A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

#IWSG – First Wednesday’s Fusser

#IWSG - First Wednesday's Fussings

TRYING TO KEEP MY DUCKS IN A ROW
Image provided by
MarieJohn EmersonHarp @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/murasaki0001x/

I really am baffled these days. Yesterday I published a post about how writing software and the Windows 8.1 are so screwy. Yesterday afternoon I was reading a post written by Jami Gold about being organized. I’ve been trying to be organized ever since I married Hubby — to no avail.

Being a writer is difficult enough. This is the one activity I have come back to time and time again since I learned how to write full sentences. (I loved first grade.) The words fall onto the paper/ screen a little faster than they did so long ago, but it’s still a struggle even when it appears that the words are flowing like a river — well, with me, it’s never gotten past flowing like a small stream. Yet, because I love doing it for some unexplained reason, I keep trudging along.

Hubby doesn’t share this love with me. He used to way back when he was in high school, before I knew him. He showed me some of his poems — good stuff. Somewhere along the way he lost his interest in it. Now he doesn’t have a clue as to what is needed for a writer to do his or her best at this craft. Moreover, he turns a deaf ear to what I ask of him concerning my writing. He doesn’t do it maliciously. He just cannot understand how important this activity is to me.

What does this have to do with being organized, you ask. I did so well with my entire life when I had a set schedule 24/7. I can fill all the slots of time with worthwhile activities, and that included R&R. Trying to find a schedule that will work everyday while living with Hubby has, so far, been an impossibility. He’s one of those people who do things at the last minute, never thinking about any unforeseen setbacks. Because of this way of life, he ends up spending more time and money doing things that actually should have already been done.

Be that as it may, I do have 8 hours during the workweek that are exclusively mine. I get housework done, read blogs, answer email, send email, read chapters in books, and yes, I do get a little writing in there. Nevertheless, I also get phone calls. I really despise the phone. No matter what ringtone I have, where I have the contraption in my home, or how important the call may be, I hate the phone. When PCs had to be on dialup to be online, I was in heaven. No one could reach me by phone. (I didn’t have a cell phone.) Unfortunately, I was in a phase of doing web graphic then, so of course, I wasn’t spending that time writing.

Are you going to tell me to unplug my phone? That really isn’t a good idea. I’ll have everyone at my door wondering if I’m dead. The beauty of the dialup was everyone thought I was fine and was just having a long conversation with someone.

What this all boils down to is I’m having a hell of a time trying to find a schedule that will allow me at least two hours of uninterrupted time of writing every day. With this problem though, is another one that is purely mine. I did have a time set up for these five days of eight-hour solitude. But then I lost my writing momentum. I won’t call it a block because that isn’t the right word. I could find things to write about, just not what I had intended to write. I believe this is called a lack of discipline, an unwillingness to break down the barrier between my obstacle and my goal.

The past few days and today I’ve been having some minor digestive problems. No, I do not have the flu. Anyway, I’ve been using home remedies and sleeping to fight this germ off. In the process I’ve discovered that I needed the sleep anyway. Now my gumption to write seems to be back.

I can only hope I can keep this going. Does anyone out there have some creative ideas that will help me with scheduling and discipline?

Are you a writer looking for support? Join Alex’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

 

11 comments on “#IWSG – First Wednesday’s Fusser

  1. fingerprintwriting
    2015/01/08

    Lack of discipline? No. I think you just have lulls in your writing. About the phone, tell your callers when you are available and let them know you expect them to honor your the period when you are not available to their calls.

    Like

  2. Jami Gold
    2015/01/07

    Thanks for the shout out to my post, Glynis! I wish I had some advice for you, but as I mentioned in my post, I struggle too. :/

    As for you and your hubby, have you each taken the Myers-Briggs personality test I wrote about last week? I’d bet you two have some strong differences in results, and understanding those differences might help you each see the other’s perspective. Just a thought. 🙂 Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/07

      I don’t mind giving worthy plugs at all, Jami.

      I’ve taken the test before. Yes, Hubby and I are different in a lot of ways. Opposites attract, you know. I just need to figure out how to work with the idiosyncrasies better. 🙂

      Like

      • Jami Gold
        2015/01/07

        LOL! I hear you. 🙂 My family has the introvert vs. extrovert thing going on…

        Like

  3. Hi Glynis, how about a voicemail message that says if you are reaching me between the hours of 8 and 10 a.m. I am unavailable but will get back to you soon, and then set your cell to do not disturb for those hours every day? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/07

      My cell phone isn’t the problem. It’s my landline. Although, now that we’ve switched phone companies, I wonder if I can set up a voicemail message saying something like that. Hmm… I’ll look into it. Thanks, Susan. 😀

      Like

  4. Jacqui Murray
    2015/01/07

    I have to say, you’ve covered an awful lot of what I’d come up with. I couldn’t write when my kids were home–nothing worked. Saying I needed two hours to myself, well, never outlasted the kids need for ‘whatever’. I still drop everything when they call for help (they’re in DC and TX now to my CA, but they still call–I’m blessed).

    Husby has such faith in me and my writing, he doesn’t bother me. He does all sorts of household chores so I can write. Again, I’m blessed. This, of course, doesn’t make me a better writer, merely gives me the time. Don’t know what to do about the skill part.

    Great post. I found myself wanting to chat with you at any number of spots as I was reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/07

      I wonder if there’s a way that my husband can meet your husband. To have utter peace and quiet in the room where my PC is would do the trick.

      Like

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/01/07

    Why a fabulous post! Glynis, the only solution is really to the point: Butt in seat and write. 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/01/07

      Since starting The Ugly Baby Challenge course, I’ve been trying to figure out how to get my butt in the chair easier. I need a calendar on the wall right above my PC screen. Next job to get done before the week ends is to create the calendar and print it out. 🙂

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/01/07 by in Insecure Writer's Support Group, whatnot about writing and tagged , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

