A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

The Chill of the Morning – part 3

Sorry I’m a little late with this post. Even though Hubby and I don’t have any children at home anymore, we contracted strip throat somehow. I barely have it, but Hubby is suffering. I had the post all ready to go for scheduling last night, and just forgot to do it. My guess is I was just sick enough to allow my brain to go on vacation.

Did you miss part one and/or two?

part one | part two

The Chill of the Morning - part 3

Image provided by
Kerem Tapani @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/keremtapani/

The next morning I was walking to my car when I noticed that the same vehicle was still parked in Thomas’ driveway. Very strange to say the least. I went on to work filing what I saw in the back of my thoughts.

When I got back home in the late afternoon, the vehicle was gone. I was completely confused by that time and so much wanted to ask Vickie what was going on. However, I knew all too well that it wasn’t any of my business.

After changing into jeans and a sweatshirt, I sat down with a mug of coffee and read the newspaper. Halfway through the second article, there was a knock at my door. When I opened it, there was Bob Turner. “Hi, Detective. What can I do for you?”

“If you don’t mind, can I come in and ask you a few more questions?”

“Sure. Of course.”

He looked frozen. I got him a cup of coffee and we sat at the kitchen table.

“Did you see the Jeep parked at the Thomas house last night?” Bob asked before taking a swig of his coffee.

“Yes, I did. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing really. I was in my bedroom when I heard it. I looked out and there it was in their driveway. Did they rob the place again?” That was the only thing I could think of that could have happened.

“Ms. Croft, how close of friends are you to the Thomas’?”

“Vickie and I have coffee at each other’s house occasionally. I don’t really know Hugh. Why?”

“Do you know Vickie’s brother?”

“No, I didn’t know she had one.”

Turner took another swig before continuing. “The Jeep belongs to him. So you can’t vouch for him?”

“No. Like I said, I didn’t know that Vickie had a brother.”

“Just making sure,” Turner said. “I’ll get out of your hair now. Thank you for the coffee and the cooperation.”

When Turner left, I was more than a little mystified. Were the problems Vickie and Hugh worse than what Vickie hinted at? Did Vickie’s brother steal something from them? Does Vickie’s brother even own that Jeep? Am I coming to conclusions that don’t exist? My curiosity was sending my brain in all sorts of directions. I might just crash and burn.

The next morning I tiptoed on the cold cement of my front walk to retrieve the newspaper. After shutting the door behind me, I laid the paper out on the kitchen table with my coffee and toast. World crises were on the first and second pages. There on the third page was a picture of the Jeep parked in the Thomas’ driveway. I read the article underneath with bated breath.

The Thomas house had been robbed — by their nephew and his girlfriend. It still wasn’t known what their motive was, but both were waiting in jail for their hearing.

I had a theory as to how it all happened, which would explain the Jeep’s coming and goings. However, that’s all it is, a theory.

Moral to the story:

You can pick your friends. You can pick your nose. But you can’t pick your relatives.

 

12 comments on “The Chill of the Morning – part 3

  1. suzjones
    2015/03/14

    Well I am so far behind on reading blog posts that it’s not even funny these days so only just seeing this one. I do hope you’re feeling much better now. 🙂

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/03/14

      I’m better, thanks. 🙂 Sometimes life is way too full. Don’t feel obligated to read and comment on all I write. If it looks interesting, give it a peek. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cat
    2015/02/25

    I like this story and what a moral… love it!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/26

      The moral isn’t mine. It’s a quote (unknown author) from the 1960s.

      So glad you liked the story. 🙂

      Like

      • Cat
        2015/02/26

        It fits well with your story. Hope you’re well 😉

        Like

  3. It was a great story. You just never know these days, do you. It pays to know your neighbors and all that is going on at times. Even so, I don’t think that would have matter much in this instance.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/26

      I know very little about my neighbors, which is the exact opposite of what I grew up with. I seemed to know what was going on in every house on my street block.

      Like

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/02/20

    “You can pick your nose. But you can’t pick your relatives.”
    This had me killing myself laughing. A little humor is always good, but I wonder what the theory is? 😮

    Like

  5. Jacqui Murray
    2015/02/20

    Great story. That’s one of those circumstances where you wish you’d been a better neighbor, but know there’s no way you could have known it was necessary.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/02/20

      My next-door neighbor was having some problems (not marriage ones though). Although Hubby and I couldn’t really do anything to relief things, they did have us to talk to. We had been through similar times so I think we helped them stay calm through it.

      Glad you liked the story, Jacqui. I didn’t feel so frantic about this one.

      Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/02/20 by in flash scenes & short stories and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

