A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Weekly Recap 4/18

Weekly Recap 4/18

Image provided by
Mike Licht @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/notionscapital/

I didn’t sleep well last night. It took me until after 3:30am to hit La La Land. I was having troubles getting my eyes to focus this morning. Do many writers have sleeping problems?

My Recap

  • Hubby will be back to work on 4/28. At least that’s the way it looks so far. He’s still taking it easy until then. I don’t know how he stands it. I’d be pushing the envelope if it was me. But then, I’m anything but easy-going.
  • The WIP is showing promise now. Just one more chapter and I’ll be in the middle section of the story. Word Count: 8020, Hours: 6.3. I didn’t work quite as hard or as long this last week. I did make my mark on words but sorely lacked in time. I wonder if the writing is as good. I am, however, starting to get the hang of working on my WIP with Hubby in the room. He’s beginning to realize that when I have the Live Writer or the yWriter out on my desktop, it’s a good idea to remain quiet. It’s still a hit-and-miss sometimes, but I’m learning that Hubby does want to cooperate. He just needs a little help with it.
  • We went window shopping for a generator. Why? So there isn’t a repeat of what happened during the ice storm last month. Besides, this is something we should have considered when we first moved here from Michigan.
  • I’m getting better with the housework. I still need to improve my efficiency though. Once Hubby is working, I’ll probably be doing much better at this (8 hours of quite).

I need to incorporate some mild physical exercise now. I have a stationary bicycle, and I can always do mat exercises. I wish I could walk a couple of miles each day but my mobility issues just aren’t going to let me. Such is life. Hopefully I’ll be getting this into my daily routine soon.

Next Week’s Plan

  • I’ll be shooting for 10,000 words and 8 hours for my WIP. Now that I’ll be getting into some of the juicy parts of the story, it may go easier. At least, that’s what I’m hoping.
  • I want so badly to get the carport straightened out and cleaned. I didn’t get to it last week and it’s tormenting me. The warmer weather is here and I have no place to sit outside. I must rectify this.
  • I have yet to start a personal journal. This makes me wonder what is lurking in this brain of mine that I want to hide. When I can be alone to write in it is a little sticky but I think I’ve figured that out. I just need to get past the hesitation.

If you have any suggestions for how I can improve my productivity, please write volumes below.

24 comments on “Weekly Recap 4/18

  1. April
    2015/05/01

    The only way I can tell you to be more productive is to be patient until the hubby goes back to work. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/02

      I’m trying to be patient, but it’s wearing thin. Hubby’s the type who hangs back a little, where I’m the type who’s like the bull in the china shop. I don’t understand why he isn’t pressing for the background check to be over with. I’d be asking about it every 2 days.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. fingerprintwriting
    2015/04/20

    I have trouble sleeping many nights, Glynis. I think it’s a nationwide epidemic.
    I see lots of progress in your recap. Best wishes with the exercise. Take your time with the chores, they won’t ever go away.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/21

      You may be right about the sleeping problem. I hear so many say they aren’t sleep well these days.

      I know if I don’t get the chores done, they’ll still be there for me to do later. 😉 Still, some pile up, and there’s the problem of me trying to work in a mess — I don’t do that very well. :/

      Like

  3. peakperspective
    2015/04/19

    Sleep and writer are usually two words that don’t harmonize well together in one sentence. Our minds refuse to shut down. Plot lines twist and braid themselves together, characters form and chat and argue. It’s an endless labor of love, but it does little to contribute to good solid brain function the next day.
    And as far as churning out a lot and consistently? The only answer I’m aware of is ‘every day butt in chair.’ 1000 words a day becomes a breeze after you’ve done it 100 days in a row.
    Keep chugging, Glynis.
    And do get out to smell the roses. Spring might be quite inspirational.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/20

      It’ll be nice when I can get in 1000 words each day. I’ll do the minimum of 400 for a while and then start increasing. As for the roses — we have some lining the edge of our deck. Just have to wait for them to start blooming.

      Like

  4. Cat
    2015/04/19

    When I am half way through writing something and plan to finish it the next day, I can have problems sleeping. Now, I discipline myself to turn off the PC at 9pm, no matter what I’m doing. Occasionally that will spill over to 10pm. I watch a little mindless telly for an hour and read in bed. This regime seems to help.

    I think you’re making excellent progress, Glynis. I wouldn’t be able to keep up with blogging, writing and housekeeping stuff. I can get a little pernickety with spelling and grammatical errors, but I suppose the most important thing at this stage is to get it down on paper. You can always go back and rewrite parts if necessary. What is live writer?

    Sounds like hubby is learning to recognise your quiet times. It must be difficult to appreciate if you’re not a writer… roll on 28th 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/19

      I don’t do very much with my blog during the workweek. That’s more of my WIP time. I try to get the Wednesday post done by Sunday night. The recap is off the cuff.

      Pernickety! A great word. I am too. Because I use the PC for writing, checking spelling isn’t a problem. As for grammar, I was an ‘A’ student in English. This doesn’t mean my grammar is excellent, or even just good. However, it is adequate. And as you stated, anything I miss I’ll correct later. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda
    2015/04/18

    I don’t do that well at journaling either. I know that I usually sort things out when writing that I didn’t even know needed sorting. Not that I spend my spare time doing exercises either! Hope your life gets a lot more “productive” soon.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/18

      I was so surprised when I saw that you had left a comment on my blog. It’s been ages since we’ve been in touch. Is it getting warmer up north yet?

      I let myself get lazy for too long. I originally thought I’d have a job. As you’re quite aware, it’s more than difficult to find a job when disability gets into it. Until just this last February, I was blogging and doing housework. Now I’ve entered the world of writing seriously. It’s tough but I love it. 😛

      Like

  6. All that’s sounds like great progress to me. Good luck with word count and exercise goals, I’m rooting for you on those for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jacqui Murray
    2015/04/18

    I want a generator. Each time we stomp our feet and decide to do it, we pushed back by the prices. Let me know if you find one that’s affordble.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/18

      What do you mean by ‘affordable’? Is there such a thing? Hubby and I have been handed luck. My mom want to buy the generator for us. So far, we’ve only looked at Lowe’s. The one we’d need costs $700. However, Hubby gets a military discount there. Also, we’re going to see what the price is at the tractor stores around here too.

      Like

  8. Jill Weatherholt
    2015/04/18

    You’re making great progress, Glynis!
    I don’t have trouble falling asleep, but once I wake up…usually around 2:00 am or so, I have a hard time going back to sleep.
    I journal, but at the beginning of the year, I started a happiness journal. Since January 1st, I’ve been able to record at least one thing each day, that I’m happy about.

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/18

      I guess I’m stranger than most because I naturally look for the things good in a day. I seem to be the same as everyone else otherwise though. I can complain with the best. With all this said however, when I was growing up, my mom made sure that my brother and I knew that there weren’t any “bad” days, just “bad” moments.

      Like

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/04/18

    Good for you, Glynis! You’re making great progress. ❤ ❤

    I'm back to my journal about a month ago. If I leave the file open while I'm working on something else, sometimes I'll add things I want to remember. It's a perfect place to stash things to remember along with my daily thoughts. Once in a while I'll highlight a particular line I want to stand out so I can find it quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/04/18

      Most of the time when I’m writing, it’s actually typing at the keyboard of the PC. I use OneNote for things I want to remember and even have things organized into categories in the program. Although I have pens, pencils, and little spirals at my PC desk, I rarely use them, and opt for just the Microsoft Notepad if I don’t use OneNote. I guess this means I’ve been suckered in by technology. o_O

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2015/04/19

        I suppose ALL of us are. If there’s an easier way…
        How do y.o.u. journal?

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/04/19

          I did have a private blog here I was using but I knew that it wasn’t completely private. The staff of WP could get into it at any time. I recently found a diary app for Windows 8.1 (which I have right now). It does feel a little more private than the WP blog. :/

          Like

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            2015/04/19

            I had no idea about the app. I just opened a Word doc, gave it a header: My Journal 2015 on the left and my name in the right corner. Added a footer for page numbers and I’m done.
            I just Googled Word Journal templates as well. They have lovely pages you can print and hand write on as they are lined and have some nice watermarks. What’s your page like?

            Like

            • Glynis Jolly
              2015/04/20

              The page is just ordinary but is translucent to the background behind it that’s just a long shot picture of a large beach. There’s a place for a header and the entry is automatically stamped at the bottom with the date and time.

              I’d be tempted to use the Word templates for stationery because of the lines. My mom loves to receive letters in the mail. She isn’t going to be around forever so why not treat her a little? 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/04/18 by in pure nonsense and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

