A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

#IWSG – Raging Mad

I always have to make sure that I have the hash tag right for the first Wednesday of each month — Insecure Writer’s Support Group. Once each month, Alex J. Cavanaugh, the founder of the group, gives his readers the opportunity to get feedback on their rants and woes about writing. It helps clear the mind so that writers can focus more on what they want to do, write. The event is held the first Wednesday of each month. If you think you’d benefit from a site like this, go join up using the link just above.

Raging Mad

Image provided by
Agata @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/eggii/

I would have made the title Raving Mad, but that would indicate that I’m crazy. Although this may be true, this post is about being angry.

I’m raging mad at myself. I’ve let things get in the way. I’ve let myself be distracted. I haven’t put in 100% to my writing. And I hate admitting it. I hate this feeling and want so much to get rid of it.

Sure, the answer is easy. Just stop letting these things happen. It’s a little easier said than done. It’s like trying to go on a diet. Your motivation is there. You have a plan you feel confident with. You have your support. Yet, you find yourself having those cookies or potato chips. You try again. You may get further with your goal, but there’s that day from hell and you must have that candy bar. Believe me, getting into a regular routine of writing is the same.

I’m still plodding along, but I’m not making the progress that I know I can reach. I feel like whipping my own back until it bleeds so I’ll learn to stick to my plan. No, I won’t do that, but there are days when it get tempting.

Sure, I could give you some really good excuses  for letting myself be inattentive to my writing habits. But that’s all they are, excuses. I say I can’t find a time to write when I won’t be bothered. Maybe during the course of normal hours this is true, but how about all those other hours. I’m a housewife. I could stay up late or get up early to write. I’ve been having some digestive problems. This isn’t a reason not to write. It’s a reason to watch what food I’m putting in my body and, maybe, going to the doctor.

There could be an underlying problem that is making me behave this way, although it still is an excuse. Lately I’ve been hating everything I write. I am a boring writer. Everything I write is boring. All this means though is that I need to focus more, stop being in a big fat hurry while I’m writing, and stop being so meticulous about stupid sentence structure.

Now that I’ve typed this out, maybe I’ll get my butt in gear.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

12 comments on “#IWSG – Raging Mad

  1. No self flagellation allowed, Glynis. I know how you feel about trying to work with constant interruptions. When you find a way to not be bothered during the day so you can write, let me know the trick. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/05

      Writing after Hubby goes to bed is working so far except I’m only getting 1 1/2 hours of writing in instead of 2 1/2 hours. Still, it’s better than 15 minutes or none at all. Next week things may be settling down again, which will be a big help. 🙂

      Like

  2. Cat
    2015/02/04

    I can hear… feel… that frustration, Glynis… now that doesn’t seem like a boring writer to me. I think self-criticism is good but it’s better when we learn from it rather than use it to whip our backs. Hope you feel a bit better

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/04

      Cat, you are sweet. I’m boring, believe me. I can’t imagine anyone reading a whole novel that I would write. I need more practice and training in all areas of the craft.

      Despite all the negativeness poured out in this post, because of readers like you and the others who have commented, I do feel encouraged and am willing to go back into battle. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cat
        2015/02/05

        I suffer from the same fear of boring people. When we write, read, edit, read…. there’s always a danger of over editing and because our brain is numb in the process, I think the piece of writing can sound boring to us. Maybe what makes a good writer is the self-criticism, but try not to beat yourself up with it 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/02/04

    I hear you, Glynis. I follow a similar plan to Jacqui’s. I give the place a quick pickup when family are coming for dinner. However, I do not a.c.c.o.m.p.l.i.s.h. as much as I should or could. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/04

      Because I come from a family of neat freaks, I’m certain that I could focus better on my writing if I’d just get my house in order. (a perfectionist trait?)

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2015/02/04

        I did a lot of that, believe me. Retirement gave me a different perspective. I used to embarrass myself picking a thread off the carpet while entertaining company. That was then. This is now. I’d rather concentrate on me now…and my kitties. 😀 Yes, of course my family as well, but they can take care of my grand kids. They’re grown ups now. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/02/04

          I know that my home will never be that clean again. There’s Hubby, you know. Still, the clutter and trash MUST go. 😛

          Liked by 1 person

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            2015/02/04

            Life changes in all manner, doesn’t it. I learned it’s no use beating myself up about it. Make time, Glynis. Cut corners. You don’t have to have a messy house to do it, just make some adjustments you’re comfortable with to get to the work. ❤ ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqui Murray
    2015/02/04

    I’m going through the ‘I’m boring’ also. I just rewrote the entire beginning of my book, which I thought was perfect until it wasn’t. Yikes!

    BTW, the way I got time for my writing was having my husband take over the cleaning, laundry, food prep, yard work–you get the idea. All I do is write and that sort of stuff. He’s an angel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/04

      Jacqui, my husband and cleaning? You must be kidding! I was raised in a house of neat freaks. All of us, including my father, knew where the trash can was, where the laundry hamper was, folded our own laundry, and had cleaning chores around the house. My mother didn’t want my brother or I cooking meals though. I don’t know why. However, my father cooked meals and he wasn’t bad at it. My husband isn’t like anything during my upbringing. That is except for he is a better cook than I am. He doesn’t know what cleaning up the kitchen is though. :/

      Despite his messiness, he is a dear and I love him forever. ❤

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/02/04 by in Insecure Writer's Support Group and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

