A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Weekly Recap 4/11

Image provided by frankbehrens @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/frankbehrens/

Image provided by
frankbehrens @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/frankbehrens/

I thought I was being more productive this last week. With the weather getting warmer, there are things that need to be done in preparation for the hot days to follow. And I don’t want these tasks to override what I’ve been trying to do for so long. It’s a balancing act that I can’t quite get use to.

My Recap

  • Even though we have air conditioning in our home, we also have ceiling fans and those regular fans that will sit on a table. I got all of them clean — 6 in all –so that we’re not throwing dust, dirt, and kitty fur every place. By using the fans, we’ll be saving some money even when using the a/c.
  • My WIP is coming along, although I didn’t reach my goal again. Word count: 6804, Hours: 7. Part of the problem this last week was that while I’d be typing, all of a sudden, I would get too warm and my concentration would lag. No, it wasn’t hot flashes. I’ve already been through that. I still can figure out what was causing that. That wasn’t the only thing stopping me either. The other thing was indecisiveness. Sometimes I need to push myself into writing what is coming from my pea-sized brain instead of trying to write what I think will look and read well. After all, this is the 1st draft.
  • I’m still fighting with myself about when I write. Logic tells me that I don’t have to worry about Hubby and what he’s doing when I write. I should be able to write even if he’s in the room on his PC playing games or reading email. Nonetheless, because I am a lefty and therefore a right-brain thinking, plus the fact that the stroke I had so long ago forces me to use my right-brain more because the left side is damaged, my emotions tell me to worry about Hubby looking over my shoulder, worry about him interrupting me, and wondering if I should set my alarm for 3am to write. Writing in the wee hours of the morning is not going to help, believe me on this one. I just must get pass all these worries of the “what if” mode.
  • Hubby still can’t go back to work yet, but he’s steadily doing more around the home. He got on his riding lawnmower 2 days ago and got most of the grass cut. He couldn’t move the large branches that fell in the ice storm so that part of the yard wasn’t done; and he didn’t attempt to do the ditch in the front yard. Still, our place doesn’t look so much like a dump now.
  • I did get more housework done like I promised myself last Saturday. The only thing I haven’t done yet this week is the vacuuming, which will be done this afternoon while Hubby goes to chitchat with his mom.
  • {{Drum Roll}} Hubby and I are grandparents (2nd time). Our daughter went into labor Thursday night. The baby boy was born just as the sun was coming up yesterday morning.

All in all, the week was okay. I just wish I could get pass this stupid worry circle I have with my writing. One way or another, I’m going to push through it.

Next Week’s Plans

  • Keep up the household chores and get more efficient about it.
  • I’m going to leave my word count goal at 8000. Maybe that will stop my subconscience from starting the worry game. I am going to shoot for 8 hours of writing though. It’s only 45 minutes more.
  • I want to straighten up and clean up the car port. We don’t use it for the car. It’s where I sit to get my wits about me during the warm months and where Hubby makes strange cat posts that he sells in his mom’s neighborhood.
  • I keep on thinking about keeping a personal journal in a regular notebook or spiral. I have oodles of spirals too. Maybe do that instead of the one hour nap I take most days. 😳

That does it for this week’s rehash. If you have suggestions on how I can stop the worry bit, please “speak up”.

18 comments on “Weekly Recap 4/11

  1. Cat
    2015/04/14

    Congratulations on your new grandson, Glynis, that’s lovely news. Hope mum is okay.

    Sounds like you’ve had a fairly productive week, both cleaning and writing. What temps do you get over summer? I know someone who had winter hot flushes and it was thyroid related.

    I couldn’t write with someone floating around. Is there a room you can go but bar hubby from while writing? Hope he continues to make a speedy recovery 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/15

      Thanks for the warm wishes, Cat.

      Hubby goes back to work at the end of this month or the beginning of next month. I’ll have 8 hours of quiet. 😀

      Like

  2. fingerprintwriting
    2015/04/13

    Congrats on the new grandson! Best wishes to your daughter and family.
    I think you’re not giving yourself enough credit for all your writing. You deserve several pats on your back for all you’ve acdomplished. If you are not a morning person, don’t set to aside alarm clock too early. No, no, don’t give up your nap if it doesn’t impact your sleep at night. Naps are so refreshing! Take it easy with the chores…the vacuuming can wait:)
    Have a fabulous week, Glynis!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/14

      Thank you for the warm wishes.

      As I told Shelley (just below you here), I’ve decided 400 words per day or there about is good. I won’t be making the progress I was hoping for, but I’ll be okay with this. The nap? I don’t plan on giving that up. It gives me time for writing after Hubby hits the hay. 😉

      Like

  3. peakperspective
    2015/04/13

    What a wonderfully exciting day for you, Glynis! Congratulations on the newest member of your family. I hope the baby will bring you all many many years of beautiful memories.
    And also, congrats on making another massive chunk of writing happen this week. I still think you’re underestimating the amount of effort it takes to write as many words in a week as you are. It’s a spectacular accomplishment–even if you only end up keeping half of them. Celebrate that.
    And maybe consider moving your computer? If you need more seclusion, it might be worth the thought, or encouraging your husband to work on a cat post in the garage while you write.
    And DON’T give up the nap! Ever. 🙂
    Lastly, many thanks for the lovely words you left on my post today. Yes, it was my daughters need to bake–not mine–that brought her out of that worrisome state of sorrow. Regardless, I so appreciate all your thoughts, as I always do. Cheers

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/14

      Thank you for the good wishes, Shelley.

      I’m learning not to expect so much out of a day’s work on my WIP. I’ve come to the conclusion that about 400 words per day should be enough, plus only expecting this during the work week.

      Because the Detroit Tigers are doing so well in the baseball scene, Hubby is watching more TV giving me some good writing time. I just can’t have the same schedule every day. I have to go according to the Tigers right now. 😛

      The baking idea is such a good one. Now that my daughter has had her baby, I’ll need to tell her about this to fight the postpregnancy blues.

      Like

  4. April
    2015/04/12

    Happy news! I can only imagine what it must be like to have a grandchild. I’m not a writer, but if I was I would write like I blog. Not the topics I write about, I would make up characters and actually tell a story. When I blog, I let whatever is in my mind just flow out. Then I go back and ask myself what can I get rid of? What is redundant? Did I explain myself clearly? Go with the flow, Glynis. Don’t force it, let your creative mind have some fun. I know you can do it. 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/13

      Yes, very happy news. Thanks.

      So far, I’m able to get my butt in the seat and write. I’m not able to stick to a schedule yet, but that will come when Hubby returns to work. I am learning to let go of the stress I’ve been feeling when I write with him being in my mist. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mabel Kwong
    2015/04/12

    Congrats on the new addition to the family. What great news and hope you get to play with him soon. I’m not a huge fan of vacuuming, to be honest. The vacuum cleaner I have at home makes very loud noises, but since my room is carpeted, that’s the only way I can clean it.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/12

      Thank you, Mabel.

      I’m gathering that you’d rather have hardwood floors. If my balance wasn’t off, I would probably like them too. As it is though, I prefer the carpet.

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong
        2015/04/14

        You are spot on. Hardwood floors is my preference over carpets and marble tiles. Easier to clean the dust off them too. Carpet is more pleasant on the foot in winter, I must admit.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Jacqui Murray
    2015/04/11

    Another great week. Love hearing how productive you are, even when you don’t think so. Hope hubby is feeling better and better.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/12

      Hubby’s mood is getting better now. A sure sign that his mending is going well..

      Like

  7. Jill Weatherholt
    2015/04/11

    Congratulations! A second grandchild, such a blessing. 🙂 Thanks for the reminder…our ceiling fans need to be cleaned. Have a great week!

    Like

  8. winterbayne
    2015/04/11

    Congrats on the new grand baby 🙂

    Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/04/11 by in pure nonsense and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

M. B. Weston's Official Website

The Latest News on Author M. B. Weston

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Kismet

Inspiration, Invigoration and Insight

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

Andrew's View of the Week

Andrew's view of the world in poetry, prose, and picture

