did they just have Pepsi) and sit next to a window and write. I preferred a mechanical pencil but if I didn’t want to take time to find the lead, I’d take a cheap pen with me.

Since I’ve had a computer in my home, I rarely write in longhand. You can tell too because my penmanship has gotten raunchy. I should write longhand when doing the first rough draft of a story, if for no other reason, because there’s a psychological connection between the brain and the hand. Typing is almost as good but still, I think I’d write more of exactly what I mean instead of using words that have become so commonplace for me.

The first and second computer I’ve owned came with Microsoft Word. I got use to using this software, so when I got my third PC and it didn’t have this program, I was a little annoyed. It had another program to replace Word called Works. Despite the bells and whistles it had, it still wasn’t as good as the original.

I’m on my seventh PC now. Could I live without it? In a city, I could, but here in rural America — no, I need it if I’m ever going to get to the point where I am a published author of a book. Although publishing houses do accept manuscripts by postal mail, anymore they prefer email. In a city, I’d just write in longhand or even use a typewriter all the way to the final draft and then retype it to a computer at the library. Although this little town has a library, they have six PCs, which can be used for only one hour at a time unless no one is waiting, which is hardly ever. Anyway, I think you get the point of why I rely in my PC.

Two years ago I splurged. I bought Microsoft Office. It was over $100 (was it $119.98, $159.98) and I didn’t even get a disk. I got a card with the purchase number that I had to give to Microsoft at their site. Even then, I didn’t get to download it. I only received access to it through Microsoft.

Last year I ended up buying Windows 8.1 — on disk. To my dismay, I lost access to Office. I’ve tried to find my card that I got at Staples when I bought the program, but so far I can’t find it. I spoke to the people a Microsoft. They said my only course of action is to go back to Staples and see if they have my card on file. They said they can’t help me.

Until I can get to Staples, I’m using several of the Office applications online for free. This is beyond confusing. It’s beyond weird. Why did I pay for access when I could have access for free? The only difference I can see is that I now see my browser when using out of the apps where before I could use them on my desktop.

I started using Google Doc and Sheets too. It started out as just an experiment to see if Office apps online or Doc and Sheets had the most to use — you know, bells and whistles. So far there’s a tie between them.

Did I get gypped by Microsoft? If so, I know someone who works for them. I don’t know if he can help me but I’m going to ask him.

I downloaded OpenOffice. It’s okay, I guess — but it’s already acting up. I’m thinking about uninstalling it because of what I have online. Why should I gunk up my PC when I don’t have to and still have what I need?

When did something so simple become so complicated?

 

10 comments on “Beyond Perplexity

  1. Jacqui Murray
    2015/01/06

    I am despierately trying to move away from MS Office. It’s way too expensive, it crashes a lot, loses my work, and I don’t use much of the doodads it includes. I tried Open Office, but the features I DO use weren’t well planned on OO (wrapping around images). I am getting used to Google Docs. I think if I lost MS Office, I’d be OK by now. I can even use Google Docs to write my current mss (I’ve tested it).

    I do, though, understand your pain. Withdrawal is a b****.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/06

      Yep, Jacqui, I think you’re right about the withdrawal symptoms. I’ve gotten so use to being able to do things right on my desktop. What’s so silly is that if I could get use to the Chrome browser, I could use Google Doc on my desktop. 😛

      I uninstalled OpenOffice. The dictionary and thesaurus for it are despicable.

      Like

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/01/06

    What a lot of bother. I always hate starting over. Always out with the old and in with the new. I wonder if the ‘tinkerers’ are working to make a job. Many changes aren’t helpful.
    Change is constant these days, and faster every year. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/06

      I’m complaining about it too, Tess. Am I showing my age? 😛

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2015/01/06

        I believe it’s a sign of the times. All that tweaking and ruining the good stuff that worked. ❤

        Like

  3. Hi Glynis, I’ve heard some good things about Google docs. You’ll have to keep us updated on what your final preference is. It sure is confusing.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/06

      Sure, Susan, will be happy to keep you posted. So far there aren’t any differences except being able to have a “Word document” with Office online, if that means anything. :/

      Like

  4. Bruce Thiesen
    2015/01/06

    Grumble, grumble… Setting up new computers are always more trouble than you would guess. I just went to windows 8 three days ago and am stumbling through it.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/06

      Bruce, do you like the new Start page? I’m not sure if I do or not. The old Start list didn’t take me off my desktop, which I liked. The new way is pretty, but functional? So far, not as much as the old way.

      Like

      • Bruce Thiesen
        2015/01/07

        I have a strong preference for the old layouts. Surely, it’s because that is what I am used to. I have made peace with the fact that Microsoft doesn’t care and if I want to use this computer, it’s up to me to learn the new system. Not such a big deal in the scheme of things, so off I go to figure it out.

        Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/01/06 by in contemplation, pure nonsense, whatnot about writing and tagged , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

