A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Weekly Recap 5/23

For the first time in months, my week didn’t drag. Chances are it’s all because I have a schedule to keep up with, and by doing this weekly review, I’m feeling more obligated to myself. I still have plenty of time to lollygag, but even that is scheduled for certain times.

This Last Week

  • I was on the stationary bike three times. Yay! The first time my legs felt tired afterward, but after that I started feeling a little energized after the ride.
  • Hubby is back to his job. Except for the retesting in July to make sure he knows about the medications the guys take, he’s done with the retraining. Monday through Thursday he works a nine-hour shift. On Fridays he works four hours.
  • WIP: I have one more character to introduce in the story and she isn’t a major one. Although I’ve been writing the development sheets for all of the major characters, only one is adequate, none are really complete. I think I’ll work on that this weekend while Hubby is over at his mom’s. Word count: 20,042, Hours: 10.25 YAY!
  • This personal journal thing is a vexation. I know it shouldn’t be, and I certainly don’t want it to be. I have things bouncing around in my head that I really do want to leave somewhere else — like a personal journal. I wrote in it twice all week. Disgraceful! :/ With that said, however, I didn’t do as much complaining in it. Instead, I just discussed what was going on during my days.
  • I took a little time to sit outside and just watch the world go by. I’m going to be doing that most days now. It’s just a ten-minute break but being outside seems to really help my mood.

Next Week’s Plans

  • WIP: I was so close to 3000 words for this last week, I could almost taste it. This next week I intent to make that 3000 word mark. If I get the character sheet done (which I’m going to be pushing myself on), getting to this mark shouldn’t be much of a problem because I won’t have to stop and check information about the characters so often. You know, write it one, write it twice, third time it’s stuck in your head.
  • Hopefully there will be “me time” outside every evening.
  • Household chores will be done during the morning or late afternoon. (I will not miss my “down” time after the mid-day meal.)
  • I will continue to try to write in the journal. This is a mentally healthy activity.
  • I will continue to get on that stationary bike — maybe more often. 😛

Sometimes I wonder if life is too short for all of this routine stuff. Because I don’t have what many call a job, maybe I should be spending time smelling more of the roses. However, without a schedule for each day, I lose myself in laziness, depression, and self-loathing. Definitely not a good way to be.

What does this next week look like for you?

 

29 comments on “Weekly Recap 5/23

  1. E. Rawls
    2015/05/27

    Having a daily routine is great! Keep at it. 🙂
    This week for me looks like tons of editing, and also catching up on reading and exercise. And I have a flower garden to keep alive through the summer heat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/27

      I have a garden I need to take better care of. It really isn’t much of one and I have perennials in it. No annuals. So taking care of it is just going out and pulling a few weeds. Instead of sitting outside, I’d be better off pulling weeds. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. April
    2015/05/27

    I don’t like writing my deepest thoughts that I wouldn’t share with others. I share enough on here, and if I have something to bitch about, I don’t want someone in my family reading about it after I’m gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/27

      When I’m gone, chances of me caring about what people thought of me when I was around probably isn’t going to be an issue. My only problem with this journal thing is trying to remember to write in it. I get caught up in writing posts, my WIP, and writing comments on blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. fingerprintwriting
    2015/05/25

    Glynis, “me time” is an excellent plan so keep on doing it. I like it that you have a schedule and these weekly reflections. I feel you’ve had a good week. Keep it up! Right now, I’m on my “me time”. I Just colored my roots (hair) and reading blogs during the processing. Sometimes I go to the salon. Today is a DIY day:)
    Have a great balance of the week.

    Like

  4. peakperspective
    2015/05/25

    I really like the bit about the “me time” outside each evening. That’s a pretty crucial activity for me. The hound and I take our evening constitutional about 6 pm each day – rain or shine, snow or ice. We make the effort and the effort gives us a fabulous reward in a bazillion ways.
    I hope you’ll find that too, Glynis.
    And hurray on the word count. Keep chuggin’!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/26

      Thank you for the support. 😀

      I like getting outside to release the junk in my head. I wish I could walk a mile or two. That would be wonderful.

      BTW, like your new icon. 😀

      Like

  5. Mabel Kwong
    2015/05/25

    You go, Glynis. Hit that 3,000 word mark. You’ve already gotten into a good rhythm so I’m sure it’s possible. Me time is very important. I like being outside alone quite a lot. Like you, I like to watch the world go by and forget about everything in my life, a wonderful way to de-stress…and maybe find some inspiration 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/26

      Thanks Mabel. 😀

      When I sit outside for just a short while, I feel the junk leaving my brain. The stress literally goes away. It may not last too long depending on what else is going on but I’m sure it’s not as bad as it was when I walked out the door.

      For reasons beyond my understanding, I can’t imagine you not being inspired. You don’t seem the type to stay bored for very long.

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong
        2015/05/27

        The great outdoors can be so soothing especially if we feel like the only one walking through it.

        You’re right about the bored part. I always have something that I want to do. However, feeling inspired, that doesn’t happen to me all the time. Quite often I feel restless because I feel there are better ideas out there.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Cat
    2015/05/25

    Nice one with the bike exercising. I’m not too good at disciplining myself, but the dog forces me to get that outdoors time, very important. I write those thoughts down in a notebook as they happen, I wouldn’t remember them a day or two later! Have a good week, Glynis. This is bank holiday weekend in the UK, so this coming week will be a short one

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/25

      Ironic. Today (Monday) is a holiday here in the US. It’s Memorial Day. It’s a day for remember the people who serviced our country in the armed forces. All movies on the TV will be about some war the US had been in. Some will go visit the gravesides of loved ones. And there will be picnics wherever there is sunshine.

      What type of dog do you have?

      Like

      • Cat
        2015/05/26

        I have a Jack Russell called Jack! He’s 8 this year. I know you’re a cat person. I lost my two elderly cats last year within 3 months of each other. I watched them being born in my hall cupboard and they were very special. How many cats do you have?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/05/27

          I have 3 ‘indoor’ cats and 3+ ‘outdoor’ cats. The ones outside are really strays who know they’ll be fed and have some sort of shelter at my house. Two of the ‘indoor’ cats were the kittens of a stray (different ones). Taken in because of the mama either got sick or neglecting the baby.

          Like

          • Cat
            2015/05/27

            That was similar to my two. The mother was a sick stray and gave birth to only two kitties. She rejected the runt so I hand fed it and kept her and the brother for almost 16yrs. As soon as the tom cat was on solids, mother cat stopped feeding immediately and moved into my neighbours. She was quite old, anyway. They’re like our little babies!!

            Liked by 1 person

  7. suzjones
    2015/05/24

    Don’t beat yourself up about the journal. I missed two days last week due to time restrictions/sleeping in/running around getting ready for work etc.
    I think the fact that you’re blogging this each week gives you a type of goal/accountability scenario that has got to be a good thing. I’m proud of you Glynis! You’re really rocking life right now. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/24

      You are so sweet, Suzanne. ❤

      Yes, writing a post once a week to all about where I stand in my writing and life in general has helped. It's actually been a motivator. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Jacqui Murray
    2015/05/23

    I could never get into a journal. Nothing in my life seemed so interesting I wanted to memorialize it. I still have one started in the drawer, barely ten pages long.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/24

      My life is a bore. No doubt about it. Yet, within my days there may be things I could use in stories. But, as I told Tess, my main reason is I have short-term memory loss problems and a journal would help with that.

      Like

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/05/23

    I’m adding a 3rd walking excursion to my week, which will make me crazy because it will eat into my day but I’m going to do it anyway.

    I’m so behind in my journal, I don’t know if I want to catch up, but I will, even if partially. Some things I need to write down so I won’t forget.

    You have done well, Glynis. Bravo. Have a wonderful weekend and a satisfying week next week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/24

      This journal thing is so unexpectedly difficult for me. And with my short-term memory loss being a constant, you would think I’d be jumping to do this so that I’d have record of what I forget. Am I hiding from myself?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2015/05/25

        No. I don’t believe so. If I don’t keep my Journal handy and open at my elbow, I don’t make use of it. Everyday, I say I will, but somehow manage to ‘forget’ or get to it. 😦

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/05/26

          Maybe with me it’s an old lady thing. O_o

          Maybe if I lived alone so I’d get bored enough to want something, anything to do.

          Like

  10. Dan Antion
    2015/05/23

    Looks like you had s good week Glynis. I’ve been sitting outside for 10-15 minutes with our dog each night. It is a pleasant break. Good luck with this week’s goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/24

      Are you as surprised as I am about how that little bit outside boosts your mood?

      Thanks for the luck. I always need it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/05/23 by in pure nonsense and tagged , , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

