A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Weekly Recap 5/30

Image provided by William Allen, Image Historian's photostream  @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/woodpainter/

Image provided by
William Allen, Image Historian’s photostream
@ https://www.flickr.com/photos/woodpainter/

It’ll be the first of June on Monday. This May seemed awfully long. Usually it rushes by and be for I even blink, it’s getting close the U.S. holiday of Independence Day, July 4th. The Memorial Day weekend that ended five days ago was uneventful. In the past, Hubby and I have spent it with his family. Chances are, that won’t be happening anymore. It’s a very long story, and I refuse to go into detail here.

Last Week’s Review

  • I got on the stationary bike four times. Yay! I’m not shedding pounds and I doubt I ever will. Nevertheless, my energy level is up a little.
  • Except for Miya’s long fur, the house is relatively clean. That is except for a mess around Hubby’s swivel chair in the ‘computer room’. Even though he should be the one to straighten it up, I may do it later today or tomorrow morning. I wish I could live with clutter and gunk but it bothers me to the point of insanity sometimes.
  • The WIP: I made it. I got over the 3000 mark, 3142 words this week. Now that I’m near the end of chapter 10, it’s obvious to me that I’m going to have to explain more when I do the first revision. I’m assuming the reader is going to follow along without much detail. (Not a reasonable inference, is it?)  I’m not showing enough of each character — how they dress, what they’re doing during events in the story, facial expressions, etc. And I don’t think anyone can picture the town it’s all happening in either. That has to be remedied. It’ll get done. From what I’ve read about first drafts, most are sketchy at best. Word count: 24,184
  • Although I haven’t got into a rhythm with the personal journal, my entries are getting longer and I still am learning how not to complain all the time in it.
  • I got my hair cut. It was down just barely past my shoulders. I am now wearing my hair in a pixie cut. Yep, quite a change. In reality, I used to wear it short all the time. I just have one of those faces that looks better without so much hair around it. When there’s a day that my hair looks exceptionally good, I’ll have Hubby take a picture of me to show all of you.

Next Week’s Plan

  • I’ll keep on with the bike peddling. For now, I think four times a week is good.
  • I’m going to try to talk Hubby into taking me for a drive south of here. The town I’m using in my WIP is down there. I’d like to actually go on some of the streets there and just get a better feel for where my characters live.
  • The WIP: I’ll do another 3000 words or more. I’ll be working on how to incorporate three characters more. If this was a movie, it would be the roles of the support actors that I work on. This story is about the inner struggle of a young woman and the real life struggle of a family she’s trying to help. (My one-sentence summary) If what I’ve read is true, my genre is Literary Fiction. If you know different from this, please tell me.

I didn’t put anything in about the ‘me time’ outside. It was intentional. Although it is a little part of my life, it really isn’t something I’m trying to improve on.

If you cry because the sun has gone out of your life, your tears will prevent you from seeing the stars.
Rabindranath Tagore

 

21 comments on “Weekly Recap 5/30

  1. I’ve been getting back into a regular journal swing these past few months and I gotta admit it feels great. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/06/02

      I can’t figure out why I can’t keep my journal writing scheduled. I’m one of whose people who need everything in it’s place and that includes time. It’s a mystery, that’s for sure. :/

      Like

  2. Kate Loveton
    2015/05/30

    Congrats on the WIP word count! No mean accomplishment.

    Keep up the good work on the exercise bike. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jill Weatherholt
    2015/05/30

    Keep on peddling, Glynis! Nice progress on your WIP. I had a successful week with mine. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/31

      Jacqui Murray said her week with her WIP was good too. It has to be something in the air. I hope your weekend is going well.

      Like

  4. Cat
    2015/05/30

    Well done on the bike. The cat hair is the worse than dog hair, sometimes my cats hair would roll around hard floors like tumbleweed. Sounds like I’m messy, but they just has a lot of hair. You may have tweaking to do on the WIP, but it sounds like a good draft. Sounds like a good idea to visit the location, it will help in the descriptions, seeing what they might see is a big advantage

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cat
      2015/05/30

      sorry, I wasn’t concentrating while writing that comment

      Like

      • Glynis Jolly
        2015/05/31

        Are you talking about the grammar and spelling? It happens to me all the time. If Grammarly could be an extension in IE, I’d have it in here.

        Like

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/31

      This one cat, Miya, has long silky black hair. And, of course, she must sit on every piece of furniture. I don’t have black furniture.

      I figure I’ll be able to get into the heads of my characters a little better by seeing for myself where they would live in that town.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jacqui Murray
    2015/05/30

    We have a lot of similarities this month, Glynis. We too avoided family for Memorial Day–probably for the same general reasons you did. I too have grown my hair past my shoulders, but it’s because I want to braid it. I’ll probably leave it. And I had a good week with my WIP.

    Huzzah to both of us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/31

      Hurrah to you, Jacqui. I wonder what it was about this last week that made it possible? Maybe for me, it was the first normal week since Hubby had his gall bladder taken out.

      When I was a kid, I tried wear braids the one time my mom let me grow my hair out. When I looked in the mirror, I was so disappointed. I asked my mom to make an appointment to get my hair cut soon after that.

      Like

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/05/30

    Do go on your trip with hubby and afterwards did you know you can save legwork afterwards and research with Google Earth/ I read this suggestion in the past week. You can ‘walk’ down a street as if you were there, see the buildings, their signs.
    Some time ago, when I first heard of Google Earth, I enjoyed a virtual walk down a street of a town I used to live in years ago. ❤

    You're hitting your goals. Bravo! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/30

      I’ve been using the Bing map that has the aerial view of the actual streets. Still, seeing it when you’re there has to be a little better, even better than the Google Earth map. Besides, until I’ve been there, this world I’m made for my characters seem to be props. In order for me to describe it the way I want to, I just feel that I’d be better off seeing the real thing. It’s only about an hour, maybe two away from my home.

      Like

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2015/05/31

        You should see it in person first, I agree.
        I like Google Earth because you virtually w.a.l.k. down any street they have photographed, close up enough to almost look inside store windows, or see house numbers, or walk up a driveway.
        After I move, one of my past ESL students in Estonia wanted to visit me. She asked my new address and sent me a picture of my house with the car in the driveway. ❤ ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Dan Antion
    2015/05/30

    I’m trying to match you on the exercise bike. You did a little better than me this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/05/30

      Well, that’s unusual, Dan. But then, what other exercise are you getting through the day? Mine is extremely limited.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dan Antion
        2015/05/31

        I walk as much as I can and take stairs when it’s an option. I commented because I know a lot of people with Treadmills but not many with bikes. I like to ride a road bike, and the exercise bike helps keep me in shape for that.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/05/31

          If I could ride on the street, I certainly wouldn’t be in a stationary bike. That along with swimming are the two physical activities I miss a lot.

          Like

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/05/30 by in pure nonsense and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell, Author & Speaker

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

TBI S-O-S! Restoring a Sense-Of-Self after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

