A Scripted Maze

perils with writing and whatnot

One’s Lot in Life

One's Lot in Life

Image provided by
Brian Del Vecchio
@ https://www.flickr.com/photos/hybernaut/

Perfectionism is a vice. Many try to camouflage it by using a different word or phase to describe it. For instance: particular, precise, wanting thing the way I want them, and even calling it a virtue. What perfectionism really boils down to is refusing to accept the messiness of life. Of course, this is a ludicrous thing to do because life is one of those things that isn’t going to change no matter how much you may want it to.

What’s infuriating about this personality trait is it’s near impossible to get rid of because it is a trait and not just a habit. Those of us who have it weren’t told not to be that way as kids. In fact, it was smiled upon. Who doesn’t want their children to come home from school with all A’s? We get sucked right up into believing it’s a virtue. We’ve been praised for it at our jobs once we’re adults being caught up in the notion that life will be so much better if we can achieve perfection in everything.

The thing is, life is already perfect, has been that way all along. It’s us humans who have screwed it up, and not just by nasty habits. How many of us really and truly take life as it comes? I would guess that the number is less that one in a million. All though it’s agonizing for me to admit, I’m definitely in the majority. I want life to be the want I want it.

Undoubtedly, I’m not going to get what I want, no matter what I do or how hard I try. I’m trying to change this trait in me. At my age, it’s high time I let it go. Moreover, it’s making my life more miserable than it has to be.

Growing up with neat freaks has put me at a disadvantage now that I’m a ‘senior’. As a young adult, I got myself believing the rest of the world would change in time. After all, we’re all watching TV. The commercials show sparkling clean houses with the only thing missing is the right dishwasher soap or the right fabric softener. Surely everyone is getting some brainwashing and will have their houses looking as good as they do on TV eventually, right? Wrong!

Hubby thinks our home looks just fine with the stack of… whatever it is on the printer in the ‘computer room’ (actually the smallest bedroom). He thinks the perfect place to leave the mail is on the kitchen counter where some sort of liquid or food could be dump on it. And there’s a whole list of other things that are similar in nature that goes on in my house.

I must learn to let Hubby be who he is, but let me tell you, this is a hard lesson to learn. Of course, by the same token, don’t you think he should learn to let me be who I am too?

Anyway, I guess I’m back. The personal issues are still here causing havoc, but I’m figuring out how to get around them. The weekly recap post is going bye-bye. Having that small bit of pressure hanging over me was not, in any way, shape, or form a good thing. I am still writing my first novel. I’ve gotten past the 60,000 mark. I’m still doing the tap dance between outlining and just going by the seat of my pants.

I hope all of you who live in the northern hemisphere are enjoying your summer. You have a little over one month left. I hope those of you who live south of the equator are getting all hyped up for your Spring, which is just around the corner.

Life is painful and disappointing. It is useless, therefore, to write new realistic novels. We generally know where we stand in relation to reality and don’t care to know any more.  — Michel Houellebecq

18 comments on “One’s Lot in Life

  1. Cat
    2015/08/22

    I like things clean and tidy, Glynis, although I’m not perfect. I don’t know how I would cope if someone I was living with wasn’t the same way…mmmm… it’s hard to accept each other’s little ways. Talking of clean houses, I couldn’t help notice in your image, the dirt underneath the furniture is disgraceful….lol… I hope it’s not your house or I’ll be mortified for opening my fat mouth. 🙂 Actually, I know it’s not your house because I’ve seen pics before and it was immaculate 🙄

    In all honesty, I could feel your tension in the recaps, it was obvious to me that you weren’t enjoying them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/08/22

      I got my icon for Mike Liche at Flickr. My abstract from my blog was done by him too. When I look at my icon, I imagine a woman taking her break in a pub. Obviously, the pub could not be in London, or maybe it could be. You’d know better than me. 😛

      Yes, I was feeling tension trying to keep myself on the straight and narrow with my WiP and blogging. I used to be so efficient as long as I had a schedule. I thought I could just jump right back into it. NOPE! I do better now letting my self imposed ridicule and inspiration guide me.

      Like

      • Cat
        2015/08/23

        I didn’t mean the icon but the image you used at the top of your post.

        I prefer to write as and when I can get something together

        Like

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/08/23

          That’s Mike’s abstract you’re talking about then.

          I’m going to be doing the blog thing like you’re doing from now on. As much as I’m obsessed with schedules, routines, and organization, the whole thing was beginning to feel like a job, which is definitely not the intention. This is suppose to be a personal blog of a writer.

          And with that said, I may just change the design of this blog again because I just love doing it. O_o

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqui Murray
    2015/08/20

    Glad to see you back–and I will miss your weekly recap. I liked that peek into your world.

    I have the same husband problem: He likes putting the mail on the sink, within reach of liquids and drips. Worse, he puts his leather manpurse there. Women would never do that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/08/20

      Jacqui, you’ve made me feel better. I was beginning to think there couldn’t be good men with this terrible habit except for me.

      As for a peek into my world, I’ll still be doing that on occasion, just not on a schedule.

      Like

  3. April
    2015/08/20

    Happy to have you back, Glynis! It’s so hard being perfect 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/08/20

      Hi April
      It’s not just hard to be perfect; it’s impossible.

      How’s Missouri these days?

      Liked by 1 person

      • April
        2015/08/21

        MIssouri is a distant happening. Still working on the house when we save enough money for a trip there. We still have a kid in and out of the house while he’s still in college. So…for now, our Missouri house is a shell but full of dreams of the future.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Glynis Jolly
          2015/08/21

          I, obviously, misunderstood. I thought you were spending time in Missouri in between storms of revamping your home in Georgia. Enjoy all the access to shopping while you have it. It’ll probably be different once you move.

          Liked by 1 person

          • April
            2015/08/21

            Yes, we are doing both, but this house is cosmetic stuff like removing dog slobber. We did finish the shower! Next big project is to prettify the deck. One day we will make it to Missouri to live….for now we’ll have to settle for working vacations. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Mabel Kwong
    2015/08/19

    Ahhh, perfectionism. It’s a double edge sword. I am a perfectionist. On one hand it drives me to go that extra step to get something done the way I want it…but you’re right. Most of the time we can’t control the world and perhaps we are better off taking life as if comes along. Sometimes we really just can’t win and settling for second best might be the best option.

    I am certainly hyped up for Spring! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/08/20

      Have you had a lot of rain? It seems there’s been more than our share of rain up here in the north during our summer.

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong
        2015/08/21

        It has been wetter and greyer than usual this winter here in Melbourne. Similar to what you are experiencing. However, we reached 19’C today, which is warm for winter.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Glynis, I love the picture of the cat. They definitely can make some messes in your life, but that’s pretty cute. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/08/20

      When I still had Dusty, my first cat, my son and I would put the stick-on bows from Christmas presents all over her. She’d fight it for a short time, then plop down resigned to our fun.

      Like

  6. Jill Weatherholt
    2015/08/19

    Nice job on your novel, Glynis. I hope the havoc settles down for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly
      2015/08/20

      I’m learning to work around the chaos and just accept this small valley in my life. It won’t be this way forever. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Please give thoughts, opinions and smart aleck remarks :)

Information

This entry was posted on 2015/08/19 by in contemplation, opinion, pure nonsense and tagged , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

:::::

Follow A Scripted Maze on WordPress.com

Member of The Internet Defense League

Smoke words every day.

Tumse na ho payega

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

Shawn Langwell Author, speaker, coach

Helping others become their best

A Better Man

Make a Start

blisspinkco.wordpress.com/

Whatever you are, be a good one🎀

Ten Thousand Days

The long and winding journey after loss

nilichoandika

for the works I've written and those to come.

Non-Euclidean Sofa

Mostly Adequate!

alethea katherine

writer, musician, dreamer

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Madam Ova Sabi

For women and those who love them

Writing Creative Nonfiction

Articles, Poetry, Opinion, Personal Essays, and Visual Arts

Find Your Creative Muse

Learn how to write poetry, fiction, personal essays, and more.

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

Broken Zen

Text+Sound by Wayne Mason

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

Random Rantings

Life, Relationships

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

A walk in my shoes

From Relationships to Weightloss

Write into life

How to stay alive until you die, starting now. Writing helps!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Learning to live all over again after Brain Injury and Concussion

Bane of Your Resistance

A place to share insight and information about the many forms of writer’s resistance (writer’s block, procrastination, distractions, looking for answers in the fridge, keeping yourself too busy to write, etc.) so you can stop resisting and start really enjoying your writing.

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writerish Ramblings

A Writer's Journey

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Doorway Between Worlds

Communication tips with a creative twist

Aunt Beulah

living well to age well

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Left Handed Musings

Eccentric and skeptical

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

