A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Exercise to Death – part 2

If you didn’t read part 1, you can find it here.

Exercise to Death

Image provided by
Michael Coghlan @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/mikecogh/

After the cops and the coroner had left, and the ambulance had taken the body to the morgue,  Lillian and the man stood on his driveway looking abashed at each other.

“What do you…?”

“What do you…?” the man asked interrupting Lillian.

Both laughed nervously.

The man began again. “What do you think happened here? I mean, I’ve never seen that young man before. Have you?”

“Well, we know he was shot but hell knows what for. I’ve never seen him before either. By the way, if you didn’t hear the one cop before, my name is Lillian Crow. I live over on Elm Street.”

The man just stood there looking like he was deep in thought about something. Do I ask him who he is or do I just walk away? Lillian cleared her throat audibly. Still, the man didn’t respond. “Umm… Sir, did you hear me?”

He stood there another moment in silence and then said,”Sorry, I was trying to size up this situation. My name is Kurt Marshall. I have this uncanny ability to tune out people but still take in what they’re saying. Are you new in this subdivision?”

Lillian tried to hold in her laugh. “No,” she said as the chuckle came to her throat. “My friend and I were just talking about that word this morning.” Her chortle broke free.

“Obviously, there’s a private joke in this somewhere.” Kurt said.

“I’m sorry. My friend and I were trying to figure out why this is call a subdivision instead of a neighborhood. I just find it ironic that the word has come up twice in one day when it isn’t a word that’s used all that often.”

She changed the subject back to the current situation. “The cop who interviewed me said he might have more questions for me later and that I should be ready to go to the station. If they think I did this, they’re totally mistaken.”

“I was told the same thing, uhmm… Lillian, right?” Lillian nodded and he continued. “You would think that they would know that the person who calls 911 is not the criminal. I wonder what else he would want to talk to you about?”

Now you have me wondering if you’re the killer. And one who isn’t all that cunning either. “Well, I better get back home. I have some work to do,” she said inching away backward.

“I can con you until a cup of coffee?” He inched forward with her.

She began to turn around to make her getaway. “No, my boss is expecting me to get some proposals written. Thanks anyway.” She began a trot down the street. She looked back to see if he was following. Kurt had stopped at the edge of his front yard wearing a scowl on his face.

Lillian kept her jogging pace all the way home. That guy is way too creepy. Watch, it’ll turn out that I was chatting with the person who killed that young man. Eeww, frightening! She shivered at the thought as she unlocked her backdoor. During the next hour she got a proposal done and sent out. Getting her next assignment printed out so she could have it in front of her as she worked, her phone rang. It was Officer Reynolds asking her to go to the station for another interview.

“Good, I can tell him how Kurt Marshall made me feel,” she mumbles.

Once in the interrogation room she sighed as the tension escaped from her. Reynolds eyebrows raised. “Are you feeling all right, Ms. Crow?”

“Oh! Yes, I’m fine. What questions did you have for me?” she asked placing both hands folded on the table.

“So, you didn’t know the victim?” Lillian nodded. “And you’ve never seen him before?”

“Nope, never have.”

“How well do you know Mr. Marshall?”

Lillian sat forward a little. “We didn’t know each other until today, Officer. If fact, I didn’t know his name until just after you left. He’s kind of strange.”

Reynolds prepares himself to start writing on the legal pad in front of him. “What do you mean?”

“At first he acted as if he was in La La land when I was talking to him. Then he tells me he has an ability to somehow ignore people but, at the same time, be able to take in what they’re saying — or something like that. Then… he asked me in for coffee. When I told him no, he tries to persuade me into changing my mind. When I say no again and start walking away, he acted like he was going to come after me. He didn’t, obviously, but he was definitely disturbing.”

During all the time she talked, he was writing. Once she sat back, leaning her back against the back of the chair he said, “Ms. Crow, I suggest you go walking in one of the popular parks for a while until we can check out the crime and Mr. Marshall more thoroughly.”

“Do you think he’s the killer?” She was on the edge of her seat again.

“We don’t know anything yet. I’ll call you when we do know, okay?” Reynolds stood and held the door open for her.

I guess the interview is over.

Part 3 is here.

16 comments on “Exercise to Death – part 2

  1. Pingback: Exercise to Death – part 3 | A Scripted Maze

  2. Pingback: Exercise to Death – part 4 | A Scripted Maze

  3. Pingback: Exercise to Death – part 4 | Speculations Impressed

  4. Kate Loveton
    2015/04/11

    Oh my! Well, she certainly set up Marshall, didn’t she? The guy might just be a little eccentric, but she’s definitely now made him a person of interest to the cops. Is Lillian right about Marshall or just a little too jittery (and mouthy?)? I can’t wait to find out! On to the next installment!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Exercise to Death – part 3 | Speculations Impressed

  6. Pingback: Exercise to Death | Speculations Impressed

  7. I look forward to next week’s installment, Glynis. 🙂

    Like

  8. Dan Antion
    2015/04/01

    Hmm, thi sis getting interesting Glynis. However, if I were that woman, walking a park for a while would not be an option. Just sayin.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/01

      You don’t think a popular park full of other walkers wouldn’t be safer? Well, not a lot safer, but at least there’s other people around, which makes the threat a little less. Right?

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/04/01

    I expect this Marshall guy knows something though he’s acting odd. You have my full attention, Glynis. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/04/01 by in flash scenes & short stories and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

