A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

Lethargic Blogging

Image provided by GloomyCorp  @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/89869792@N00/

Image provided by
GloomyCorp
@ https://www.flickr.com/photos/89869792@N00/

I’ve been so immersed in reading about plotting and with the WIP that I haven’t given a thought about a post for my mid-week entry here in my blog. I finished the book 2K to 10K, making notes along the way. (I think I told you this on Saturday too. Shows how muddled my brain is now.) I just finished chapter seven in Write Better Faster. Again, taking notes on what I think I need help remembering.

I’ve been feeling  languid for a while now. I’ve been trying to push it away, keeping up with the blogging and the other routine things I’ve developed for myself. What I find offbeat with this droopy feeling is I’m still feeling gung-ho about writing my book and all the preliminary stuff that’s involved.

As I write this, I can feel myself figuring out what is wrong and what to do about it. I was taught in the social work classes I took in college that journaling usually has this effect when something a bothering a person. It has to do with the emotions of the issue at hand. At the time, most thoughts are coming from the right-brain where emotions and sensors dwell. Rational decisions are hard to come by when the right-brain is rushing all sorts of things into the conscience. By putting these thoughts in writing, the left-brain can squeeze in to make a suitable choice about the situation the person is in.

So what is my resolution to my small dilemma?

My posts on Saturday are brief, almost to the point of being curt some times. I mean, how much can I say about what I’ve done during the course of a week? My life is mundane. In many ways I like it that way — routine, schedule, order to the max. My conclusion to my problem is to combine the two posts I write each week, obviously making it one per week.

By doing this, I’ll have five days where I think of nothing but my WIP. On Saturday, you’ll see my one entry, which should have a little, if not a lot, more depth and may have two sections to it. For those readers who are only reading on the weekends, this should be an improvement. For that matter, it should be an improvement for all because one less email in your inbox.

As much as I love getting letters in my inbox, the notices of posts gets tiresome. Yet, the thought of going with a feed is worse, in my opinion. I’ve been there and done that. I just don’t like it. If WordPress and Bloggers would do a weekly digest, I’d go for it. No, the weekly thing at WordPress is not a digest. It only gives you one post by the person.

Because I’m still doing the pre- stuff of my WIP, I’ll start doing this new blog schedule this Saturday. Yak at you then. 🙂

 

13 comments on “Lethargic Blogging

  1. Cat
    2015/07/11

    Well, I am so behind with my own blogging, this is the first I’ve read your post! I don’t often get this apathetic way with blogging, but the worst part of it is the frustration and the anxiety over letting it all slip away, which is something I’d rather not do. I have barely been posting and find it helps just to accept this “dull” moment and this too shall pass, no doubt.

    I think journaling can throw up hidden emotions and we are all partial to “resistance” that comes in the shape of denial, forgetfulness, confusion, apathy… bla de bla.

    I am not sure if I could continue to blog while writing a book, the commitment is huge and I would tend to be like you and become immersed in the WIP.

    I don’t know what everyone is talking about “weekly digest” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/07/11

      As you can see, the weekly posting is working, at least for the time being. The thought of a personal journal is on hold right now, and maybe forever. It has more to do with my personal situation. If it ever changes, I’m more likely to take up the practice.

      I did find out I was wrong about the weekly digest here at WP. I’m getting more than one post per blogger sometimes. I guess other bloggers I follow were and are just posting once a week and maybe used to post more often is all.

      As for your lethargic time with blogging, maybe it’s just a case of it being summer. Don’t you dare feel bad about it. It’s your blog and you can do with it what you want, my friend across the ‘big pond’. ❤

      Like

      • Cat
        2015/07/11

        Oh I wouldn’t feel bad because I’ve always approached my blog ‘as and when’ and that’s what other bloggers come to expect, I’m sure. I would be more worried if I fall too far behind on other blogs, but I can’t knock myself out catching up, just take it from here. Anyway, it’s good to check in with blogging bud across the pond 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I get overwhelmed at times too Glynis. Know you are not the only one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/06/20

      I’m sure you do know the feeling, Susan. The giant undertaking you just got through must have had it’s moments when you wanted to hide under the covers on your bed and just forget the whole thing. But, you stayed with it and now you have a new rhythm going on in your life.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap 6/20 | A Scripted Maze

  4. Jacqui Murray
    2015/06/17

    I think WordPress’ weekly digest is all the posts for the week, at least that’s what I get. I love it. I devote Monday’s to catching up (not all the blogs I follow, just some. Not yours).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/06/18

      I wouldn’t mind it you switched to the week digest, Jacqui, although there isn’t much point in it right now.

      I thought it was supposed to be a weekly digest but all I get a one post per blogger whether that’s all they’ve written or have more. I would love to put almost everyone on weekly digest just so I don’t have to decide what is the better posts to read. That method doesn’t always work, you know. By have the bloggers on weekly digest, I could just designate a day for posts and read them all. 😛

      Maybe I’ll try the digest thing again for the summer months because there won’t be quite as many posts anyway.

      Like

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    2015/06/17

    More than anything, you sound overwhelmed. Making changes to the way we have been doing things saps energy.
    I’m almost at the end of my rope and plan to not blog at all this summer and catch up on the things that are wearing me down. Yeppers. That will be July and August. I’m a little scared but I’ll give it my best shot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/06/18

      Last year I took off from blogging during the month of August. This year’s a little different though. I’m really excited about learning to be more of a plotter. I’ve already gone back over the first two scenes of my book, rearranging, adding subtracting, and so forth. Having outlines is making a difference. Sure, I could just fold up the Internet for the summer but doing the tracking on my blog is helping me keep it all together and be accountable. I absolutely loath slipping on promises I’ve made to myself. I end up beating myself up. That’s not good, right? So I’ll go to once per week and make it a better post.

      If those other concerns are pulling at you, by all means, take care of them. We’ll be here waiting for your return. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        2015/06/18

        I spend so much time online in Blog World, it will be strange to step back, but that’s a promise I made to myself a couple months ago and I have to do it to edit and polish, which I haven’t had enough time for and is driving me bonkers. 🙂

        Like

  6. Kate Loveton
    2015/06/17

    Notifications can be overwhelming. I know how you feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/06/17

      The bloggers, including us two, aren’t the ones at fault either, which just makes it even more aggravating. I do wish the blog site hosts would get the message about this.

      Several years ago before blogging was so popular, groups at the major search engine sites were set up so the members could be notified immediately, daily, weekly, and with some, even monthly. Why didn’t the blog host sites pick up on this?

      Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/06/17 by in whatnot about writing and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Writers After Dark

The Writing Site for Independent Authors: News, Resources, and Advice

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

stripSearchLA

Stories about Los Angeles and its people.

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

My Name Is Marion Ann

Living the creative life...

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

JustAWomanWithRandomThoughts

Random thoughts, manic randoms, continuous randoms.

Darkest Desires of an Insecure Mind

A tale of insecurity, fear, betrayal and love....

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Kim's Author Support Blog

Authors Supporting Authors!!!!!

KathrynAnna

Writer. Writing.

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

madgeniusclub

We're not really mad geniuses. We're just a little miffed

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Writing and other stuff

a sporadic account of things that matter to me.

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Rosemary Carlson, Writer

Writing fiction and non-fiction - one idea at a time

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

jean's writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

